Client issues with uploading to FTP  

This forum is fully dedicated to Panotour / Panotour Pro bug reports as well as feature discussion.
no avatar
aromer
Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:34 am

Client issues with uploading to FTP

by aromer » Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:25 pm

Hi All,

I've recently finished a small (2 node) tour for an art gallery client.
http://planaview.com/pv_demo/kvn/KVN_360.html
This is hosted from my website through my host (ipower) the final content of the tour was 1.7gb.

I dropboxed the content (swf, html, data folders, etc) to my client and he uploaded it to his host:
http://klausgallery.com/KVN_360/KVN_360.html

Any ideas on why is not loading on his end? I asked him to double check ALL files were uploaded and he said yes. I have not run into this issue before with clients and would like to get this off and working for him ASAP. Could size be a factor here? I am unsure of his web host, but do certain hosts have known restrictions? Any help would be appreciated!

Andy

User avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 5090
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Location: Australia

by Destiny » Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:38 pm

Hi Andy.. I get errors when checking on the swf, with the xml, so it might be a permissions thing... for allowing public access..

Destiny...
Primary School Teacher - Hobby Virtual Tours and 3D/360 Object/Product Photographer - Our aim is to create a 3D/360 Virtual Tour Shop/Store with links to 3D/360 degree products. My gear, VR Drive II - D90 - Nikon 10.5 fisheye - Nikon D800 with Nikon-Nikkor 14-24 - NOVOFLEX Magic Balance - Acratech GP Ball-head - Nodal Ninja 4 + RD-16 Rotor - Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 Carbon Fiber Tripod :) :)

no avatar
aromer
Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:34 am

by aromer » Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:44 pm

Thanks!
I'll look into that.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:11 pm

aromer wrote:Hi All,

I've recently finished a small (2 node) tour for an art gallery client.
http://planaview.com/pv_demo/kvn/KVN_360.html
This is hosted from my website through my host (ipower) the final content of the tour was 1.7gb.

I dropboxed the content (swf, html, data folders, etc) to my client and he uploaded it to his host:
http://klausgallery.com/KVN_360/KVN_360.html

Any ideas on why is not loading on his end? I asked him to double check ALL files were uploaded and he said yes. I have not run into this issue before with clients and would like to get this off and working for him ASAP. Could size be a factor here? I am unsure of his web host, but do certain hosts have known restrictions? Any help would be appreciated!

Andy

Seems to be a path-issue: images are missing:

best, Klaus


Last edited by klausesser on Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
aromer
Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:34 am

by aromer » Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:30 pm

yes, I am turning on all the permissions now - they were set to read, but not execute. Its taking some time, but good see that content is appearing klaus, better than before! lol

Destiny, how were you able to check the permissions from your browser, that seems like a useful trick?

Andy

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3382
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:23 pm

1.7gig for These two Scenes tour?
did you use jpg quality value 11 or even 12? 9-10 should be dramatically reduce the data without really loosing Quality...
I also would Limit to deep zoom a Little bit more because zoomed to max its pretty unsharp.
Georg

no avatar
aromer
Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:34 am

by aromer » Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:35 pm

yes, jpg 12. I'll play around with 9-10 and look at the difference. I find the quality to be pretty sharp at max (3000%). Shot with a 50mm lens at 24MP. The images on the walls are blurry to begin with (contemporary photography and all....) look at the fake staircase and rail...

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:12 pm

aromer wrote:yes, jpg 12. I'll play around with 9-10 and look at the difference. I find the quality to be pretty sharp at max (3000%). Shot with a 50mm lens at 24MP. The images on the walls are blurry to begin with (contemporary photography and all....) look at the fake staircase and rail...

1) use TIFs for import to Panotour Pro.
2) JPG 8 is enough, 9 doesn´t make a vital difference, 10 starts to increase load-time too much, 12 is nonsense.

have a look:
www.360impressions.de MKPTour - Tiffs (around 1,5 GB each equi) -->> JPG @8. Folder-size is about 160MB on the server.
The two deep-zoomable paintings are seperate panos in two seperate html folders. They also are JPG 8 settings.

Ckeck this also: around 700mpx each, around 1,5GB TIFF -->> JPG 8 setting. The folder is about 200MB on the server:
http://360impressions.de/Lichtturm/

I wouldn´t say the quality is too low using JPG 8 . . you need to make a compromise of quality/quantity. Being an advertising photographer i always see quality first -
but when the difference between 8 and 12 is rarely visible but better to uson the web i take 8.

Don´t forget: browsers usually use sRGB for displaying - converting RGB to sRGB results in a greater loss in visual quality than the difference in using JPG 8 instead of 12 !

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:19 pm

aromer wrote:I find the quality to be pretty sharp at max (3000%).

I guess you mean 300% !? :cool:

Viewing pictures @300% is embarrassing - many "Gigapixel" people provide their "Gigas" with zooming at more than 100%. In my eyes that´s inacceptable - because it means faking.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 5090
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Location: Australia

by Destiny » Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:47 pm

Hi Andy... If you go to the uploaded folder and right click on the entire folder, go to 'info', you will see the permissions dialogue box.. You need to set them to 777..

Destiny...


aromer wrote:yes, I am turning on all the permissions now - they were set to read, but not execute. Its taking some time, but good see that content is appearing klaus, better than before! lol

Destiny, how were you able to check the permissions from your browser, that seems like a useful trick?

Andy
Primary School Teacher - Hobby Virtual Tours and 3D/360 Object/Product Photographer - Our aim is to create a 3D/360 Virtual Tour Shop/Store with links to 3D/360 degree products. My gear, VR Drive II - D90 - Nikon 10.5 fisheye - Nikon D800 with Nikon-Nikkor 14-24 - NOVOFLEX Magic Balance - Acratech GP Ball-head - Nodal Ninja 4 + RD-16 Rotor - Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 Carbon Fiber Tripod :) :)

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3382
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:59 pm

if I zoom to max in your pano you can see the following FOV and Zoomlevel (screenshot 1)...
so either you manage a sharp output at this zoom Level or easier to manage I would limit the zoom Limit so ist still sharp (screenshot 2)...

Liebe Gruesse,
Georg




Last edited by gkaefer on Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
aromer
Member
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:34 am

by aromer » Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:50 am

Thanks so much for the info guys -

I did an export today at 9 and found it to be pretty unnoticeable (the difference). (and only 200mb)
Klaus, I was referring to the zoom level in PTP, in the FOV dialogue says 3000% so i guess that equals 300?

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:17 pm

aromer wrote:Thanks so much for the info guys -

I did an export today at 9 and found it to be pretty unnoticeable (the difference). (and only 200mb)
Klaus, I was referring to the zoom level in PTP, in the FOV dialogue says 3000% so i guess that equals 300?

Hi Andy!

In PTP you can set: "restrict to image resolution" . which means 100%.

best, Klaus


Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Return to Panotour bugs & discussion 1.8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest