Multiple GPu?  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Video!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
Cabra
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:25 am

Multiple GPu?

by Cabra » Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:58 am

Will Autopano Video Pro work with multiple GPU's?
I have seen the benckmark page for nvidia and ati and still dont have any idea what will be best
http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/ ... nchmarking
Best results are:
New MacPro (late 2013)

OSX 10.9 64bits
CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2697v2 12 cores @ 2.70Ghz - 64GB Ram
GPU: 2 x AMD FirePro D700
HDD: Input and output videos are on the same PCIe SSD
2K @ 48fps: 38s@ 36.70fps
4K @ 25fps: 1m20s @ 17.30fps

My Question still stands Is the above using 1 gpu or both.
My Dell T7600 dual CPU and Dual Quadro K4000
only seems to ever use 1 GPU with APV
My Skulltrail Dual Xeon Cpu and Titan is Faster.

I'm Keen on trying Amd instead of the Quadro but dont want to waste money.
From my own testing over a few computers the CPU hasn't made much difference.

Any suggestions to get the greatest speed?

User avatar
ATXcloud
Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:06 am
Location: AUSTIN, TX USA

Re: Multiple GPu?

by ATXcloud » Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:35 pm

Along similar lines, how about a render farm? Multi-systems.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: Multiple GPu?

by klausesser » Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:37 am

Cabra wrote:My Question still stands Is the above using 1 gpu or both.


Good question! But the new MacPro is extremely fast anyway!
I had a hand on it recently (the 6-core model) and will have one for testing for two days as soon as i find the time to do it.

Cabra wrote:My Dell T7600 dual CPU and Dual Quadro K4000
only seems to ever use 1 GPU with APV
My Skulltrail Dual Xeon Cpu and Titan is Faster.


The Quadros have one GPU providing multiple CUDA cores. The question is: how clever do the drivers use them . . There are dedicated drivers for "certified" applications - which use the full capacity of the hardware. Whether APV also does it i have no idea.

From what i hear from specialists i think it´s not clever to buy a Quadro (though i have one in my MacPro) because only "certified" applications using "certified" drivers have advantages from some features.

Rendering in APG for example is not among them. Just editing geometrics gets a speed-jump as i noticed.

But what i wrote is all related to APG - i didn´t use APV at all so far.

Klaus


Return to Using Autopano Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest