Death Valley, California, USA  

Share what you've done with Autopano Pro.
Montrez nous vos oeuvres !
no avatar
Ridgeback

Topic author
Liked in: 0 post
Info

Death Valley, California, USA

by Ridgeback » Wed Jun 22, 2011 8:27 pm

I have been tinkering with Autopano Pro for a few years now, but I am no expert. I also only use small compact digital cameras. This panorama was taken in May 2011 using my new Panasonic TZ20. It consists of 18 images, stitched together in APP 2.0.9 (sorry folks, but 2.5.2 just does not produce good results, no matter what adjustments I make!). I also use Paint Shop Pro 12 for image adjustments. The pan needs work on the contrast and is a bit grainy but nevertheless, for a casual amateur, I am quite pleased with it. All handheld too - no tripod!

Badwater Flats, is the lowest point in North America, at 282 ft (86 metres) below sea level! By the time I got down here the temperature was 40 degrees C, but that was in May (usually about 50 degrees C in July)!

A little earlier in the day I got my first sight of the valley from a place called Dante's View, which is high up on the eastern side of the valley, above Badwater, at 5475 feet (1669 metres) above sea level. It was a very comfy 22 degrees C up there!

The (still!) partially snow-covered peak visible in the panorama, on the far (western) side of the valley is Telescope Peak, the highest spot in that range at 11043 ft (3366 m) above sea level, and the highest spot in California.

To get an idea of scale, have a careful look along and near the bottom edge of the panorama (about a quarter way up from the bottom edge) - can you see a handful of cars spread out along the road that runs almost the entire width of the pan? You should be able to spot at least 3 cars if you zoom in. The immensity of the valley is very impressive!

http://img833.imageshack.us/img833/6061/badwaterflatsdeathvalle.jpg
Last edited by Ridgeback on Wed Jun 22, 2011 8:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

taf

Info