Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 6:47 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:25 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:34 am
Posts: 21
Hi All,

I've recently finished a small (2 node) tour for an art gallery client.
http://planaview.com/pv_demo/kvn/KVN_360.html
This is hosted from my website through my host (ipower) the final content of the tour was 1.7gb.

I dropboxed the content (swf, html, data folders, etc) to my client and he uploaded it to his host:
http://klausgallery.com/KVN_360/KVN_360.html

Any ideas on why is not loading on his end? I asked him to double check ALL files were uploaded and he said yes. I have not run into this issue before with clients and would like to get this off and working for him ASAP. Could size be a factor here? I am unsure of his web host, but do certain hosts have known restrictions? Any help would be appreciated!

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:38 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4754
Location: Australia
Hi Andy.. I get errors when checking on the swf, with the xml, so it might be a permissions thing... for allowing public access..

Destiny...

_________________
Primary School Teacher - Hobby Virtual Tours and 3D/360 Object/Product Photographer - Our aim is to create a 3D/360 Virtual Tour Shop/Store with links to 3D/360 degree products. My gear, VR Drive II - D90 - Nikon 10.5 fisheye - Nikon D800 with Nikon-Nikkor 14-24 - NOVOFLEX Magic Balance - Acratech GP Ball-head - Nodal Ninja 4 + RD-16 Rotor - Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 Carbon Fiber Tripod :) :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:44 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:34 am
Posts: 21
Thanks!
I'll look into that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:11 pm 
Online
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7733
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
aromer wrote:
Hi All,

I've recently finished a small (2 node) tour for an art gallery client.
http://planaview.com/pv_demo/kvn/KVN_360.html
This is hosted from my website through my host (ipower) the final content of the tour was 1.7gb.

I dropboxed the content (swf, html, data folders, etc) to my client and he uploaded it to his host:
http://klausgallery.com/KVN_360/KVN_360.html

Any ideas on why is not loading on his end? I asked him to double check ALL files were uploaded and he said yes. I have not run into this issue before with clients and would like to get this off and working for him ASAP. Could size be a factor here? I am unsure of his web host, but do certain hosts have known restrictions? Any help would be appreciated!

Andy

Seems to be a path-issue: images are missing:

best, Klaus



_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Last edited by klausesser on Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:30 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:34 am
Posts: 21
yes, I am turning on all the permissions now - they were set to read, but not execute. Its taking some time, but good see that content is appearing klaus, better than before! lol

Destiny, how were you able to check the permissions from your browser, that seems like a useful trick?

Andy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:23 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3323
Location: Salzburg
1.7gig for These two Scenes tour?
did you use jpg quality value 11 or even 12? 9-10 should be dramatically reduce the data without really loosing Quality...
I also would Limit to deep zoom a Little bit more because zoomed to max its pretty unsharp.
Georg

_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:35 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:34 am
Posts: 21
yes, jpg 12. I'll play around with 9-10 and look at the difference. I find the quality to be pretty sharp at max (3000%). Shot with a 50mm lens at 24MP. The images on the walls are blurry to begin with (contemporary photography and all....) look at the fake staircase and rail...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:12 pm 
Online
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7733
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
aromer wrote:
yes, jpg 12. I'll play around with 9-10 and look at the difference. I find the quality to be pretty sharp at max (3000%). Shot with a 50mm lens at 24MP. The images on the walls are blurry to begin with (contemporary photography and all....) look at the fake staircase and rail...

1) use TIFs for import to Panotour Pro.
2) JPG 8 is enough, 9 doesn´t make a vital difference, 10 starts to increase load-time too much, 12 is nonsense.

have a look:
www.360impressions.de MKPTour - Tiffs (around 1,5 GB each equi) -->> JPG @8. Folder-size is about 160MB on the server.
The two deep-zoomable paintings are seperate panos in two seperate html folders. They also are JPG 8 settings.

Ckeck this also: around 700mpx each, around 1,5GB TIFF -->> JPG 8 setting. The folder is about 200MB on the server:
http://360impressions.de/Lichtturm/

I wouldn´t say the quality is too low using JPG 8 . . you need to make a compromise of quality/quantity. Being an advertising photographer i always see quality first -
but when the difference between 8 and 12 is rarely visible but better to uson the web i take 8.

Don´t forget: browsers usually use sRGB for displaying - converting RGB to sRGB results in a greater loss in visual quality than the difference in using JPG 8 instead of 12 !

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:19 pm 
Online
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7733
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
aromer wrote:
I find the quality to be pretty sharp at max (3000%).

I guess you mean 300% !? :cool:

Viewing pictures @300% is embarrassing - many "Gigapixel" people provide their "Gigas" with zooming at more than 100%. In my eyes that´s inacceptable - because it means faking.

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:47 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4754
Location: Australia
Hi Andy... If you go to the uploaded folder and right click on the entire folder, go to 'info', you will see the permissions dialogue box.. You need to set them to 777..

Destiny...


aromer wrote:
yes, I am turning on all the permissions now - they were set to read, but not execute. Its taking some time, but good see that content is appearing klaus, better than before! lol

Destiny, how were you able to check the permissions from your browser, that seems like a useful trick?

Andy

_________________
Primary School Teacher - Hobby Virtual Tours and 3D/360 Object/Product Photographer - Our aim is to create a 3D/360 Virtual Tour Shop/Store with links to 3D/360 degree products. My gear, VR Drive II - D90 - Nikon 10.5 fisheye - Nikon D800 with Nikon-Nikkor 14-24 - NOVOFLEX Magic Balance - Acratech GP Ball-head - Nodal Ninja 4 + RD-16 Rotor - Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 Carbon Fiber Tripod :) :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:59 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3323
Location: Salzburg
if I zoom to max in your pano you can see the following FOV and Zoomlevel (screenshot 1)...
so either you manage a sharp output at this zoom Level or easier to manage I would limit the zoom Limit so ist still sharp (screenshot 2)...

Liebe Gruesse,
Georg





_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Last edited by gkaefer on Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:50 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:34 am
Posts: 21
Thanks so much for the info guys -

I did an export today at 9 and found it to be pretty unnoticeable (the difference). (and only 200mb)
Klaus, I was referring to the zoom level in PTP, in the FOV dialogue says 3000% so i guess that equals 300?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:17 pm 
Online
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7733
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
aromer wrote:
Thanks so much for the info guys -

I did an export today at 9 and found it to be pretty unnoticeable (the difference). (and only 200mb)
Klaus, I was referring to the zoom level in PTP, in the FOV dialogue says 3000% so i guess that equals 300?

Hi Andy!

In PTP you can set: "restrict to image resolution" . which means 100%.

best, Klaus



_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group