Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 1:47 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:18 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 607
Location: Ørsta Norway
I have a set of 8 pictures taken with PEN2 camera and Panasonic 8mm fisheye : 6 pictures horisontal 1 up 1 down
In apg 2.0 everything is OK
In apg 2.5 there is a large knifelike artifact in the rendered picture. It is not in the CP-editor. It is independent of rendering method.
The phenomen is in all sets shot this way.

first pic : apg 2.0
second pic : apg 2.5 b2
third pic: CP editor apg 2.5 b2

all the pictures can be downloaded from www.lstrand.no/images/bug.zip

leif







_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs


Last edited by leifs on Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:56 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Posts: 2946
Location: Grenoble
I downloaded the pictures, found that the TIFF nadir had no EXIF and that the crop circle was misplaced on every image ...but stitched image did not include any black area neither before nor after I corrected the crop circle. I suspect this could be related with the Remove ghosts option, but ?

_________________
Georges


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:15 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14038
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Leif,

Here's my attempt using APG 2.5 beta 2 on WinXP/32. Which OS are you using?

Like GURL I see no black lenticular artificact in the Panorama Editor nor in the rendered pano.

What render settings are you using?







_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Last edited by mediavets on Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 8:32 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 607
Location: Ørsta Norway
Crop circle ? The 8mm on PEN fills the frame, so there is no need of cropping.
"Remove ghost" : I tried various options, including multiband. The result was the same.
I Use Win7 64 ultimate.

leifs

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:52 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
No issue here.




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:17 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Posts: 2946
Location: Grenoble
leifs wrote:
Crop circle ? The 8mm on PEN fills the frame, so there is no need of cropping.

When a fisheye is used the crop circle always exists.
In this case "crop" circles must go through the 4 corners of the rectangular images and should crop nothing.
In my first attempt yesterday they were wrong but in a new attempt today they were OK: :rolleyes: !
I always verify crop circles because on my computers and with my cameras they are sometimes wrong (new versions don't change that...)

The following screen capture show clearly that the black hole is related with image boundaries:



_________________
Georges


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:52 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 607
Location: Ørsta Norway
The shape of the artifact is always vertical on the left side and circular on the right side. I will check later, but I believe it is always in the middle of the rendered picture.
As shown in the above CP-editor screenshot there is no gap in the shots.

leifs

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs


Last edited by leifs on Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:55 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 8:16 am
Posts: 1228
Location: Bulgaria
Tested the images, rendered two different ways - no such problem here... I suppose it is a settings issue?

_________________
Some of my panoramas, posted in the Autopano Pro flickr group.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 12:23 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 607
Location: Ørsta Norway
I have tried several sets during the last week, most of them with default settings.
All of them have the artifact.

I have tried it on Win XP and 32bit apg and it is OK
maybe it is a Win 7 64bit apg problem ?

leif

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:28 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3340
Location: Salzburg
funny things are going on here ;-)
I downloaded the set of images. (APG 2.5b2 on Win732bit using)

First I see that the nadir tif image is not automatically recognized as fisheye. after manually changing that detection worked. fisheye crop circle was perfect nothing to adjust...

second I disabled the image (1) (see screenshot 2) and this is looking similar to initial leifs posting... so I suspected perhaps the image was dsabled before rendering and in final pano blacked....
but I did render it the first time after disabling the image (1) and the resulting pano did contain also image 1 and the pano is complete... (screenshot 1)


Liebe Gruesse,
Georg





_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Last edited by gkaefer on Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:43 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3340
Location: Salzburg
and I redoo my test with same result. disabled image is not displayed inside APG before klicking on render button but pano get rendered complete without missing image.

so this seems to be the opposite veriosn of leifs initial posting ;-)

Georg



_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Last edited by gkaefer on Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:06 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 607
Location: Ørsta Norway
I render and get the black gap
I move the centerpoint and render: it's OK
I move the centerpoint back to where it was: it's OK there too !

something funny is happening around the initial centerpoint !

leifs

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 4:45 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Posts: 2946
Location: Grenoble
leifs wrote:
maybe it is a Win 7 64bit apg problem ?

I used APG Win 7 64bit: no black hole...

_________________
Georges


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group