Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:19 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Multiple GPu?
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:58 am 
Offline
New member

Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:25 am
Posts: 1
Will Autopano Video Pro work with multiple GPU's?
I have seen the benckmark page for nvidia and ati and still dont have any idea what will be best
http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/ ... nchmarking
Best results are:
New MacPro (late 2013)

OSX 10.9 64bits
CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697v2 12 cores @ 2.70Ghz - 64GB Ram
GPU: 2 x AMD FirePro D700
HDD: Input and output videos are on the same PCIe SSD
2K @ 48fps: 38s@ 36.70fps
4K @ 25fps: 1m20s @ 17.30fps

My Question still stands Is the above using 1 gpu or both.
My Dell T7600 dual CPU and Dual Quadro K4000
only seems to ever use 1 GPU with APV
My Skulltrail Dual Xeon Cpu and Titan is Faster.

I'm Keen on trying Amd instead of the Quadro but dont want to waste money.
From my own testing over a few computers the CPU hasn't made much difference.

Any suggestions to get the greatest speed?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multiple GPu?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:35 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:06 am
Posts: 135
Location: AUSTIN, TX USA
Along similar lines, how about a render farm? Multi-systems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Multiple GPu?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:37 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7812
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Cabra wrote:
My Question still stands Is the above using 1 gpu or both.


Good question! But the new MacPro is extremely fast anyway!
I had a hand on it recently (the 6-core model) and will have one for testing for two days as soon as i find the time to do it.

Cabra wrote:
My Dell T7600 dual CPU and Dual Quadro K4000
only seems to ever use 1 GPU with APV
My Skulltrail Dual Xeon Cpu and Titan is Faster.


The Quadros have one GPU providing multiple CUDA cores. The question is: how clever do the drivers use them . . There are dedicated drivers for "certified" applications - which use the full capacity of the hardware. Whether APV also does it i have no idea.

From what i hear from specialists i think it´s not clever to buy a Quadro (though i have one in my MacPro) because only "certified" applications using "certified" drivers have advantages from some features.

Rendering in APG for example is not among them. Just editing geometrics gets a speed-jump as i noticed.

But what i wrote is all related to APG - i didn´t use APV at all so far.

Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group