Page 1 of 1

How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 10:54 am
by immersiva.it
Hallo,
I need to improve performances of my system.

My pc has now 8Gb Ram, i7 4770 3.4Gh core processor, windows 8.1, Nvidia geforce gtx 650 video card.

you think It asks me for more Ram or better video card?

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 10:59 am
by immersiva.it
...

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 11:27 am
by mediavets
immersiva.it wrote:Hallo,
I need to improve performances of my system.

My pc has now 8Gb Ram, i7 4770 3.4Gh core processor, windows 8.1, Nvidia geforce gtx 650 video card.

you think It asks me for more Ram or better video card?


More RAM, more faster discs, perhaps including some SSD.

How much RAM does your graphics card have?

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 1:48 pm
by immersiva.it
It's PC default video card PCI Express. 1Gb GDDR5.

My question was, it's more important RAM upgrade or Video Card upgrade?
First for Panotour use (loading, builting tiles, fresh editing without lacks of time), but also for use Autopano instead of ptgui.

Passing to this new PC from my five years old desktop, it was very unsatisfactory. I need more power :-)

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 1:57 pm
by klausesser
immersiva.it wrote:It's PC default video card PCI Express. 1Gb GDDR5.

My question was, it's more important RAM upgrade or Video Card upgrade?
First for Panotour use (loading, builting tiles, fresh editing without lacks of time), but also for use Autopano instead of ptgui.

Passing to this new PC from my five years old desktop, it was very unsatisfactory. I need more power :-)


More RAM is the main thing. The graphic card´s power just comes into play in the editor - not with rendering as far as i know.
But of course a fast working editor hepls a lot!

Also very important is the speed and bandwith of HD/SSD.

Preferably use a completely empty SSD for temp and another one for OS and application. HD for storage.

best, Klaus

I suggest at least 16GB, preferably 32 or 64GB of RAM.

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 2:01 pm
by immersiva.it
thank you.

I will try first with Ram.

Claudio

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 2:10 pm
by mediavets
immersiva.it wrote:It's PC default video card PCI Express. 1Gb GDDR5.

My question was, it's more important RAM upgrade or Video Card upgrade?
First for Panotour use (loading, builting tiles, fresh editing without lacks of time), but also for use Autopano instead of ptgui.

Passing to this new PC from my five years old desktop, it was very unsatisfactory. I need more power :-)


For APG - rather than PTP - consideration of hard disk/SSD configurations and more RAM on video card (2GB will help more is less certaiin and anyway depends on size of your panos) are also relevant, on top of CPU power and main RAM size.

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 2:55 pm
by immersiva.it
Hallo,
follow a print screen of performance during exportation.
I think it's really my RAM that must be upgraded.. you think?

Processor seems free, also I/O writing.
(I've very little difference between SSD and HD)

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 10:05 pm
by HansKeesom
immersiva.it wrote:Hallo,
follow a print screen of performance during exportation.
I think it's really my RAM that must be upgraded.. you think?

Processor seems free, also I/O writing.
(I've very little difference between SSD and HD)


You use only 61% of your ram while exporting. Enough ram... I would look for a PCIE-SSD

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 10:17 pm
by immersiva.it
This project exportation was from/to an SSD.

Also me I've seen "only" 61% RAM use.. that's how I think now to video card...

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 10:40 pm
by HansKeesom
Video card is not used when generating tour, so why upgrade that.

There is a big difference between a pcie-ssd and a normal ssd

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 9:26 am
by immersiva.it
I don't know differencse between ssd and pcie-ssd... now I try search.. thanks

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 9:50 am
by HansKeesom
and then there is also hybrid pcie ssd ;-)

http://www.legitreviews.com/ocz-revodri ... eview_1744

Re: How can i update performance with hardware upgrade?

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2014 6:07 pm
by HansKeesom
This is how things might look. Both panotour and APG are generating at the same time ;-)

F: is the PCIE-SSD but it is not that busy. Might be because of the 64 GB of RAM. I also have a pagefile on it, if it is needed it better be fast ;-)