Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:49 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:06 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 131
Error in file naming !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:44 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3323
Location: Salzburg
sorry. dont unterstand the error you're rporting.

the download links for windows here are working and filename/direcotry shown on link and on server are also indentical...

http://www.autopano.net/forum/t10966-autopano-engine-v2.5-rc2-changelog

Georg

_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:23 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
That's not a file in fact. It's a link to a meta url that will handle the conversion to .exe real file name.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 2:07 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 131
When I click on

"Windows 32 bits : [url=http://download.kolor.com/apg/beta/win32/2.5.0.302\]http://download.kolor.com/apg/beta/win32/2.5.0.302\"[/url]

from

http://www.autopano.net/forum/t10966-autopano-engine-v2.5-rc2-changelog

the downloaded file is named "2.5.0.302" .
I have to rename it something like "2.5.0.302.exe" to be able to
double click on it to install APG.(Then everything is OK)

Usually I got something like
"Windows 32 bits : [url=http://download.kolor.com/apg/beta/win32/APGxxx.exe\]http://download.kolor.com/apg/beta/win32/APGxxx.exe\"[/url]
or
"Windows 32 bits : [url=http://download.kolor.com/apg/beta/win32/APGxxx.rar\]http://download.kolor.com/apg/beta/win32/APGxxx.rar\"[/url]

...
Hope it helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 2:13 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 8:16 am
Posts: 1228
Location: Bulgaria
That seems like a browser problem! Look for filetype/mime settings - I've seen misconfigured browsers downloading PDF files without extensions!

_________________
Some of my panoramas, posted in the Autopano Pro flickr group.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:53 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 131
Same in Firefox 3.6.13 as in IE 8 ...
Is it only me ? do others have downloaded an "exe" file ( a file with .exe in the filename) ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:12 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3323
Location: Salzburg
never saw this. Except if there is no accociated program for this specifc file ending...

that .exe is in filename is in about 50% of all software you can download on internet other 50% maybe .zip...
so this is standard and should work also on your PC...

if I klick on the download link from the changelog forum entry I get following screen showing me the exe file offered to download...

PS: you write

Quote:
When I click on

"Windows 32 bits : http://download.kolor.com/apg/beta/win3 … .302"

from

http://www.autopano.net/forum/t10966-au … -changelog

sorry but your link youre referring to does not work for me, your

"http://download.kolor.com/apg/beta/win32/2.5.0.302%22"
should be:
"http://download.kolor.com/apg/beta/win32/2.5.0.302"

copy&paste this above link without the " on start and end to your browser and press enter finally. Does this work?

and depending on browser you're using and the settings etc a ending slash could be needed:
"http://download.kolor.com/apg/beta/win32/2.5.0.302/"
IE8: here the redirect on server side on IE8 does not work with this ending "/", so if your browser does add the ending / automatically this could be causing this...


Georg



_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Last edited by gkaefer on Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:16 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
That's interesting. It is a local problem, but may comes from the way we sent these datas.
So what's your configuration ? Browser, OS, firewall, proxy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 5:32 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 131
XP 32
Seems there's a difference in this case between :

click (which triggers DAP in my case) <- this works OK and points to "AutopanoGiga_win32_250RC2_2011-01-14.exe"
and
right click + save link as <- downloads "2.5.0.302" , file identical to "AutopanoGiga_win32_250RC2_2011-01-14.exe"

Sorry to have brought useless attention on this,
but that's the first time I get this kind of behavior.
(I pathologicaly avoid clicking on a file with exe extension ;-) )

Good job Kolor anyway !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 7:22 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3323
Location: Salzburg
Quote:
(I pathologicaly avoid clicking on a file with exe extension ;-) )

this statement I can subscribe too ;-))
but on my XP netbook (32 bit too) I dont have to click on an exe file like you're saying. On my XP its the same as under my win7 64 bit OS Internet Explorer:

klicking on link http://download.kolor.com/app/beta/win32/2.5.0.302 http://download.kolor.com/app/beta/win32/2.5.0.302 I dont klick on an exe file but on a link with an folder... and I assume there is on webserverside some sot of redirect to the exe file.... so theres no nead to fear for unknwon exe files... it pop ups a window where you've the choice to say execute the file or save as...

and right klick & destination save as link gives me the absolute same on my win XP with name "AutopanoPro_win32_250RC2_2011-01-14" and filetype "Anwendung" in english I think "executable" or "program"...

so if your PC does not show this behaviour than something really unusual is going on your PC...

PS: "which triggers DAP in my case" ??? what is DAP ???

Georg

_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Last edited by gkaefer on Mon Jan 17, 2011 7:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:03 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 131
DAP : Download Accelerator Plus


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group