[APG 2.5B2 OSX] RAM is not free after crash, I have to reboot the PC  

Archive of all bug reports. This forum is closed - you cannot create new topics or comments here! If you think a specific topic was moved here by mistake, please contact the moderators!
User avatar
Sam
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 12:30 pm

[APG 2.5B2 OSX] RAM is not free after crash, I have to reboot the PC

by Sam » Mon Nov 08, 2010 8:10 pm

RAM is not free after crash, I have to reboot the system. See pictures





User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5918
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:45 am

Hum, that's interesting. When a crash occurs, the memory is freed ( it's the OS that does that not the software ).
The issue here is seems to be a free memory detection. You have 12 GB installed but only 309MB free, that's really really low.
It seems that no other software are using it, so this must not that cause.

When you have this issue again, can you use the following line below :
Code: Select all
sysctl -a | grep mem

Then copy here the output. Should look like the following:
Code: Select all
hw.physmem = 2147483648
hw.usermem = 1200709632
hw.memsize = 12884901888
kern.himemorymode: 0
vm.memory_pressure: 0
hw.memsize: 12884901888
machdep.memmap.Conventional: 12874133504
machdep.memmap.RuntimeServices: 421888
machdep.memmap.ACPIReclaim: 159744
machdep.memmap.ACPINVS: 1404928
machdep.memmap.PalCode: 0
machdep.memmap.Reserved: 8781824
machdep.memmap.Unusable: 0
machdep.memmap.Other: 0
appleprofile.actions.callstack.max_memory: 33554432
appleprofile.actions.kevent.max_memory: 268435456
appleprofile.actions.register_state.max_memory: 33554432
appleprofile.actions.threadinfo.max_memory: 88080384
appleprofile.actions.timestamp.max_memory: 33554432

User avatar
Sam
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 12:30 pm

by Sam » Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:17 pm

This time there are about 2.5 GB left after a APP crash. But normaly I use 8-9 GB in APP.

Last login: Mon Nov 15 00:06:51 on console
sams-imac:~ sam$ sysctl -a | grep mem
hw.physmem = 2147483648
hw.usermem = 1016922112
hw.memsize = 12884901888
kern.himemorymode: 0
vm.memory_pressure: 0
hw.memsize: 12884901888
machdep.memmap.Conventional: 12883251200
machdep.memmap.RuntimeServices: 0
machdep.memmap.ACPIReclaim: 61440
machdep.memmap.ACPINVS: 4096
machdep.memmap.PalCode: 0
machdep.memmap.Reserved: 88276992
machdep.memmap.Unusable: 0
machdep.memmap.Other: 0
appleprofile.actions.callstack.max_memory: 33554432
appleprofile.actions.kevent.max_memory: 268435456
appleprofile.actions.register_state.max_memory: 33554432
appleprofile.actions.threadinfo.max_memory: 88080384
appleprofile.actions.timestamp.max_memory: 33554432
sams-imac:~ sam$

Without a reboot I started Photoshop and opened a 15 GB File. For PS it is possible to use the Inactive RAM. See picture. I did "sysctl -a | grep mem" with Photoshop open.

sams-imac:~ sam$ sysctl -a | grep mem
hw.physmem = 2147483648
hw.usermem = 1041833984
hw.memsize = 12884901888
kern.himemorymode: 0
vm.memory_pressure: 0
hw.memsize: 12884901888
machdep.memmap.Conventional: 12883251200
machdep.memmap.RuntimeServices: 0
machdep.memmap.ACPIReclaim: 61440
machdep.memmap.ACPINVS: 4096
machdep.memmap.PalCode: 0
machdep.memmap.Reserved: 88276992
machdep.memmap.Unusable: 0
machdep.memmap.Other: 0
appleprofile.actions.callstack.max_memory: 33554432
appleprofile.actions.kevent.max_memory: 268435456
appleprofile.actions.register_state.max_memory: 33554432
appleprofile.actions.threadinfo.max_memory: 88080384
appleprofile.actions.timestamp.max_memory: 33554432
sams-imac:~ sam$

And then I closed Photoshop and had 10,5 GB free. Open APP and had 8.3 GB for it. See picture. "sysctl -a | grep mem" was always the same. Is there a better way to make the RAM free for APP or could APP not work like Photoshop. I tested iFreemem and it don't work.





User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5918
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:27 pm

Issue 420 opened

User avatar
DArt
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 12:56 pm
Location: Francin

by DArt » Fri Nov 19, 2010 5:13 pm

AlexandreJ wrote:Issue 420 opened

Hi, I try to reproduce the problem without success. Each time I kill AutoPano process (to make the application crash), the memory is correctly killed by OS (as it must be).

Yours screenshots show us that the free memory is effectively low but your inactive one is very large (9.9Go). This memory corresponds to memory not used from time and that can be released by OS at any time to give more free memory to process. AutoPano does not count the inactive memory as free memory because it does not know when it will be. Certainly PaintShopPro takes in account the inactive memory as free that is explain the difference.

User avatar
Sam
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 12:30 pm

by Sam » Fri Nov 19, 2010 6:55 pm

I do not kill APP. It crash, so it is somethink different.

That the memory is not complet free don't happn all the time, but offen I loose some memory in a crash and sometime a lot, like you see in the screenshot.

AutoPano does not count the inactive memory as free memory because it does not know when it will be. Certainly PaintShopPro takes in account the inactive memory as free that is explain the difference.

Thats why I wrote:
Is there a better way to make the RAM free for APP or could APP not work like Photoshop.

Because the way PS works is that it also can take memory from APP. Example: APP render somethink use 8,5 GB, than APP is finished with render and I open the Panorama, then APP loose 4 GB to PS and PS has 4GB. That is smart.

So it would super when APP could also take inaktiv RAM.

I get the feeling that you are not interested to find a solution.

User avatar
DArt
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 12:56 pm
Location: Francin

by DArt » Fri Nov 19, 2010 8:38 pm

Sam wrote:I do not kill APP. It crash, so it is somethink different.

You are right but is is also a way to test if memory is correctly clean after a bad exit.

Sam wrote:That the memory is not complet free don't happn all the time, but offen I loose some memory in a crash and sometime a lot, like you see in the screenshot.

AutoPano does not count the inactive memory as free memory because it does not know when it will be. Certainly PaintShopPro takes in account the inactive memory as free that is explain the difference.

Thats why I wrote:
Is there a better way to make the RAM free for APP or could APP not work like Photoshop.

Because the way PS works is that it also can take memory from APP. Example: APP render somethink use 8,5 GB, than APP is finished with render and I open the Panorama, then APP loose 4 GB to PS and PS has 4GB. That is smart.

Sam wrote:So it would super when APP could also take inaktiv RAM.

I get the feeling that you are not interested to find a solution.

Be sure memory management is really important for us. We fix a problem of APP crash on exit on MacOS, it could explain some memory leaks (and perhaps the cause of your large inactive memory).

For inactive memory, before taking it, we must be sure that we will not offer more free memory than really available on the system. I will continue to check my memory while developing in order to reproduce the problem.


Return to Archive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest