Page 2 of 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:40 pm
by DorinDXN
JohnM wrote:Sure some great work posted here.

Regarding sparse images, I`m talking about more resolution in some areas not less in some. http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc645077%28VS.95%29.aspx#Sparse_Images

I believe the great example made by Dorin Godja is an image stitched with both hi and low resolution images, but there isnt any parts with more detail than the main parts of the panorama, is there ?

http://dorin.europhoto.ro/dxn_pano/PtaVictoriei/pano.tiles/l5_d_07_24.jpg


Anyways it works great as Dorin does it and I`ll lern from his example and start to shoot ground and sky with less resolution, which means I may have time to focus more on the interesting parts, both while shooting and stitching/editing.

Hi John
this I done back in 2007
http://dorin.devalvr.com/hires/Pano4.html
I used different lenses and have diferent resolutions, is bigger resolution toward the cathedral.
But is need for DevalVR plugin to display (http://www.devalvr.com/install)
If there is interest I'll make one in krpano as well but not right now as I'm rather busy with other project.


cheers,
Dorin

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 1:19 pm
by KreAture
Very interesing yet old thread, but I want to thank odyssey for quoting Jason so I could be inspored by his obvious but brilliant insight!
Letting the robot shoot additional action-images/fill-ins is, I think, the solution!

I have developed my own pano app on my android phone and it controls my homebrew panohead.
(Essentially a L bracket with two steppers, battery and gears connected to my own design circuitboard and remotely controlled by bluetooth.)

I will now add two new flags to my app. Freeshoot before and after, allowing the user to pan and tilt camera via remote and fire off shots that are then recorded in the xml file together with the robotic pano.
It will be a very easy fix and it should allow for papywizard files with additional images randomly located.
By rendering to a file with layers it should then be possible to go in and select the action, bringing it to the forground.
It will still mean editing a insanely large file, but PS is getting good at that.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 3:03 pm
by KreAture