[APG 2.5RC linux 64bit] Editor is slow  

Archive of all bug reports. This forum is closed - you cannot create new topics or comments here! If you think a specific topic was moved here by mistake, please contact the moderators!
User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

[APG 2.5RC linux 64bit] Editor is slow

by fma38 » Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:20 pm

I just made a quick test, and I have that old bug back: the editor is very slow! All tools are slow (moving image/pano, with or without GPU, vertical tool, ...).

Bouhouhou :(

I switched back to 2.09, to check, and it works fine. So, this is a problem in the 2.5 release. Probably the same as before, so you should not have too much problem to fix it. I hope...
Last edited by fma38 on Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5918
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:31 pm

Some quick questions :
- do you use proprietary drivers ?
- do you have LibXRender and LibFontConfig installed on your linux ?
( BTW : which distrib ? )

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:46 pm

- nvidia-glx 195.36.31-6 (proprietary)
- libxrender1 1:0.9.6-1
- libfonctconfig1 2.8.0-2.1

on debian sid.

As said, the editor is fast on 2.09...
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5918
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:57 pm

And other v2.5 version ( not RC ) ?

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Wed Dec 15, 2010 2:08 pm

I didn't test, as it was not packaged for 64bits (it was APP, instead)...
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Wed Dec 15, 2010 2:15 pm

Je viens de tester avec la b2 (qui est donc APP et non APG, sans license) : l'éditeur est très fuilde, mais tout le GUI freeze au bout de quelques secondes (indépendamment de l'utilisation de l'éditeur).
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5918
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:33 pm

Issue 477 opened

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:45 pm

Alexandre, ça ressemble vraiment aux problèmes que j'avais déjà  eu avec une version antérieure ; mais je ne sais pas ce qui avait débloqué la situation, à  l'époque...
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5918
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:57 am

Est-ce que tu essayer de jouer avec les versions que qt qui sont installé avec le soft.
Genre les virer pour que le link se fasse sur ceux système et non ceux fournis.

Nous, on va essayer sous virtualbox de tester ta distrib pour voir cela depuis un autre angle.

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:42 am

Bonne idée, je teste ça ce soir.
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:37 pm

Bon, en lui faisant utiliser les lib Qt du système, ça ne change rien au problème (mais ça en ajoute d'autres, car la libpng ne correspond pas)...
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:15 am

The freeze also occurs with AutopanoGiga... No errors on the console.
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:16 am

Back to 2.0.9, as it freezes too often.
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm

by bradtem » Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:21 pm

I am still experiencing -- though lessened the bug where drawing rectangles in the control point editor is slow on linux (64 bit maverick kubuntu)

In the past, it would be very slow to draw if zoomed, and draw instantly when at 100%. Now it's faster (but far from instant, still about a second delay even on very fast machine) when zoomed, but no longer instant at 100%, though it seems a bit faster at 100%. For some reason the zoom controls no longer have choices like "fit window" or "100%" in them and on keyboard shortcuts. (In general some nicer zoom tools would be handy both here and in the main viewer) Zooming with the mouse wheel might also make sense though probably the mouse wheel should scroll the view as many would expect it to. (Though for panos there is an argument it should scroll in the long direction, usually horizontal)

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14290
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Sun Dec 19, 2010 9:13 pm

bradtem wrote:(In general some nicer zoom tools would be handy both here and in the main viewer) Zooming with the mouse wheel might also make sense though probably the mouse wheel should scroll the view as many would expect it to. (Though for panos there is an argument it should scroll in the long direction, usually horizontal)

With Windows XP/32 you can zoom by holding down Alt and scrolling the mouse wheel, and pan by holding down the Space bar and dragging.

Does this not also work on LINUX?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Sun Dec 19, 2010 9:21 pm

Yes, ti works, but I agree that the fit window was very usefull...
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14290
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Sun Dec 19, 2010 10:27 pm

fma38 wrote:Yes, ti works, but I agree that the fit window was very usefull...

On Linux do you have the keyboard shortcuts Ctrl+1 for 100% and Ctrl+0 for 'fit to window'?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm

by bradtem » Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:56 am

The shortcuts are still there, but they are no longer displayed in the menu (along with other choices) when you click in the zoom box.

Oddly, alt-mousewheel does zoom, but ctrl and shift mousewheel appear to do nothing, and mousewheel on its own also does nothing.

Mousewheel on its own should be scroll up-down or zoom, and shift/alt/ctrl can offer other things including horizontal scroll and the other function.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5918
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:52 pm

This was more a design choice : we matched what photoshop does in drop'down menu navigation as well as mouse wheel :
- alt + mouse wheel => zoom in / out
- ctrl+0 : fit
- ctrl+1 : 100%
- ctrl+2 : fit projection zone ( some times not the same as the panorama )

User avatar
ygilquin
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:00 am
Location: Francin

by ygilquin » Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:27 pm

fma38, have you enabled GPU mode in application settings ?
--
Yann G.
www.kolor.com

no avatar
GURL
Member
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: Grenoble

by GURL » Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:41 pm

AlexandreJ wrote:This was more a design choice : we matched what photoshop does in drop'down menu navigation as well as mouse wheel :
- alt + mouse wheel => zoom in / out

;) Photoshop menu Edit - Preference - General includes a "Zoom with scroll-wheel" option ...
:mad: ... but Photoshop ACR does not include the corresponding option!
As a result c'est la panique ! when several applications are used, for example ACR + XnView + Autopano + PS. This should be set at the OS level, so that applications are consistent (mais plus le temps passe plus ça empire du côté des normes?)

:rolleyes: My mouse includes many options like pushing the wheel to the left or the right for horizontal scrolling and this don't help...
Georges

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:07 pm

ygilquin wrote:fma38, have you enabled GPU mode in application settings ?

Yes, sure. The test works fine. But I don't have any speed difference in the GUI with/without GPU.

I will also test if the GPU makes any difference for the freeze issue...
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
ygilquin
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:00 am
Location: Francin

by ygilquin » Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:28 pm

fma38 wrote:Yes, sure. The test works fine. But I don't have any speed difference in the GUI with/without GPU..

This could mean GPU is not used. To be sure the setting is well commited: have you restarted Autopano once the setting is applied ? Can you post the GPU test log ?
--
Yann G.
www.kolor.com

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:01 pm

I restarted apg, yes. And the test works (I can see the image).

I will post the log...
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
ygilquin
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:00 am
Location: Francin

by ygilquin » Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:41 pm

Ok. Nevertheless this seems to be a problem of GPU not enabled. Does move tool allow you to move in both CPU and GPU mode ? (GPU icons available or not)
Log can give us information for that problem.


--
Yann G.
www.kolor.com

Next

Return to Archive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests