Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:55 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 2:02 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:08 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Szczecin / Poland
I think that there is a problem with rendering panorama which uses fisheye photos.

Set:
- Samyang 8mm x crop 1,59
- 6 Photos in row (3bkt in stacks) + 1 zenith

result ~ 360x175 deg

Color corrections - none or ldr (no difference)

Render settings:
- Antighost, save as tiff uncompressed, panorama + layers

100% output is about 12500 x 6100px

When rendering, usually in some between warping and antighost phase apg crashes - closing without any message.
This situation is for 90% renderings.
Sometimes it is possible to have succesfull render when set dimensions to about 3000x1400px.

The same settings on panorama which uses rectlinear wide angle (canon 10-22, 13mm set) and everything is ok.


At the moment "fisheye" set is completely unusuable.


Two platforms: Win7 64bit, 8gb & 4gb, both core2duo

_________________
Marcin Klimczuk
http://www.panoramy.pro


Last edited by Motarny on Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:26 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:17 pm
Posts: 228
Location: Edmonton, Canada
APG 2.5B1 renders my Samyang 8mm images (Nikon D5000, 1.5 crop factor) without crashing.

Judy

APG 2.5.0 Beta 1
Mac Pro Quad Core Intel Xeon
Mac OS 10.6.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:40 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:08 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Szczecin / Poland
I've uploaded whole set - images and .pano file.
URL: http://www.panoramy.pro/exper.zip (92mb)

If somebody can download it and check render process i'll be thankful.

_________________
Marcin Klimczuk
http://www.panoramy.pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:43 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14043
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Motarny wrote:
I've uploaded whole set - images and .pano file.
URL: http://www.panoramy.pro/exper.zip (92mb)

If somebody can download it and check render process i'll be thankful.

Was this the image set you were working with?

If so:

1. Why try and do exposure bracketing with this sort of scene which has people moving? It's not going to work when you try and 'merge' the exposures and in any case in this scene it seems to me it was quite unnecessary.

With a scene like this I think you'd do better to raise the ISO, and shoot with a larger aperture, and shoot FAST, to avoid/minimise ghosting due to people moving.

2. I just took the 'middle' exposure set and it stitched easily to a 360x180.

3. If your source images are JPEGS why did you choose to try and render as a uncompressed TIFF layers.

4. Your NPP setting is not right - see second screenshot and consult this way of setting/checking NPP:
http://www.easypano.com/forum/display_topic_threads.asp?ForumID=1&TopicID=4162







_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Last edited by mediavets on Sat Oct 16, 2010 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 9:11 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:08 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Szczecin / Poland
mediavets thanks for Your help.

1. These three bracketings was made from single RAW (0, -2, +2). I used ISO400. More than that is too noisy.

3. I've made jpg's just for autopano forum (tiff's was about 800mb).

4. Thanks for advice - i'll tune up my npp.


I don't know why, but i still have problems with rendering. Always crashes. Maybe it is win7 64 problem?

_________________
Marcin Klimczuk
http://www.panoramy.pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 9:22 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14043
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Motarny wrote:
mediavets thanks for Your help.

1. These three bracketings was made from single RAW (0, -2, +2). I used ISO400. More than that is too noisy.

I still feel it's not necessary to use more than a single exposure for this scene.

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 9:58 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:08 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Szczecin / Poland
Ok, you're right, it is not necessary to use more than one exposure.
But when i try to render with only one, the problem with crashing still exists..

_________________
Marcin Klimczuk
http://www.panoramy.pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:21 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:08 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Szczecin / Poland
Crashes occurs when "remove ghosts" is checked. With no-antighost rendering is successful.

Win7 64bit / Vista 32bit

_________________
Marcin Klimczuk
http://www.panoramy.pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:21 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:17 pm
Posts: 228
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Motarny wrote:
I don't know why, but i still have problems with rendering. Always crashes. Maybe it is win7 64 problem?

Have you deleted your Kolor preferences?

I'm on a Mac so don't know the location under Windows. I think it was posted here recently, but I can't find the post at the moment.

Judy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:56 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14043
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Motarny wrote:
Ok, you're right, it is not necessary to use more than one exposure.
But when i try to render with only one, the problem with crashing still exists..

Crashed with me too as you described with same settings and single exposure image set.

Windows XP/32. APG 2.5 b1.

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Last edited by mediavets on Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2010 3:49 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:17 pm
Posts: 228
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Motarny, with APG 2.5b1 (Mac) I tested your set of images with your settings, including anti-ghosting. All layers rendered without crashing.

It looks to me like a Windows issue.

Judy
APG 2.5.0 Beta 1
Mac Pro Quad Core Intel Xeon
Mac OS 10.6.4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 9:56 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
Issue 332


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 12:08 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
I tried to reproduce this crash and was not able to make it crash. The bug involved in probably already solved for next beta.
So, I won't close this issue yet, it has to be confirmed with next release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:51 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:08 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Szczecin / Poland
I've made some more tests... Funny results...

I've loaded my pano set which likes to crash on Antighost phase.
Then, I've removed some images from panorama in Editor (1 or 2 images).
In this case rendering is successfull (more images deleted = more chance for successfull render).
Ofcourse the final render has black gaps, but it is possible to render again with another images removed,
so I can merge this to files to one full pano in photoshop :).

Ofcourse this should not be typical workflow, it's quite 'crazy' :).

I'm just pointing where the problem can be.


Cheers,
Marcin Klimczuk

_________________
Marcin Klimczuk
http://www.panoramy.pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 1:12 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Posts: 2946
Location: Grenoble
Windows 7 / 64 bit

I stitched your sources images and rendered the pano with antighost: no problem.
I loaded your project file, launched rendering: it crashed.
As your project includes many unlinked source images (see screen capture) I placed hard links on these images: no more crash.

Suggestion : antighost crashes when encountering unlinked images ?



_________________
Georges


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 1:19 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:08 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Szczecin / Poland
GURL, well, interesting suggestion, but unfortunately it's not the point.
Crash occurs even with all images linked.

Set from image below crashed too.


Win7 64


http://www.panoramy.pro



_________________
Marcin Klimczuk
http://www.panoramy.pro


Last edited by Motarny on Wed Oct 20, 2010 1:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 6:28 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:08 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Szczecin / Poland
Problem with crashing does not exists on Beta 2 :)

_________________
Marcin Klimczuk
http://www.panoramy.pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:33 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
Great, thanks for feedback. Closing issue 332


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 6:32 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:08 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Szczecin / Poland
Unfortunately I have to cancel what I wrote...

APG still crashes on Antighost when rendering set of 7 fisheye images :(.

Platform: fresh Win7 64 bit installation - with 4gb and 8gb.

I will check on win XP...

_________________
Marcin Klimczuk
http://www.panoramy.pro


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 8:39 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:08 pm
Posts: 51
Location: Szczecin / Poland
It seems that this problem don't occur on Windows XP 32bit.

Next test well be Win7 32bit and maybe Win XP 64bit

_________________
Marcin Klimczuk
http://www.panoramy.pro


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group