Using Maps  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Panotour problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
stillstonevisions
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:27 pm

Using Maps

by stillstonevisions » Thu Sep 19, 2013 9:42 pm

I'm setting up to build a tour with Bing maps. How does one set the angle of each point of view?

Thanks,
Paul

no avatar
netline
Member
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 9:29 pm
Location: Knysna, South Africa

by netline » Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:06 pm

I think you need to be a little more specific than that. Angle on the Bing Maps or Starting view within the Virtual Tour?
Canon 60D, Sigma 10-20mm Lens, Nodal Ninja

no avatar
stillstonevisions
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:27 pm

by stillstonevisions » Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:12 pm

>>Angle on the Bing Maps or Starting view within the Virtual Tour?

Angle on the Bing Maps.

I am also experimenting with using a map image from a file, instead of Bing Maps. In that later case, how would I set the location on the image for each panorama.

Paul

no avatar
stillstonevisions
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:27 pm

by stillstonevisions » Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:22 am

To say a bit more, I have set the geolocalisation for each panorama. And I have set the default angle of view on a given pano to point east. But on the Bing map, the radar is pointing northwest. The question is, how to make those two match.

And for the other solution, using a map image file instead of Bing Maps, I need to figure out how to set the geolocation, since the system does not have the information about how my map image file fits in the world.

Thanks.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14158
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:37 am

Are we talking about PTP 1.8 or PTP 2.x here?
Last edited by mediavets on Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
stillstonevisions
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:27 pm

by stillstonevisions » Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:45 am

PTP 1.8

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14158
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:46 am

stillstonevisions wrote:To say a bit more, I have set the geolocalisation for each panorama. And I have set the default angle of view on a given pano to point east. But on the Bing map, the radar is pointing northwest. The question is, how to make those two match.

In PTP 1.8 you select the Compass icon, select the map spot, and drag the radar to the correct orientation.


Last edited by mediavets on Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
stillstonevisions
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:27 pm

by stillstonevisions » Fri Sep 20, 2013 1:58 am

I have no "Hotspot Editor: Panotour Maps" window, nor does that appear in my View menu.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14158
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:08 am

stillstonevisions wrote:I have no "Hotspot Editor: Panotour Maps" window, nor does that appear in my View menu.

Do you have Panotour Pro 1.8 or basic Panotour 1.8?
Last edited by mediavets on Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
stillstonevisions
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:27 pm

by stillstonevisions » Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:10 am

Panotour Pro 1.8

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14158
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:13 am

stillstonevisions wrote:Panotour Pro 1.8

Then... you will have the Panotour maps feature available in Extras.

If activated you will see a Map thumbnail along with the panorama thumbnails.

Click on the map thumbnail and it will appear in the Hotspot editor panel.


Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
stillstonevisions
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:27 pm

by stillstonevisions » Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:27 am

That works! Thanks.

What about the 2nd part of my question, namely, if I use an image map file instead of Bing Maps, how can I position the panos on that map?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14158
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:50 am

stillstonevisions wrote:That works! Thanks.

What about the 2nd part of my question, namely, if I use an image map file instead of Bing Maps, how can I position the panos on that map?

That sort of Map is just 'another image' to PTP.

In Extras/map select the map image you wish to use.

Select your map thumbnail, it will appear in the Hotpot editor pane.

Add hotpots and link to panoramas.

Set the radar as before by dragging to the desired orientation.


Last edited by mediavets on Fri Sep 20, 2013 2:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
stillstonevisions
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:27 pm

by stillstonevisions » Fri Sep 20, 2013 4:20 am

That worked great. Thanks a lot.

See http://www.coloradobizpics.com/bohlender/build.html

Paul


Return to Using Panotour / Panotour Pro 1.8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest