Page 1 of 1

APG 2.5 b2 - rendering bug

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:18 pm
by leifs
I have a set of 8 pictures taken with PEN2 camera and Panasonic 8mm fisheye : 6 pictures horisontal 1 up 1 down
In apg 2.0 everything is OK
In apg 2.5 there is a large knifelike artifact in the rendered picture. It is not in the CP-editor. It is independent of rendering method.
The phenomen is in all sets shot this way.

first pic : apg 2.0
second pic : apg 2.5 b2
third pic: CP editor apg 2.5 b2

all the pictures can be downloaded from www.lstrand.no/images/bug.zip

leif

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:56 am
by GURL
I downloaded the pictures, found that the TIFF nadir had no EXIF and that the crop circle was misplaced on every image ...but stitched image did not include any black area neither before nor after I corrected the crop circle. I suspect this could be related with the Remove ghosts option, but ?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:15 am
by mediavets
Leif,

Here's my attempt using APG 2.5 beta 2 on WinXP/32. Which OS are you using?

Like GURL I see no black lenticular artificact in the Panorama Editor nor in the rendered pano.

What render settings are you using?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 8:32 am
by leifs
Crop circle ? The 8mm on PEN fills the frame, so there is no need of cropping.
"Remove ghost" : I tried various options, including multiband. The result was the same.
I Use Win7 64 ultimate.

leifs

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:52 am
by AlexandreJ
No issue here.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:17 am
by GURL
leifs wrote:Crop circle ? The 8mm on PEN fills the frame, so there is no need of cropping.

When a fisheye is used the crop circle always exists.
In this case "crop" circles must go through the 4 corners of the rectangular images and should crop nothing.
In my first attempt yesterday they were wrong but in a new attempt today they were OK: :rolleyes: !
I always verify crop circles because on my computers and with my cameras they are sometimes wrong (new versions don't change that...)

The following screen capture show clearly that the black hole is related with image boundaries:

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:52 am
by leifs
The shape of the artifact is always vertical on the left side and circular on the right side. I will check later, but I believe it is always in the middle of the rendered picture.
As shown in the above CP-editor screenshot there is no gap in the shots.

leifs

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:55 am
by [bo]
Tested the images, rendered two different ways - no such problem here... I suppose it is a settings issue?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 12:23 pm
by leifs
I have tried several sets during the last week, most of them with default settings.
All of them have the artifact.

I have tried it on Win XP and 32bit apg and it is OK
maybe it is a Win 7 64bit apg problem ?

leif

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:28 pm
by gkaefer
funny things are going on here ;-)
I downloaded the set of images. (APG 2.5b2 on Win732bit using)

First I see that the nadir tif image is not automatically recognized as fisheye. after manually changing that detection worked. fisheye crop circle was perfect nothing to adjust...

second I disabled the image (1) (see screenshot 2) and this is looking similar to initial leifs posting... so I suspected perhaps the image was dsabled before rendering and in final pano blacked....
but I did render it the first time after disabling the image (1) and the resulting pano did contain also image 1 and the pano is complete... (screenshot 1)


Liebe Gruesse,
Georg

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:43 pm
by gkaefer
and I redoo my test with same result. disabled image is not displayed inside APG before klicking on render button but pano get rendered complete without missing image.

so this seems to be the opposite veriosn of leifs initial posting ;-)

Georg

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:06 pm
by leifs
I render and get the black gap
I move the centerpoint and render: it's OK
I move the centerpoint back to where it was: it's OK there too !

something funny is happening around the initial centerpoint !

leifs

PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:45 pm
by GURL
leifs wrote:maybe it is a Win 7 64bit apg problem ?

I used APG Win 7 64bit: no black hole...