Loading time problem !  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Panotour problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

Loading time problem !

by vincen » Sat Jan 29, 2011 4:56 pm

Hey guys,

I look for advices how to optimise my virtual tour made with PTP last RC to avoid long delay at little planet startup and same for loading time of each panel ! Virtual tour is there: http://visites.skivr.com/visites/7_Laux/2010-2011/index.html
I changed time for little planet in PTP but no success ! I tried also tiles size of 512 and 1024 without real differences !
Hosting is done in france on a very efficient server well connected to internet so problem is not there !

Thanks for advices,

Vincèn
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:00 pm

Do you embed all data?

How many panos are there in the tour and is there also other media (audio and/or video)?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:38 pm

mediavets wrote:Do you embed all data?

Sorry I didn't mention it but for sure I don't embed anything ! Happily considering whole size of virtual tour :D

mediavets wrote:How many panos are there in the tour and is there also other media (audio and/or video)?

12 panos and nothing else embedded ! webcam are just jpeg files refreshed on server itself through cron job (so no impact on tour itself !).

Vincèn
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Sat Jan 29, 2011 8:43 pm

is qualitiy level set at 12? 10 is faster on loading...
(Panorama Properites -> Pictures -> Jpeg Quality

Georg

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:34 am

gkaefer wrote:is qualitiy level set at 12? 10 is faster on loading...
(Panorama Properites -> Pictures -> Jpeg Quality

Thanks for idea but I don't want to kill quality of my panos by changing jpg compression setup !

I'm sure there is something badly configured somewhere as same panos just passed in KRPano tools load in correct time so there is something wrong in PTP but I don't find what :(

Vincèn
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

no avatar
rbackhaus
Member
 
Posts: 58
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:35 am
Location: connecticut usa
Info

by rbackhaus » Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:14 am

Vin,
I agree something is configured wrong,..I avoid little planet just because they are slow,....but cool. Still, I couldn't even get the first pano to load,... 12 to 10 does not make a big difference,..even down to 8 is ok sometimes,..are you cutting,.. are they high res images,..are you front loading a ton of large plugins???
Rob

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:49 am

rbackhaus wrote:are you cutting,.. are they high res images,..are you front loading a ton of large plugins???

I use tiles, I tried size 512 and 1024 but none real differences ! for plugins nothing important ! my panoramas are pretty large 20 000 pixels side but it should not be so long as with krpano tools pano loads much faster !

Vincèn
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

no avatar
rbackhaus
Member
 
Posts: 58
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 3:35 am
Location: connecticut usa
Info

by rbackhaus » Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:43 pm

I would have to see your code to help any futher,...try cutting size 1200,...also my high res panos are around 640 x 640 tile size

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:57 am

rbackhaus wrote:I would have to see your code to help any futher,...try cutting size 1200,...also my high res panos are around 640 x 640 tile size

Hi,

I can send you the code but it has nothing special ! It's just regular code generated by PTP ! I tried already cutting size for tiles at 1200 but none real difference !

Vincèn
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

no avatar
micha22
Member
 
Posts: 38
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 10:00 pm
Location: Rielasingen/ Germany
Info

by micha22 » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:28 am

Hi Vincen,

a virtual tour with 64 megabite size, withg gallery, thumbnails, pictures, map.
http://schellinger-fotografie.de/tour-festungsruine-hohentwiel.html?ifrm_2=http://schellinger-fotografie.de/HohentwieliPhone/Hontes.html
Size of each panorama 1200, cutting size 512, jepg-quality 10, nothing embedded.
All files load up in a folder on my server.
Does the tour load faster than yours?

Best michael
Last edited by micha22 on Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:35 am

micha22 wrote:http://schellinger-fotografie.de/tour-festungsruine-hohentwiel.html?ifrm_2=http://schellinger-fotografie.de/HohentwieliPhone/Hontes.html
Size of each panorama 1200, cutting size 512, jepg-quality 10, nothing embedded.

Thanks Michael for link, it looks to load a little faster than mine. On mine I removed little planet intro and it looks to start at least faster ! what is original size of each of your pano ?

Vincèn
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

no avatar
micha22
Member
 
Posts: 38
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 10:00 pm
Location: Rielasingen/ Germany
Info

by micha22 » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:37 am

Hi,
the original size of each pano is 12000 x 6000

Best micha

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:43 am

micha22 wrote:the original size of each pano is 12000 x 6000

oky :) mine are between 15000 and 30000 on larger side so perhaps explain difference of loading time, unless tiles should do no difference !

Vincèn
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

no avatar
micha22
Member
 
Posts: 38
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 10:00 pm
Location: Rielasingen/ Germany
Info

by micha22 » Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:52 am

Hi,
does the panoramasize really matter?
I´ve thought panotour render down the panorama to the selectet size, no matter how big the original is:|

I have tested it with my panos, downsampling to half the size, make 1200 panoramasize and 512 cutting size
and see no difference in the size of the file.
Perhaps my panos are to small to have big difference.

Best micha

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:17 am

vincen wrote:
micha22 wrote:http://schellinger-fotografie.de/tour-festungsruine-hohentwiel.html?ifrm_2=http://schellinger-fotografie.de/HohentwieliPhone/Hontes.html
Size of each panorama 1200, cutting size 512, jepg-quality 10, nothing embedded.

Thanks Michael for link, it looks to load a little faster than mine. On mine I removed little planet intro and it looks to start at least faster ! what is original size of each of your pano ?

Vincèn

PS: for me it take no longer than 2 seconds until all is loaded for each of the panos...
8mbit sync dsl line...

Georg

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:27 pm

so I updated the whole virtual tour and used for each pano size tile given by KRPano tools so it should be best settings ! http://visites.skivr.com/visites/7_Laux/2010-2011/index.html
How fast does it load ?

Thanks,

Vincèn
Last edited by vincen on Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:46 pm

vincen wrote:so I updated the whole virtual tour and used for each pano size tile given by KRPano tools so it should be best settings ! http://visites.skivr.com/visites/7_Laux/2010-2011/index.html
How fast does it load ?

Thanks,

Vincèn

It's slooooow and I get an error messgae:


Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:06 pm

You can easily find the issue with a virtual visit by using Chrome and developper tools.
So, a giant logo and a map in PNG.

For natural images ( not synthetic, PNG is often far more big than the same image in jpeg ).





User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:08 pm

mediavets wrote:It's slooooow and I get an error messgae:

Error is due to cache of your browser, please empty it and it should be ok as little planet has been removed already and google analytics plugin is correctly setup so it should not generate errors !

Thanks

Vincèn
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:09 pm

AlexandreJ wrote:For natural images ( not synthetic, PNG is often far more big than the same image in jpeg ).

PTP is not supposed to optimise such files so it loads fast ? or am I supposed to do that myself ? It looks like it's last solution :(

Vincèn
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:13 pm

Update: for logo my fault, original file is very large resolution :S so I'm changing it right now so for that it should be ok ! For map fault looks to be on PTP side, I used a PSD file in PTP as I needed transparency and it converted it to a big PNG :( so I have to try to find a better way to do that so probably convert it myself in PNG to get smaller file !
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:18 pm

That's a really good question Vincen : should Panotour optimize your images or not ?
I'm sure there are many people that want that and some that definitively don't want it ( imagine we optimize a panorama and then deteriorate the huge job you did on it to be able to get it really nice and crispy ... ). Moreover, this should be done per image ( not for a projet but perhaps only on some image of a project ).

My short term answer is 'do it yourself'. My long term answer could be Panotour could cope of that or at least warn you that one ressource is bandwidth eater :)

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:16 pm

Should load faster now ? right ?

Thanks all for your help,

Vincèn
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:14 pm

vincen wrote:Should load faster now ? right ?

Vincèn

Yes.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
vincen
Kolor Certified Trainer
 
Topic author
Posts: 963
Likes: 23 posts
Liked in: 4 posts
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by vincen » Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:42 pm

mediavets wrote:
vincen wrote:Should load faster now ? right ?
Vincèn

Yes.

Thanks for test :)

Vincèn
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests