Page 1 of 1

NEWBIE: Sizes and settings for PT virtual tours

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:14 pm
by Gbzh
Hello all,
A newbie question concerning PT.:(
I am an estate agent in France, and have just purchased APP and PT with a view to doing VR tours/360° panos for the promotion of my properties. I am doing this for my own business, thus trying to keep costs within reason!
I use a Sony A35, which admittedly I bought because of its panoramic shot option, which works fine on their Bridge cameras, but is more hassle than it is worth on the reflex version, thus APP and PT. I have combined this with a Samyung 8mm Fisheye.
I have been taking my input photos at 16M px Jpegs. 3-4 + N & Z per shot
The problem I am having is the size of the final visit. I don’t want to overkill the visit, so am keeping to 2-4 panos per property/visit.
My initial visits came out at 75MB (Mo in French) !!!
I have learnt to play around with the zoom limit (would be nice to set the default on this!!!), cutting size, jpeg quality and even resizing the initial input jpegs on the computer first. I have got them down to 10-17 MB on average now. Problem is that, the server space will fill extremely quickly even at that size.
I am not an artist looking to do HD tours where you can zoom in on a flea armpit from the top of the Eiffel Tower, but “low resolution” (quality vs load time), 3 pano virtual tours.
Thus:
• What sort of size should I expect to be producing final tours at? :/
• What are the best settings for this? :/
• Would taking the initial shots at a lower resolution decrease greatly the size of the final folder?:rolleyes:
• What size server space do most of you run/hire/rent? :|:(

Thanks for the help….

Dan

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:36 pm
by mediavets
Gbzh wrote:I have been taking my input photos at 16M px Jpegs. 3-4 + N & Z per shot
Dan

Welcome to the forum...

What are the pixel dimensions of the stitched pano images?

What pano head are you using?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:48 pm
by HansKeesom
Gbzh wrote:Hello all,
A newbie question concerning PT.:(
I am an estate agent in France, and have just purchased APP and PT with a view to doing VR tours/360° panos for the promotion of my properties. I am doing this for my own business, thus trying to keep costs within reason!
I use a Sony A35, which admittedly I bought because of its panoramic shot option, which works fine on their Bridge cameras, but is more hassle than it is worth on the reflex version, thus APP and PT. I have combined this with a Samyung 8mm Fisheye.
I have been taking my input photos at 16M px Jpegs. 3-4 + N & Z per shot
The problem I am having is the size of the final visit. I don’t want to overkill the visit, so am keeping to 2-4 panos per property/visit.
My initial visits came out at 75MB (Mo in French) !!!
I have learnt to play around with the zoom limit (would be nice to set the default on this!!!), cutting size, jpeg quality and even resizing the initial input jpegs on the computer first. I have got them down to 10-17 MB on average now. Problem is that, the server space will fill extremely quickly even at that size.
I am not an artist looking to do HD tours where you can zoom in on a flea armpit from the top of the Eiffel Tower, but “low resolution” (quality vs load time), 3 pano virtual tours.
Thus:
• What sort of size should I expect to be producing final tours at? :/
• What are the best settings for this? :/
• Would taking the initial shots at a lower resolution decrease greatly the size of the final folder?:rolleyes:
• What size server space do most of you run/hire/rent? :|:(

Thanks for the help….

Dan

I normally have 15-20 mb for each panorama in a tour.

Resolution : whatever APG gives you at 100 %. 10000* 5000 is good enough to get an impression of real-estate, so lower the % at rendering if you get much more.
jpg-quality : start with 10, if filesize too big make it lower
lower-initial-resolution indeed lowers final resolution
Server size : we have an account with a not to expensive provider and they give us an extra GB each year. Somehow that turns out to be enough to host what we add each year

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:31 pm
by Gbzh
Hi Mediavets and Hans...that was quick!
The initial shots are going in at 4912x3264 px. Final panos seem to be 11702x5851 px.

Panohead, erh, umm...I am not at the moment, just a homemade bracket, more of a slider so to speak, just to get the nodal point back, but keeps the camera in the portrait position. As I said, early days, am trying to decide between the NN3 and the panosauraus.

Hans, you mentionned the resolution in APG, I only have APP, but I imagine you are refering to Group settings/Render/Size ?
So far all my adjustmentshave been on PT, I haven't yet tried on APP... how low can you take the size on the render setting? Or is this purely a direct calculation of the original pixel size? thus the 10000x5000 would be roughly 85%?
Thanks again.

Dan

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:44 pm
by HansKeesom
Gbzh wrote:Hi Mediavets and Hans...that was quick!
The initial shots are going in at 4912x3264 px. Final panos seem to be 11702x5851 px.

Panohead, erh, umm...I am not at the moment, just a homemade bracket, more of a slider so to speak, just to get the nodal point back, but keeps the camera in the portrait position. As I said, early days, am trying to decide between the NN3 and the panosauraus.

Hans, you mentionned the resolution in APG, I only have APP, but I imagine you are refering to Group settings/Render/Size ?
So far all my adjustmentshave been on PT, I haven't yet tried on APP... how low can you take the size on the render setting? Or is this purely a direct calculation of the original pixel size? thus the 10000x5000 would be roughly 85%?
Thanks again.

Dan

Hi Dan,

NN3 or NN4 with RD16 is great set. Nodal Ninja Nadir Adapter is great and cheap extra.

Precision make processing easier. Depending on your camera you might be able to do bracketing which helps a lot.

APP is good also, don't worry.

Resolution is rather directly related with original size, corrected for overlap and projection.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:04 pm
by Octavias
Welcome to the forum!

I would suggest using the "reduce distortion" fiction inside PTP. That should reduce the Cube Size

and for the "Max Zoom" I usually set from 150% - 200% depending on the size of the file.

Hope this helps!

-Max