Little Planet Introduction Not Available - Grayed Out  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Panotour problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
dptrit
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 8
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:26 pm
Info

Little Planet Introduction Not Available - Grayed Out

by dptrit » Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:39 pm

Hello,
I can not get the Little Planet Introduction to be enabled on any tours. The selection box is grayed out.
http://creativitydrivephotography.com/little-planets/content/Screen-shot-2012-10-07-at-11.15_large.html

Image
I am sure it is something that I have not done correctly :/

Ideally I would use a little planet like these to start the tour, one for the first floor,
http://creativitydrivephotography.com/little-planets/content/littleplanet_Group_1_-BeaconPano-1414_BeaconPano-1425-12_images_large.html

Image

the other for the start of the 2nd floor
http://creativitydrivephotography.com/little-planets/content/little_planet_Group_15_-2nd_floor_2-1591_2nd_floor_2-1602-12_images_large.html

Image.

I understand that it may need to be two separate tours. There does not seem to be much in the way of documentation short of "check the little planet introduction button"

These are first attempts at a planet, 2nd day with PTP and APG, so they are not where I want them to be, but before putting a lot of time into a planet, I want to make sure I can use them in a tour correctly.

Thank you in advance!

Regards,
David
Last edited by dptrit on Sun Oct 07, 2012 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8828
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 63 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Sun Oct 07, 2012 6:34 pm

dptrit wrote:Hello,
I can not get the Little Planet Introduction to be enabled on any tours. The selection box is grayed out.
http://creativitydrivephotography.com/little-planets/content/Screen-shot-2012-10-07-at-11.15_large.html

http://creativitydrivephotography.com/little-planets/content/images/large/Screen-shot-2012-10-07-at-11.15.jpg
I am sure it is something that I have not done correctly :/

Ideally I would use a little planet like these to start the tour, one for the first floor,
http://creativitydrivephotography.com/little-planets/content/littleplanet_Group_1_-BeaconPano-1414_BeaconPano-1425-12_images_large.html

http://creativitydrivephotography.com/little-planets/content/images/large/littleplanet_Group_1_-BeaconPano-1414_BeaconPano-1425-12_images.jpg

the other for the start of the 2nd floor
http://creativitydrivephotography.com/little-planets/content/little_planet_Group_15_-2nd_floor_2-1591_2nd_floor_2-1602-12_images_large.html

http://creativitydrivephotography.com/little-planets/content/images/large/little_planet_Group_15_-2nd_floor_2-1591_2nd_floor_2-1602-12_images.jpg.

I understand that it may need to be two separate tours. There does not seem to be much in the way of documentation short of "check the little planet introduction button"

These are first attempts at a planet, 2nd day with PTP and APG, so they are not where I want them to be, but before putting a lot of time into a planet, I want to make sure I can use them in a tour correctly.

Thank you in advance!

Regards,
David

Hi David!

Can you tell a bit more about your pano?

For example: do you have a *full sphere* (exactly 360x180°)?

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
dptrit
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 8
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:26 pm
Info

by dptrit » Mon Oct 08, 2012 2:29 am

Klause,
Thank you for responding. In APG it actually shows 360.00 x 174.25. It was taken with a 8MM Sigma f3.5, on a Nikon D7000, 3 bracketed shots at each compass point for total of 4 HDR images to complete the Pano. Using a Atome Percision 360 Pano Head. It has 7.5° tilt "for zero zenith on the Sigma 8mm Atome."

It is the same set up on each of my panos, so if it is an issue of needing to be 180 degrees I will need to increase the 174.25. It will just be dead space, so I would put it on the inside of the planet right?

I do pick up my tripod feet - on an unrelated question. Do you all photoshop out the tripod feet on the completed rendered pano, prior to putting in a tour? I have not seen any Tripod feet on the tours I look at hear. I normally am pretty detailed and would like to not have the there, but if you had a 30 pano tour ,that is a lot of extra photoshop work.

THank you!

Regards,
David

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8828
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 63 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:41 am

dptrit wrote:Klause,
Thank you for responding. In APG it actually shows 360.00 x 174.25. It was taken with a 8MM Sigma f3.5, on a Nikon D7000, 3 bracketed shots at each compass point for total of 4 HDR images to complete the Pano. Using a Atome Percision 360 Pano Head. It has 7.5° tilt "for zero zenith on the Sigma 8mm Atome."

It is the same set up on each of my panos, so if it is an issue of needing to be 180 degrees I will need to increase the 174.25. It will just be dead space, so I would put it on the inside of the planet right?

I do pick up my tripod feet - on an unrelated question. Do you all photoshop out the tripod feet on the completed rendered pano, prior to putting in a tour? I have not seen any Tripod feet on the tours I look at hear. I normally am pretty detailed and would like to not have the there, but if you had a 30 pano tour ,that is a lot of extra photoshop work.

THank you!

Regards,
David

Hi David!

Little Planets only work with full 360x180° spheres. I either retouch the Nadir or shoot one additionally: http://www.360impressions.de/WandelHalle

best, Klaus
Last edited by klausesser on Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
dptrit
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 8
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 10:26 pm
Info

by dptrit » Mon Oct 08, 2012 3:20 pm

Klaus,
That was it, thank you very much for your help.

no avatar
stillstonevisions
Member
 
Posts: 533
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:27 pm
Info

by stillstonevisions » Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:43 pm

I just purchased Panotour Pro.

I'm trying to use the "Little Planet" feature...unsuccessfully. The checkbox is greyed out. I’m trying to do it with panos created with AutoPano from a Canon 60D and my Sigma 8mm fisheye. The software doesn’t give me any clues why the feature is inactive. The answer in this thread might apply, but I don't know how to know whether my panos are less than 360x180 sphere, so that's one question. And if it is less than that, how can I correct for that?

Thanks
Paul

User avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7733
Likes: 3 posts
Liked in: 215 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Location: Australia
Info

by Destiny » Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:47 pm

Hi Paul..

A 360 X 180 no matter the size of your pano image should have a ratio size of 2:1... If its not then you cannot create a Little Planet.

Destiny..
Primary School Teacher - Hobby Virtual Tours and 3D/360 Object/Product Photographer - Our aim is to create a 3D/360 Virtual Tour Shop/Store with links to 3D/360 degree products. My gear, VR Drive II - D90 - Nikon 10.5 fisheye - Nikon D800 with Nikon-Nikkor 14-24 - NOVOFLEX Magic Balance - Acratech GP Ball-head - Nodal Ninja 4 + RD-16 Rotor - Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 Carbon Fiber Tripod :) :)

no avatar
stillstonevisions
Member
 
Posts: 533
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:27 pm
Info

by stillstonevisions » Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:50 pm

Destiny,

What ratio? The pixels of my 1st pano in the tour is 10983 x 4992.

User avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7733
Likes: 3 posts
Liked in: 215 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Location: Australia
Info

by Destiny » Mon Apr 01, 2013 12:03 am

Hi...

Your ratio is out.. If you divide 10983 by 2, this will give you the true 180 size you need which would be 5491.5. You really need to work on even numbers anyway.. Not sure that apg would support factions of sizes.. How did you capture your pano...??

As a test demo, if you have Photoshop, create a new page 10984X5492.. Drop your image into it and drag it out the extra pixel.. Place your image at the top of the page and fill in the bottom blank space with a colour..

Save your image which is now 2:1 and then import it into apg.. You will now see that the Little Planet works..

Destiny..
Primary School Teacher - Hobby Virtual Tours and 3D/360 Object/Product Photographer - Our aim is to create a 3D/360 Virtual Tour Shop/Store with links to 3D/360 degree products. My gear, VR Drive II - D90 - Nikon 10.5 fisheye - Nikon D800 with Nikon-Nikkor 14-24 - NOVOFLEX Magic Balance - Acratech GP Ball-head - Nodal Ninja 4 + RD-16 Rotor - Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 Carbon Fiber Tripod :) :)

no avatar
stillstonevisions
Member
 
Posts: 533
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:27 pm
Info

by stillstonevisions » Mon Apr 01, 2013 5:16 am

Yes, Destiny. I recreated the panos with different software. This time they came out with exactly 2:1 proportion and the "little Planet" worked in PTP. Thanks for the help.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16413
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Mon Apr 01, 2013 10:01 am

stillstonevisions wrote:Yes, Destiny. I recreated the panos with different software. This time they came out with exactly 2:1 proportion and the "little Planet" worked in PTP. Thanks for the help.

If in APP/APG you change the Panorama/Projection and Crop default setting to Maximum projection range from Clamp to content then your pano will have a panoFOV of 360x180 and an aspect ration of 2:1 - screenshot 1.

You can also force the panoFOV to 360x180 using the Crop tool in the Panorama Editor - screenshot 2.




Last edited by mediavets on Mon Apr 01, 2013 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
yvan@xoprivate.com
New member
 
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:15 pm
Info

by yvan@xoprivate.com » Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:32 pm

Hello,

I am having the same problem as other people:
Project properties - Behaviour - Little planet introduction is grayed out.

My panorama is a spherical 360° type, size 24579 x 8504 px. To be able to utilize Little planet, I first resized the panorama to 24578 x 8504 px, then changed the canvas to 24578 x 12289 px (I added the space above the original image, filled with blue so it looks like more of the sky).

When I import this image to create a panorama, Little planet introduction is still grayed out (no change).

It is the only panorama in my project, I didn't change anything else after a fresh re-install of Panotour pro.

Can you help please?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16413
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:47 pm

yvan@xoprivate.com wrote:Hello,

I am having the same problem as other people:
Project properties - Behaviour - Little planet introduction is grayed out.

My panorama is a spherical 360° type, size 24579 x 8504 px. To be able to utilize Little planet, I first resized the panorama to 24578 x 8504 px, then changed the canvas to 24578 x 12289 px (I added the space above the original image, filled with blue so it looks like more of the sky).

When I import this image to create a panorama, Little planet introduction is still grayed out (no change).

It is the only panorama in my project, I didn't change anything else after a fresh re-install of Panotour pro.

Can you help please?

Welcome to the forum...

1.You could recreate the pano and force the pano FOV to 360x180.

2. You should check whether the Kolor EXIF tag remains in your 'expanded' pano image - if it does PTP will read the pixel dimensions there and they will be different.
Last edited by mediavets on Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
yvan@xoprivate.com
New member
 
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:15 pm
Info

by yvan@xoprivate.com » Wed Jun 19, 2013 6:00 pm

Unfortunately, I do not have access to the source files, only to the resulting panorama (we have purchased panoramas taken from a heli as a service).

I recreated the image (new image, paste the content), I have also checked the EXIF information, it is empty and the size is reported correctly. Still no luck :(

no avatar
yvan@xoprivate.com
New member
 
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:15 pm
Info

by yvan@xoprivate.com » Wed Jun 19, 2013 6:12 pm

I have to correct myself. If I shut down the program, then restart it, load the JPG, the behaviour is different:
* There is a yellow exclamation mark on the image, stating it has no default view available.
* I tried to set some values in the view, but the exclamation mark didn't dissapear.
* The Little planet introduction is possible to select now.

So problem is kind of solved, but I see that there is a problem with the panorama image from our supplier. It does not move naturally, I see why I cannot simply add more sky, it behaves oddly when moving around.

I will try to get proper 360 x 180 panoramas from the supplier.

Thanks for your help.
Last edited by yvan@xoprivate.com on Wed Jun 19, 2013 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16413
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Jun 19, 2013 6:25 pm

yvan@xoprivate.com wrote:I have to correct myself. If I shut down the program, then restart it, load the JPG, the behaviour is different:
* There is a yellow exclamation mark on the image, stating it has no default view available.

That means the KOLOR EXIF tag is missing.

* I tried to set some values in the view, but the exclamation mark didn't dissapear.

It won't disappear if the Kolor tag is missing - but it's just an alert/warning for you to check, and if necessary correct, the pano FOV values.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
patrick moers
Member
 
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:16 pm
Info

by patrick moers » Thu Jun 20, 2013 5:43 pm

* There is a yellow exclamation mark on the image, stating it has no default view available

If you have the yellow mark, go to panorama properties, projection, change the values to 360 and 180, then click on the thumbnail of the pano, the yellow mark will disappear.
Sometimes the values appear to be good, but the yellow mark stays: change the value 180 to 179, then back to 180, it will work. This happens when the pano is build with the ratio 2:1 whith Photoshop.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest