Max number of panoramas  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Panotour problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
Coldmami
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 8:18 am
Info

Max number of panoramas

by Coldmami » Tue Jul 14, 2015 8:23 am

Hi, is there a maximum allowed number of panoramas per tour? I need to build one tour with 1200 panoramas and even if I resize them to less then 1 Mpix PTP1.8 will stop responding. All panoramas in that size will take about 300 MB but when I lload 20 panoramas with 50Mpix total size in MB is larger and program does not have a problem with it.

Marcin

User avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7731
Likes: 3 posts
Liked in: 214 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Location: Australia
Info

Re: Max number of panoramas

by Destiny » Tue Jul 14, 2015 9:02 am

1200 panos..! I would ask, why..? Who would sit down and view 1200 panos.. Why do you need so many..??

To spend just 10 seconds viewing each pano, will still take 3.3 hours..

BTW. As far as I know, there is no limit but.. having that many panos might be complicated to link..

Destiny...

User avatar
Cliquetsy
Member
 
Posts: 1310
Likes: 104 posts
Liked in: 119 posts
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 4:10 pm
Info

Re: Max number of panoramas

by Cliquetsy » Tue Jul 14, 2015 9:29 am

There's no limit except your hardware. That is way too much and you'd need some sort of über-computer.

In v2+ there's caching of your panoramas in your project so that would be more feasible... (FAQ for PTP 2: http://www.kolor.com/wiki-en/action/vie ... a_tour_.3F )

no avatar
Coldmami
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 8:18 am
Info

Re: Max number of panoramas

by Coldmami » Tue Jul 14, 2015 9:47 am

Why I can load 400 panoramic images 40 Mpix each but 1200 with 1 Mpix does not work?

Kindly inform that this topic is not about why I need 1200 panoramic images as one virtual tour.

Marcin

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16413
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Max number of panoramas

by mediavets » Tue Jul 14, 2015 10:07 am

Coldmami wrote:Kindly inform that this topic is not about why I need 1200 panoramic images as one virtual tour.

Marcin

May I ask why you are using PTP 1.8 rather than 2.x?

Would you consider creating multiple smaller tours and linking them togther?

no avatar
Coldmami
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 8:18 am
Info

Re: Max number of panoramas

by Coldmami » Tue Jul 14, 2015 10:49 am

Because 2.X is very difficult program to use. I have to set the spot view for each link and it can be done easier in 1.8.

Second thing, my client has to store the virtualtour on a local drive. No extra programs shall be used to view it.

User avatar
bdd
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2394
Likes: 11 posts
Liked in: 94 posts
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:05 pm
Info

Re: Max number of panoramas

by bdd » Wed Jul 15, 2015 1:32 pm

In 1.8 version, adding a lot of panoramas at same time will require a lot of memory because ALL panoramas will be loaded.

We improved this in 2.x . In 2.x, only new panoramas, or panoramas that were not previously built will be loaded.

If I understand correctly your remark about an extra program, it meas that your tour contains a floorplan and/or a map. Is it true ?
If your tour does not contain any, then you can run a PTP2.x tour (containing only 1.8 available features) locally without any extra software.

Gérald


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests