[APP 2.5B2 OSX] don't understand Rendersize = 100% is about 200%  

Archive of all bug reports. This forum is closed - you cannot create new topics or comments here! If you think a specific topic was moved here by mistake, please contact the moderators!
User avatar
Sam
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 12:30 pm

[APP 2.5B2 OSX] don't understand Rendersize = 100% is about 200%

by Sam » Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:58 pm

When I render a Panorama with Rendersize 100% it is about 200% big. See picture.
The panorama is 360° with 39 pictures (4.416 x 3.312 pixel, Horizontal format) per row and 18 columns with 36% overlapping.
Finalsize with 100% is 177.740 x 58.656 pixel. I think the panorama should be about 50.000 Pixel wide in 100%.

Also every Panorama has a differned size from 140.000 to 200.000 Pixel at 100%, but they are always made with the same Camera+lens and settings with a Gigapan head . Only on different places.

Picture show panorama against Input Image.


Last edited by Sam on Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14164
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:05 pm

Which camera and lens are you using?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
Sam
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 12:30 pm

by Sam » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:12 pm

A Canon at 140mm
Last edited by Sam on Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14164
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:24 pm

Sam wrote:Canon G10 at 30,5mm this is about 140mm for 35mm Film

I think the focal lengths specified on compact digital cameras such as the Canon G10 are already the 35mm film equivalent?

................

Anyway using your figure for focal length of 140mm for focal length here is Papywizard's (Papywizard is the software used to control the Merlin robotic panohead) estimate of stitched pano size with Canon G10 with a 39x18 matrix/mosaic of images in horizontal orientation with 36% overlaps.


Last edited by mediavets on Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14164
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:40 pm

What projection type are you using when rendering?

Spherical, cylindrical, planar?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
Sam
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 12:30 pm

by Sam » Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:00 am

Spherical, You are right with about 100.000 Pixel. I have wrong counted. But this is about 175 % smaller, against what I get out. So the file size about 3 Time bigger, without a quality improvement.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:01 am

file size ( in MB ) needs to be calculated with a square.
if new width = 2 old width ( means that new height = 2 old height ), then the file size = 4 x old file size.

User avatar
Sam
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 12:30 pm

by Sam » Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:04 pm

Understand I properly. The single pictures do not become only consumes and positioned but also added more sharpens by putting the information together. This also happens with the "against Ghost Blending " setting.
In the middle of pictures where no other picture overlapped, becomes not more sharp. Where pictures overlap it becomes more sharp, presumed they well lie on top of each other. This is the reason of different sizes of panoramas at 100%, although always with the same settings taken.

Do you know where I can find more Information about this?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14164
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:50 pm

AlexandreJ wrote:file size ( in MB ) needs to be calculated with a square.
if new width = 2 old width ( means that new height = 2 old height ), then the file size = 4 x old file size.

I thought he was talking about resolution not file size?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
Sam
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 12:30 pm

by Sam » Thu Nov 18, 2010 10:02 pm

Understand I properly. The single pictures do not become only distortion and positioned, but also added more information by putting the information together. This also happens with the "against Ghost Blending " setting.
In the middle of pictures where no other picture overlapped, becomes not more information. Where pictures overlap it becomes more information, presumed they lie good on top of each other. This is the reason of different sizes of panoramas at 100%, although always with the same settings taken.

Do you know where I can find more Information about this?
Thank you

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Fri Nov 19, 2010 8:50 am

On idea of explanation :

The maximum size of a panorama is calculated by using the longest focal length image. For this image, we'll say at 1:1 ratio ( one pixel in input gives one pixel in output ).
So, if you are mixing several focal length, this can explains some issue ( Also because the rendering engine is not able to give priority on the pixels coming for long focal length compared to the one from short focal length. So anti-ghost may decide to remove totally pixels for the long focal if this image is totally in-crusted but still the size calculation of the panorama could be based on it ).

User avatar
Sam
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 12:30 pm

by Sam » Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:05 pm

Thank you, now I understand.
Because I have differnt focal length. 140mm everywhere on the ground. And differnt focal length in the sky up to 210mm. What can I do against the big chance of focal length in the sky? I use Gigapan import. And some optimizing steps. Is there a way only to optimizing the ground. And left the sky untouched? Without to click on 500 pictures in the editor manuell.
Last edited by Sam on Fri Nov 19, 2010 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Return to Archive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron