Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 10:38 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:59 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:46 pm
Posts: 5
Hello,

I am attempting to compile a tour with 92 panoramas into one fully embedded SWF file, but when the bar reaches 100% it crashes every time without fail. I was able to successfully compile this tour without embedding the files and the resulting files were 1.8GB in total.

Am I reaching the size limits of what an embedded tour can be or is it crashing because of my limited system resources?

[uli]The computer building the tour has an Intel i5-3320M dual core processor, 4GB RAM, and Ubuntu 13.04 64bit OS. It creates a 0KB SWF file.[/uli]
[uli]An export of the same tour was also attempted on an Intel Quad Core processor, 8GB RAM and Ubuntu 13.04 64bit OS and the resulting file is 252MB. This file opens, but the spots don't render in full quality.[/uli]

Thank you, any help will be appreciated,
Kris


Last edited by kris26 on Thu Aug 08, 2013 7:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 6:06 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:56 pm
Posts: 55
Location: OC, California
my largest project was close to 200 scenes!

I never embed everything because i always like to play with the master xml. If needs be I then use the "KR protect" tool to embed everything. This is a work around that may help...

_________________
Richard Hart
Commercial and portrait photographer OC California
http://www.richhartphoto.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 6:34 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:46 pm
Posts: 5
Great information, I will look into KR Protect. Thank you.

As an additional question if you do not mind, what are the specs of the computer you use to compile these tours?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 6:44 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:56 pm
Posts: 55
Location: OC, California
got a mac mini with an intel i7 and 4gb ram.

Havng that many files embedded, will make the project slower to start up, particularly if online.

_________________
Richard Hart
Commercial and portrait photographer OC California
http://www.richhartphoto.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:27 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13958
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
kris26 wrote:
Hello,

I am attempting to compile a tour with 92 panoramas into one fully embedded SWF file ....

Thank you, any help will be appreciated,
Kris

Welcome to the forum...

I would not recommend embedding all for a 92 scene tour.

It will take an age to (down)load before anything is displayed.

Why do you wish to embed everything?

............

FWIW it will not be possible to embed eveything for tours created with PTP 2.x, but it does offer encryption.

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Last edited by mediavets on Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:56 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3323
Location: Salzburg
ptp 2.0 does have the krpano protect onboard its called xml encryption.
Georg



_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 12:55 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:46 pm
Posts: 5
Thank you all for the responses. The reason I wanted to embed the entire project is because the company I work for would like to embed it into an internal social network. We have since ruled this out and have found a better option for hosting the non-embedded tour.

We are investing in a computer for the sole purpose of creating virtual tours, it is a laptop with these specs:
4th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4800MQ Processor (2.70GHz, 6M Cache)
16GB (2x8GB) 1600MHz DDR3L Memory

Should this be sufficient for large tours?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:02 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13958
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
kris26 wrote:
Thank you all for the responses. The reason I wanted to embed the entire project is because the company I work for would like to embed it into an internal social network. We have since ruled this out and have found a better option for hosting the non-embedded tour.

We are investing in a computer for the sole purpose of creating virtual tours, it is a laptop with these specs:
4th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4800MQ Processor (2.70GHz, 6M Cache)
16GB (2x8GB) 1600MHz DDR3L Memory

Should this be sufficient for large tours?

How large is a 'large tour'?

I would never recommend a laptop as a dedicated PC for stitching panos and creating virtual tours.

They never perform as well as a less expensive desktop and their disk capacities and performance, and graphics capabilities - both important for these appllications - are always more limited that a desktop. You might enjoy more screen 'real estate' than is offered by a laptop too.

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:23 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:46 pm
Posts: 5
The reason we would like to go with a laptop is because we will be travelling across the country and may need to do processing while on the road.

Our most recent tour had 92 panoramas and was 1.9GB, non embedded. This was processed on a dual core processor and 4GB of ram. Going forward, it is concievable we could create one with as many as 120 panorama's and dozens of linked pictures.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:41 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3323
Location: Salzburg
kris26 wrote:
The reason we would like to go with a laptop is because we will be travelling across the country and may need to do processing while on the road.

Our most recent tour had 92 panoramas and was 1.9GB, non embedded. This was processed on a dual core processor and 4GB of ram. Going forward, it is concievable we could create one with as many as 120 panorama's and dozens of linked pictures.

is it 32bit OS or 64bit OS.... hope 64bit...
if 32bit only 3 of your 4 GB memory will be detected by windows.
so how big are the source panos in sum you wanna add to one tour. (not the size of created tour, the size of the image you add to the tour)
this in sum should easily fit into your RAM, so in your example not more than 1.5 or 2 GB (50% of physical RAM or even less will be free for usage by other programs like ptp).

So I would strongly urge for 8GB RAM and 64bit OS AND take care you use a 100-250GB SSD (OS may also reside on a SSD, but seperate one)

if you like to use the notebook too for APG for panocreation, I would insist on 64bit OS and 16GB RAM and one disk or SSD for OS, one SSD for Sourceimages and 3rd for destination. temp files on one of the ssds too...
this may also be external drives but minimum on USB3 speed...

Georg

_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Last edited by gkaefer on Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 3:46 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:46 pm
Posts: 5
Great, thank you for your recommendations.

The tours were created using Ubuntu 13.04 64bit stored on a 2TB notebook harddrive (not SSD) connected by eSata, with the option to use USB 3.0 on the new laptop. The harddrive for the new laptop will be a 500GB 5400rpm SATA Solid State Hybrid Drive. I believe this should be a step in the right direction?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group