APG 2.5 b2 - rendering bug  

Archive of all bug reports. This forum is closed - you cannot create new topics or comments here! If you think a specific topic was moved here by mistake, please contact the moderators!
no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway

APG 2.5 b2 - rendering bug

by leifs » Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:18 pm

I have a set of 8 pictures taken with PEN2 camera and Panasonic 8mm fisheye : 6 pictures horisontal 1 up 1 down
In apg 2.0 everything is OK
In apg 2.5 there is a large knifelike artifact in the rendered picture. It is not in the CP-editor. It is independent of rendering method.
The phenomen is in all sets shot this way.

first pic : apg 2.0
second pic : apg 2.5 b2
third pic: CP editor apg 2.5 b2

all the pictures can be downloaded from www.lstrand.no/images/bug.zip

leif






Last edited by leifs on Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs

no avatar
GURL
Member
 
Posts: 2946
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: Grenoble

by GURL » Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:56 am

I downloaded the pictures, found that the TIFF nadir had no EXIF and that the crop circle was misplaced on every image ...but stitched image did not include any black area neither before nor after I corrected the crop circle. I suspect this could be related with the Remove ghosts option, but ?
Georges

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14160
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:15 am

Leif,

Here's my attempt using APG 2.5 beta 2 on WinXP/32. Which OS are you using?

Like GURL I see no black lenticular artificact in the Panorama Editor nor in the rendered pano.

What render settings are you using?






Last edited by mediavets on Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway

by leifs » Fri Nov 26, 2010 8:32 am

Crop circle ? The 8mm on PEN fills the frame, so there is no need of cropping.
"Remove ghost" : I tried various options, including multiband. The result was the same.
I Use Win7 64 ultimate.

leifs
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:52 am

No issue here.



no avatar
GURL
Member
 
Posts: 2946
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: Grenoble

by GURL » Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:17 am

leifs wrote:Crop circle ? The 8mm on PEN fills the frame, so there is no need of cropping.

When a fisheye is used the crop circle always exists.
In this case "crop" circles must go through the 4 corners of the rectangular images and should crop nothing.
In my first attempt yesterday they were wrong but in a new attempt today they were OK: :rolleyes: !
I always verify crop circles because on my computers and with my cameras they are sometimes wrong (new versions don't change that...)

The following screen capture show clearly that the black hole is related with image boundaries:


Georges

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway

by leifs » Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:52 am

The shape of the artifact is always vertical on the left side and circular on the right side. I will check later, but I believe it is always in the middle of the rendered picture.
As shown in the above CP-editor screenshot there is no gap in the shots.

leifs
Last edited by leifs on Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs

User avatar
[bo]
Member
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 8:16 am
Location: Bulgaria

by [bo] » Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:55 am

Tested the images, rendered two different ways - no such problem here... I suppose it is a settings issue?
Some of my panoramas, posted in the Autopano Pro flickr group.

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway

by leifs » Fri Nov 26, 2010 12:23 pm

I have tried several sets during the last week, most of them with default settings.
All of them have the artifact.

I have tried it on Win XP and 32bit apg and it is OK
maybe it is a Win 7 64bit apg problem ?

leif
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3351
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:28 pm

funny things are going on here ;-)
I downloaded the set of images. (APG 2.5b2 on Win732bit using)

First I see that the nadir tif image is not automatically recognized as fisheye. after manually changing that detection worked. fisheye crop circle was perfect nothing to adjust...

second I disabled the image (1) (see screenshot 2) and this is looking similar to initial leifs posting... so I suspected perhaps the image was dsabled before rendering and in final pano blacked....
but I did render it the first time after disabling the image (1) and the resulting pano did contain also image 1 and the pano is complete... (screenshot 1)


Liebe Gruesse,
Georg




Last edited by gkaefer on Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3351
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:43 pm

and I redoo my test with same result. disabled image is not displayed inside APG before klicking on render button but pano get rendered complete without missing image.

so this seems to be the opposite veriosn of leifs initial posting ;-)

Georg


Last edited by gkaefer on Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway

by leifs » Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:06 pm

I render and get the black gap
I move the centerpoint and render: it's OK
I move the centerpoint back to where it was: it's OK there too !

something funny is happening around the initial centerpoint !

leifs
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs

no avatar
GURL
Member
 
Posts: 2946
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: Grenoble

by GURL » Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:45 pm

leifs wrote:maybe it is a Win 7 64bit apg problem ?

I used APG Win 7 64bit: no black hole...
Georges


Return to Archive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest