all view speed range for video ?  

About the allview mount
no avatar
mdboi
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:27 am

all view speed range for video ?

by mdboi » Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:34 am

Hi,

I would like to use allview for video panning. Can anyone give the range of speed for this use. Can i Use at 1°/S or less ? Is it really fluid et a such speed ?

Thanks

M

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7859
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sat Aug 24, 2013 12:23 pm

Hi!

I don´t have an Allview. But what i generally know from using astro-heads for video: their moves are by far not fluid enough.
They all need a modified controlling software with variable speed-ramps for start and stop and programmable speed
for the movements.

All heads "from the box" start and stop too abruptly for video use and don´t provide variable and programmable speed
control.

Try http://www.kesslercrane.com/ for controllers - maybe they have or can match a device to fit the Allview.

best and good luck, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
Artisan New
Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 8:23 am

by Artisan New » Sun Aug 25, 2013 10:32 am

Yeps, that's true you can use a Merlin/Allview for timelaps shots but not for real life motion shots for that you need a controler with an Atmel chip (for instance) and a program which can accelerate/decelerate the steppers using differential microstepping. For one a Merlin doesn't use steppers but rotary controllers controlled standard electro motors which would/could have some implications trying to control them (what an Allview uses I don't have a clue). I don't know if a Kessler Oracle (I wonder what's Larry Ellison's view of that name is when he comes back from his yachting adventure :)) controler would be able to control an Allview, but I shure know that a Kessler motorized mount and controler will do the trick.

Maybe this guy:

http://www.outdoorphotographer.com/how-to/shooting/yosemite-range-of-light.html

Is willing to help since he own's and uses Kessler and and Allview though for timelaps and not for real life 24 FPS speed.

Greets, Ed.
Olympus OM-D with HLD-6, Fuji GX680, Samyang 7.5, Olympus 9-18, Sigma 19, Panasonic 14-45, Nikon 50 1.4 on Novoflex with tripod mount, Nikon 80-200, Panasonic 45-200, Fujinon 135, Fujinon 80, Fujinon 65, Fujinon 50, Gitzo Gilux Reporter 2, Sirui Ballhead and Panosaurus 2.0 NNP adapter, Motorized Panohead of Canadian (ironware)/Dutch (electronics and software) construction.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14178
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Sun Aug 25, 2013 12:25 pm

Artisan New wrote:For one a Merlin doesn't use steppers but rotary controllers controlled standard electro motors which would/could have some implications trying to control them (what an Allview uses I don't have a clue).
Greets, Ed.

I believe that the Allview can be driven by Papywizard using the Merlin driver plugin so I presume it also uses optical encoders and DC motors.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
mdboi
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:27 am

by mdboi » Sun Aug 25, 2013 12:30 pm

Yes it can and can use the android application it'es the same system than the merlin. Do you think that if I am linear with only panning and no stop I will be ok or I will have some vibrations ?

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7859
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sun Aug 25, 2013 12:37 pm

mdboi wrote:Do you think that if I am linear with only panning and no stop I will be ok or I will have some vibrations ?

Well - your panning must start and stop, does it. :cool:
But you can start and stop it and cut away some frames which show the start- and stop. So you can fade in a soft start and fade out getting a soft stop.
But you´ll most likely have vibrations in the panning on between.

best, Klaus

PS: some months ago here in the forum some guys showed a remote-pan device for Merlin basing on a Sony PS controller and an Arduino interface.
Seemed to work nicely!
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
mdboi
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:27 am

by mdboi » Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:21 pm

So I better sould you use a real video head…

Cheapest but are they avoiding vibrations
http://store.nexternal.com/emotimo/tb3-black-p2.aspx (plus orientée time lapse mais qui à  aussi un mode video)
http://slidekamera.com/remote-pan-and-tilt-2d-heads/61-slide-kamera-hgn-1-2d-head.html (viedo

Most expensive
http://www.kesslercrane.com/product-p/100117.htm (video et timelapse)

Innovative ?
http://syrp.co.nz/

no avatar
mdboi
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:27 am

by mdboi » Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:32 pm

the wii modification is here http://www.briandorey.com/post/Acuter-MerlinOrion-Motorised-AZ-Mount-controlled-by-a-Wii-Nunchuk-with-remote-zoom.aspx
But this will not avoid vibrations during panning ?

no avatar
mdboi
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:27 am

by mdboi » Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:39 pm


no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7859
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:54 pm

mdboi wrote:the wii modification is here http://www.briandorey.com/post/Acuter-MerlinOrion-Motorised-AZ-Mount-controlled-by-a-Wii-Nunchuk-with-remote-zoom.aspx
But this will not avoid vibrations during panning ?

None of the cheap heads can run as smooth like a professional one.

But the professional ones are VERY expensive:

http://www.camera-person.com/remotehead.htm
http://www.mrmoco.com/
http://bradeng.com/products
http://www.moviecrane.gr/scorpio-head-sb92.php

So i guess the Merlin is a very fine solution for amateurs. After all you can run stabilizing/smoothing in post-pro.

Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
phill.butte
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 2:26 am
Location: Paradise, California

by phill.butte » Sun Aug 25, 2013 3:52 pm

I'm out of town right now but I can test this when I get back next week. As I recall from the manual you set a start point, an end point, and the amount of time to take between start and end. So it's not fast to set up and there's no option to ramp the speed up and down.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7859
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sun Aug 25, 2013 4:18 pm

mdboi wrote:the wii modification is here http://www.briandorey.com/post/Acuter-MerlinOrion-Motorised-AZ-Mount-controlled-by-a-Wii-Nunchuk-with-remote-zoom.aspx
But this will not avoid vibrations during panning ?

Well done device i guess. If i were in your place - i´d go for it.

Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
phill.butte
Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2012 2:26 am
Location: Paradise, California

by phill.butte » Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:40 pm

The answer to the original question is a qualified yes. It will pan as fast or slow as you want at a constant speed. they call it "Video Coursing". You set the starting pan and tilt location, then the ending pan and tilt location, then the amount of time you want it to take from start to end up to 9 hours, 59 minutes, and 59 seconds. It moves very smoothly and a constant rate, there is no capability to ramp the speed up or down. It's very good at moving slowly, there is a top speed limit of about 10 degrees per second. During the duration of the pan/tilt the camera shutter control signal is "on".

There is also a "Time Lapse" mode that requires setting a starting point, ending point, the time between each photo (Maximum 9 hours, 59 minutes, and 59 seconds), the duration of the camera shutter control "on" signal, and the number of photos to be taken during the total pan/tilt (max 65,535). There does appear to be some practical limits on how many positions there can be per degree. If you tell it to take 100 photos over a ten degree range then put your finger on the drive it feels like it moves only about every 10 photos (.1 degree). It uses encoders rather than a stepping motors so there are limits on the resolution.

Good luck!


Return to Allview

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest