Google map doesn't work anymore ??   [SOLVED] - View the solution

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Panotour problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 648
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway
Info

Google map doesn't work anymore ??

by leifs » Mon Sep 22, 2014 8:23 am

I have notised that in all my panos made with PTP 1.8 the Google map doesn't work anymore.
Anybody seen or heard anything about this ?

Kolor:
do I have to redo all of them from scratch on PTP 2 ?
I can't even open the PTP 1.8 project in PTP 2 =(

Leif
Attachments
initialization.jpg

User avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5456
Likes: 59 posts
Liked in: 166 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Google map doesn't work anymore ??

by benji33 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:36 am

OLD google message :
The API will continue to work until September 2, 2014.
After that date, the API will no longer be available. We encourage you to migrate your code to version 3 of the Google Maps JavaScript API.

NEW google message :
Important: The Google Maps Flash API is no longer available.
This guide is intended to help developers who have existing Flash API apps to migrate their code to the Google Maps Javascript API v3.

So the old google maps with Flash API will not work anymore.

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 648
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway
Info

Re: Google map doesn't work anymore ??

by leifs » Mon Sep 22, 2014 11:15 am

So all panos using google maps made with PTP prior to PTP 2 has to be redone from scratch ?
Nasty surprise =(

Leif

User avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5456
Likes: 59 posts
Liked in: 166 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Google map doesn't work anymore ??

by benji33 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:17 pm

Yes. At this time it's hard to hear.
We are looking for a possible update of the map component for 1.8 but no solution at this time.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16413
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Google map doesn't work anymore ??

by mediavets » Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:21 pm

benji33 wrote:Yes. At this time it's hard to hear.
We are looking for a possible update of the map component for 1.8 but no solution at this time.

But is it necessary to recreate the 1.8 tours from scratch just because they include a Panotour map.

Could you not instead open the tour with 1.8 remove the map extra and rebuild, then open that version of the tour in PT/PTP 2.x?

User avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5456
Likes: 59 posts
Liked in: 166 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Google map doesn't work anymore ??

by benji33 » Mon Sep 22, 2014 12:22 pm

Better way at this time is to change for Bing or Openstreetmap map rather than Google map.

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 648
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway
Info

Re: Google map doesn't work anymore ??

by leifs » Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:46 pm

mediavets wrote:Could you not instead open the tour with 1.8 remove the map extra and rebuild, then open that version of the tour in PT/PTP 2.x?


afaik there is no way to open a PTP 1.8 project in PTP 2, or have I missed something ?

Leif

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16413
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Google map doesn't work anymore ??

by mediavets » Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:53 pm

leifs wrote:
mediavets wrote:Could you not instead open the tour with 1.8 remove the map extra and rebuild, then open that version of the tour in PT/PTP 2.x?


afaik there is no way to open a PTP 1.8 project in PTP 2, or have I missed something ?

Leif


I think you can...but not all features are 'translated' in fact very few are I believe.

User avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5456
Likes: 59 posts
Liked in: 166 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Google map doesn't work anymore ??

by benji33 » Tue Sep 30, 2014 8:32 am


no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 648
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway
Info

Re: Google map doesn't work anymore ??

by leifs » Tue Sep 30, 2014 8:42 am

benji33 wrote:Better way at this time is to change for Bing or Openstreetmap map rather than Google map.


I tried Openstreetmap, but it is useless for me. In my district there are no names at all.
I will try Bing and have a look.

Leif

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 648
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway
Info

Re: Google map doesn't work anymore ?? (solved)  [SOLVED]

by leifs » Thu Nov 20, 2014 6:19 pm

I have now found a way to change PTP 1.8 panos using Google maps to using Bing maps without starting from scratch.
The trick is to edit the virtualtour.xml making two changing in one line of code.

Google maps
<!--************** Plugin Panotour Maps *******************************************************-->
<plugin name="panotourmaps" ..... maptype="PHYSICAL" .... mapgis="google" key="xxxxx">

Bing maps
<!--************** Plugin Panotour Maps *******************************************************-->
<plugin name="panotourmaps" ..... maptype="HYBRID" .... mapgis="bing" key="yyyyyy">

It works and its "easy". I like the look of google maps better though.

leifs
Attachments
google vss bing.jpg


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest