Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 5:04 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 357 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:01 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
mediavets wrote:
APG recognises the lens as a fisheye with a 35mm equiv. focal length of 15mm on D800 in DX mode which shoulkd be good enough.

No. Not at all.

It´s still 10,5mm on a D800. No matter the used sensor size: a 10,5mm stays a 10,5mm - on which camera ever.

Maybe here´s a problem: it IS a 10,5mm on a FX simulating to be a DX. A problem can occur when there are confusing data in the EXIF:
IF the D800 tells an application to be a DX because it´s in DX-mode - the application MIGHT BE thinking it must change the focal-values . .
but the question is: what are the EXIFs telling the app??

Do the EXIF´s KNOW AT ALL it´s a FX simulating a DX? Do the EXIFs tell the app it´s a FX simulating a DX?
Does the app UNDERSTAND this informations? HOW do the apps interprete a FX simulating a DX?

Klaus

In my experiences there are two kind of EXIFs: 1) from the camera-body, 2) from the lens.
Now the camerabody is a FX by the EXIFs, the lens is a DX by the EXIFs.

I don´t know how Nikon "translate" the FX to DX via the EXIFs to an application.

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Last edited by klausesser on Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:06 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
mediavets wrote:
klausesser wrote:
Destiny wrote:
Even though, I had a RMS of 3.86 with Quick Optimise and a 3.66 with Full Optimise stating its was Very Good, however the final stitch was NOT Very Good...

No surprise: 3.66 is far from being "very good". "Very good" is around RMS 1 or 1.5 - at least with higher resolution than an average fisheye pano.

Irrelevant I think -

Not in my experience.

Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:33 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Destiny wrote:
So, a question for you Klaus.. Do you achieve an equally good results using a Fisheye as with a normal prime lens...??.

see it here: Canon 5D2, 2,8/15mm Canon fisheye, 3 steps @2EV, processed in Photomatix, stitched in APG 3.0.7

http://360impressions.de/Mies/

Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:33 pm 
Online
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13634
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
klausesser wrote:
mediavets wrote:
APG recognises the lens as a fisheye with a 35mm equiv. focal length of 15mm on D800 in DX mode which shoulkd be good enough.

No. Not at all.

It´s still 10,5mm on a D800. No matter the used sensor size: a 10,5mm stays a 10,5mm - on which camera ever.

Of course. I said "35mm equiv. focal length of 15mm on D800 in DX mode".

klausesser wrote:
Maybe here´s a problem: it IS a 10,5mm on a FX simulating to be a DX. A problem can occur when there are confusing data in the EXIF:
IF the D800 tells an application to be a DX because it´s in DX-mode - the application MIGHT BE thinking it must change the focal-values . .
but the question is: what are the EXIFs telling the app??

Do the EXIF´s KNOW AT ALL it´s a FX simulating a DX? Do the EXIFs tell the app it´s a FX simulating a DX?
Does the app UNDERSTAND this informations? HOW do the apps interprete a FX simulating a DX?

Klaus

In my experiences there are two kind of EXIFs: 1) from the camera-body, 2) from the lens.
Now the camerabody is a FX by the EXIFs, the lens is a DX by the EXIFs.

I don´t know how Nikon "translate" the FX to DX via the EXIFs to an application.

Here's an EXIF from one of the images form the sameple image set. Do you see any problems here?



_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:45 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
mediavets wrote:
Do you see any problems here?

No - but maybe Photomatix or APG do. I´m not a specialist regarding EXIFs and how they´re interpreted in different applications. Are you?

I for example know applications which don´t even read particular values in XMLs . . :cool:

The point is: there definitely IS a reason for the issue. And: me, myselfs and i suspect the issue is in some setting.

Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:45 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4683
Location: Australia
SUCCESS AT LAST...!!!! and I know exactly what was wrong..

The rusty old tin can is shining bright..!!

Destiny....







_________________
Primary School Teacher - Hobby Virtual Tours and 3D/360 Object/Product Photographer - Our aim is to create a 3D/360 Virtual Tour Shop/Store with links to 3D/360 degree products. My gear, VR Drive II - D90 - Nikon 10.5 fisheye - Nikon D800 with Nikon-Nikkor 14-24 - NOVOFLEX Magic Balance - Acratech GP Ball-head - Nodal Ninja 4 + RD-16 Rotor - Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 Carbon Fiber Tripod :) :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 8:21 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4683
Location: Australia
My new images are available in my DropBox.. All I did was load them into APG, detect and render... Thats it.. ;).. In Photoshop, I used Sharpen once.. NOT sharpen edges.. You might find the image a little too vivid but I like it.. Feel free to edit it as you want.. but. most important this is an opportunity to test the stitching quality using APG 3 and 2.6 on YOUR computer...

Thank you..

Destiny...

_________________
Primary School Teacher - Hobby Virtual Tours and 3D/360 Object/Product Photographer - Our aim is to create a 3D/360 Virtual Tour Shop/Store with links to 3D/360 degree products. My gear, VR Drive II - D90 - Nikon 10.5 fisheye - Nikon D800 with Nikon-Nikkor 14-24 - NOVOFLEX Magic Balance - Acratech GP Ball-head - Nodal Ninja 4 + RD-16 Rotor - Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 Carbon Fiber Tripod :) :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 357 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 11, 12, 13, 14, 15

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group