Performance of Pro on AMD HD Radeon card - no difference?  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Video!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
kclai
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 5:19 am

Performance of Pro on AMD HD Radeon card - no difference?

by kclai » Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:18 am

Hi,

Is there any graphic card preference to the system? Chipset? on board memory? cuda cores? On my dated win7 system with Radeon HD6950 card, the time needed for stitching a sample video was almost the same on both versions of APV.

source video: gopro 1440p video x6 @24fps, 10s
output: 4096 x 2048 @24fps
system: cpu i5-2500k@3.3G, 12Gb ram, win7 x64, Intel SSD, Radeon HD 6950 1Gb

time needed for basic version: about 10 mins
time needed for pro version: about 9.5 mins

Here is the comparison of my graphic card vs the GTX660 as described in the latest slideshare reference. http://www.hwcompare.com/13348/geforce-gtx-660-vs-radeon-hd-6950/
The benchmark of HD6950 was not too bad when compared with nVidia GTX660, but the refernce stitching time was less than 2mins for output 20s 4k output video, while it took 9.5mins for just 10s 4k video on my system. It seems like my graphic card do not out perform the CPU rendering.

I'm planning to upgrade my system soon. Any suggeestion on the graphic card preference? thanks.

Regards,
KC

no avatar
kclai
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 5:19 am

by kclai » Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:12 am

I did another test with blending setting as GPU sharp, the time needed for stitching the same video is still 9.5mins. did I made any wrong setting? thx

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Fri Jun 14, 2013 12:47 pm

Sorry, the interface is not really clear. When going into the render dialog box, switch to the second tab and change the blending preset to a GPU mode and then, you'll see the speed.

no avatar
kclai
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 5:19 am

by kclai » Mon Jun 17, 2013 10:12 am

Thanks Alex,

I've retried it again with the GPU smooth setting in the 2nd tab of the rendering dialog box. The GPU mode took 37 sec vs 570 sec in CPU mode, which is 15X faster! impressively amazing! thanks.

regards,
KC

no avatar
ajdstmk
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 10:09 pm

by ajdstmk » Mon Jun 17, 2013 3:56 pm

PS: is it "just" extremly faster? or also "better" - i mean is the result "exactly" the same?
i mean: if a better grafic card can correct better?
Last edited by ajdstmk on Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Fri Jun 21, 2013 11:58 am

It is really faster (15x) and simply the same in quality.
The result are not exactly the same but will be in beta 4.
In fact, we removed the 2 GPU render setting and just added a checkbox in general setting menu ( use GPU or not ). Everything else is the same.


Return to Using Autopano Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests