Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Video!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
SoccerTom
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 20
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:43 pm
Info

Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by SoccerTom » Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:36 pm

Hi,
for faster rendering I activated in the settings my graphics card to use CUDA (GeForce GTX 965M). By doing so, the rendering is substantially faster. The results, however, are poor. On the same project, when using the CPU only or when using GLSL engine (not CUDA), the rendering presents the sitched video as defined in the Authoring tab. When using the GPGPU (CUDA) setting, however, the rendering seems to ignore the settings as defined in the Authoring tab (To note: I saved the project only when having it defined in the Authoring tab).

Any idea why this might be and how to solve this issue? =( =(

P.S: In the preview panel, the image looks perfect whatever rendering engine is defined in the settings
Attachments
Results different rendering machines.JPG

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by olivierbo » Wed Sep 06, 2017 12:35 pm

Hello,

Can you tell me which version of AV you are using, if your proprietary Nvidia driver is up-to-date and if it occurs with all the footages?
Which render settings have you applied exactly and Authoring tab setting? Have you tried with another output format? Finally, if you have another system (Win or OSX), can you try on that system?

Thanks in advance.
Best,
Olivier

no avatar
SoccerTom
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 20
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:43 pm
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by SoccerTom » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:18 pm

Dear Oliver,
- I am using Autopano Video 3.0.0 RC2
- Nvidia driver is up to date (05/2017, version 22.21.13.8205)
- Yes, it occurs with all footages (2.7K 4:3). I am using two cameras.
- The render settings are shown in the attached image. The same occurs when rendering UHDTV.
- In the authoring setting, the only adjustment I make is to define the projection to be "Panini". Occasionally, I change the beginning and end of the footage, but there is never any adjustment to Orientation etc.
- The only change in output forward I tried is HD versus UHDTV. In both cases CUDA fails whereas the other rendering engines work.
- I am afraid, I have no other system. I am using Windows 10.
I hope this helps you to find a solution to the problem
Thx
Attachments
Authoring.JPG
Render Settings.JPG

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by olivierbo » Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:24 am

Hello and thanks for all the details. Can you try with AV RC3 and tell me? Also, make a test without changing projection. Finally, if you can try with one of our video sample: http://www.kolor.com/wiki-en/action/vie ... ow#Samples
In the meanwhile I'm gonna try to find some clues.

Thanks,
Olivier

no avatar
SoccerTom
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 20
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:43 pm
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by SoccerTom » Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:01 am

Hi,
I used the same project and returned it to standard spherical projection "without CUDA", "with CUDA" and "with CUDA in combination with screen ratio 4:3". There was, however, only a minor improvement. The video is no longer squeezed together, but there is still a black frame (see attachment).

Then I made a test with a new project (same videos) but without any authoring. Same result, black frame (see attachment).

Then I made a test with Authoring being just sizing to have a full screen. In the Cuda Preview, it looked perfect. The video wasn´t, unfortunately (see attachment).

Then I downloaded version RC3 and redid the last test, i.e. Authoring being just sizing to full screen. In the Cuda Preview, it looked perfect. The video wasn´t, unfortunately (see attachment).

And to be truly on the save side, I also repeated the synchronisation and stitching followed by Authoring being just sizing on RC3. Still no change!!! (see attachment).

I´ll do the test with you video sample once I have downloaded the data.

Regards, SoccerTom
Attachments
NewAuthoringJustSizingRC3.JPG
NewAuthoringJustSizingRC3.JPG (11.72 KiB) Viewed 3701 times
AuthoringJustSizingRC3.JPG
AuthoringJustSizingRC3.JPG (11.49 KiB) Viewed 3701 times
AuthoringJustSizing.JPG
AuthoringJustSizing.JPG (11.16 KiB) Viewed 3701 times
WithoutAuthoring.JPG
WithoutAuthoring.JPG (11.08 KiB) Viewed 3701 times
different spherical tests.JPG

no avatar
SoccerTom
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 20
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:43 pm
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by SoccerTom » Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:39 am

So, now the results with your test footing:
1. All cameras, no Authoring: worked fine (see attachment)

2. Only cameras 4 and 5, no Authoring: Black frame (see attachment)

3. Only cameras 4 and 5, Authoring to have full screen (looked perfect on Cuda preview): Black frame (see attachment)

So to me, the probelm resides in that when using CUDA, the rendering process does not take into account the elements modified by Authoring. As AV3.0 should work with 2-6 cameras and as Authoring is a standard element in AV3 it would seem that the software has an issue here. =(
Attachments
Cam_4_5_AuthoringToFullScreen.JPG
Cam_4_5_AuthoringToFullScreen.JPG (11.99 KiB) Viewed 3693 times
Cam_4_5_withoutAuthoring.JPG
Cam_4_5_withoutAuthoring.JPG (12.01 KiB) Viewed 3693 times
AllCamNoAuthoring.JPG
AllCamNoAuthoring.JPG (12.73 KiB) Viewed 3693 times

no avatar
SoccerTom
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 20
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:43 pm
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by SoccerTom » Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:07 am

Oliver, have you had any new thoughts/ideas relating to this issue?

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by olivierbo » Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:00 pm

Hello,

I apologize for the very very late reply.
This is probably a bug (ALPS-2108). We will investigate this matter.

Thanks anyway for the feedback.

Best,
Olivier

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by olivierbo » Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:12 am

Hello,

We are still working on AV3 to release a final version. Unfortunately, I do not have any ETA but stay tuned: http://www.kolor.com/blog/

Thanks again for your trust.

Best regards,
Olivier

no avatar
SoccerTom
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 20
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:43 pm
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by SoccerTom » Tue Jan 02, 2018 7:57 pm

Hi, I just downloaded and installed the latest version of AVP and tried again to process files as before hopeing that the issue is now solved. Unfortunately, also the newest version of APV fails to work. Any idea when the software will work as it should?

Regards, SoccerTom

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by olivierbo » Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:59 am

Hello and best wished for 2018!

Can you share or send your video footages?
Let me know.

Best regards,
Olivier

no avatar
SoccerTom
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 20
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:43 pm
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by SoccerTom » Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:32 am

Hi Oliver,
it is the same footage that I used in my first tests and which I shared with you already.
I mean, is CUDA rendering working for you with two stitched videos?
Regards, SoccerTom

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by olivierbo » Thu Jan 18, 2018 2:09 pm

Hi Thomas,

Have you tried with the latest driver NVIDIA released on Jan. 8 (390.65)?
For your information, the bug is still open.
Can you share or send your footages again?

Kind regards,
Olivier

no avatar
SoccerTom
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 20
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:43 pm
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by SoccerTom » Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:09 pm

Dear Oliver,
I finally made it to install the newest NVIDIA driver (see NVIDIA System Info) to follow your recommendation. A screenshoto of the input videos is shown here (Input Videos) and a screenshot of the Cuda preview here (Preview Cuda). As you can see, it all looks great. The settings for rendering are shown here (Render Setting). A screenshot of the rendering using CUDA is shown here (CUDA rendering, rendering at about 15fps) and a screenshot when using GSLS rendering (OpenGL, rendering at about 8fps). With my next posting I´ll provide you with some footage for you to try. It is anyway clear that the NVIDIA driver has nothing to do with the problem.
Attachments
GSLS rendering.JPG
GSLS rendering.JPG (10.59 KiB) Viewed 2767 times
RenderingCUDA.JPG
RenderingCUDA.JPG (11.31 KiB) Viewed 2767 times
RenderSettings.JPG
Preview Cuda.JPG
Input Videos.JPG
Nividia System Info.JPG

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by olivierbo » Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:10 pm

Hello SoccerTom,

Can you resend the footages, please. I cannot find them on my computer. I would like to be sure this is not a CUDA incompatibility.

Thanks in advance,
Olivier

no avatar
SoccerTom
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 20
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:43 pm
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by SoccerTom » Thu Mar 08, 2018 9:47 am

Hi Oliver, I shortend the footage to only 17 seconds but the files are still 0.6GB. I tried to upload them but I failed. Do you have a drop box or something onto which I can upload the data or any other idea?

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by olivierbo » Thu Mar 08, 2018 9:58 am

Yes, I send you an email.

Olivier

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by olivierbo » Thu Mar 08, 2018 3:04 pm

Hi Thomas,

I rendered your video with projection and settings shown above without any issue. WIndows 10 Pro/NVIDIA Quadro M4000/AV3.
Have you installed the latest driver 391.01 2018-02-26?
Any other computer you could use to make the test? Any codec pack installed?

Best,
Olivier

no avatar
SoccerTom
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 20
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:43 pm
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by SoccerTom » Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:34 pm

Dear Oliver,
okay, so you were successful ... mmmhh.
As far as the Nvidia card driver is concerned, I have recently updated it to 390.77. The black frame was not affected by this update. But I may try with the very newest version.
I have, unfortunately, no other computer to test.
For the codec packs installed, I found the following audio and video codecs installed (see attached image). To me this says nothing, I am afraid ...

Cheers, SoccerTom
Attachments
Codecs.JPG

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by olivierbo » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:32 pm

Hi Thomas,

I cannot reproduce your issue if I change the projection to panini using Authoring tab and then edit the reference panorama into APG to enlarge the FOV. After saving the .pano, I was able to render it and get something useful (Win10 Pro/NVIDIA Quadro M4000).

Best regards,
Olivier

no avatar
SoccerTom
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 20
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:43 pm
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by SoccerTom » Mon Apr 02, 2018 1:06 pm

Dear Oliver,
thank you for your response. I now understand that
- when you use my .kava file, you can reproduce my "black frame error"
- when you recreate the project than you don´t find the error.
Comparing the workflow, I noted that you edit the reference window in APG (Autopano Giga). I don´t do this as I don´t find it necessary for my purposes (and I don´t have the software).

Except for the case when using CUDA, there was no need to edit the panorame using APG.

I would find it a bit annoying if it would now be necessary to also edit the reference window using APG. When using the non-CUDA based rendering, it was sufficient to zoom in the part of the window that I wanted rendered and to turn it to get the horizont nice and flat. Saving these settings in the project was sufficient to tell the rendering machine what to do. Now, apparently, these data are not being saved properly (this is now evident by the observation that you reproduce my error using my .kava file).

It would be interesting to know what happens if you process the footage according to my workflow i.e. in the authoring window only, save the project and then render it (so without APG). In case you to find the same results that I get, namely "black-frame error" when using CUDA, no "black-frame error" when not using CUDA but GLSL machine, then this would suggest that saving the project does not take the data as displayed in the authoring window (which the software should, in my view).

So please have a try and let us know what happend

Thomas

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Black frame when rendering with GPGPU (cuda)

by olivierbo » Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:59 am

Hello,

CUDA is not compatible with Authoring mode. A bug is open.

Thanks for your trust.

Kind regards,
Olivier


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests