Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:41 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:11 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7813
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
RobertV. wrote:
Ok, a big problem. I cannot get the canon in it's nodal point. When using the L bracket my camera sits to far to the right (let's call that the X-axis). The Y-axis is not adjustable. And the Z-axis is.
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-k0HkQGLZFWM/UESmeUZIIsI/AAAAAAAAAqM/6jfXABu1dyg/s640/20120903_143747.jpg
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-SQq-W078VeE/UESlSmLkxCI/AAAAAAAAAps/8Yp1jI01uf0/s640/20120903_143716.jpg

I know now why the pitch is reversed. I simply cannot turn my camera, as it would bring the nodal point of the camera even further from the nodal point of the pano gear.


https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-yuGKtfFw38A/UESlKtnhoFI/AAAAAAAAApc/7ZNR-9zEyMY/s640/20120903_143426.jpg
In this situation the X axis is ok/best, but the Z-axis is not adjustable and wrong.

The only solution that would have worked, has an edge which sticks out.
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-Bs6yB7qFRxU/UESlQqv2zPI/AAAAAAAAApk/i5WuQmpChCc/s640/20120903_143543.jpg
Would it be possible to buy this part somewhere without the edge?

And last, because the Y axis is fixed, can I really get the nodal point?

I see. You could use a flatter "crown" (Teleskop Austria or someone in the forum) or a flatter rail. From where did you get the rail with the edge? You might nag it away . . that might help a lot! Later if you need it you easily can fix a new edge.

But you also might use your camera reversed if that works and you can reverse the setting for the position of the vertical arm in PW. Then it runs as you see it on the touchscreen.

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:18 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
The problem with the G10 is that the screw hole is not placed below the lens, but in the middle of the camera itself.

Do you know where I could find a flatter rail? The rail I got, came with the panogear.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:55 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7813
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
RobertV. wrote:
The problem with the G10 is that the screw hole is not placed below the lens, but in the middle of the camera itself.

Do you know where I could find a flatter rail? The rail I got, came with the panogear.

Using the L-bracket you shouldn´t have problems i mean. Did you try to disassmble the L-braket and use only it`s short rail for mounting the camera in portrait-mode?
That usually works fine - at least with DSLRs. Give it a try anyway!

You can use a quick-release plate for compensating the lateral offset of the lens-axis from the srew-axis.

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Last edited by klausesser on Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:59 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7813
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
RobertV. wrote:
Do you know where I could find a flatter rail? The rail I got, came with the panogear.

Somebody here made himself one from a hard piece of wood - works fine! But try Teledkop Austria and other astronomy shops - the rails are standardized in width, but not
in height afaik (but maybe i´m wrong).

best, Klaus

P.S. Use the search option in the forum and search for "Merlin+Crowns".

PS2 as an example: http://www.kolor.com/forum/t8634-is-this-teleskop-austria-crown-correct

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Last edited by klausesser on Mon Sep 03, 2012 3:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:07 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
HI klausesser, how do I fit the disassembled part of the L bracket to the panogear? because the tightening knob (with the little leaver) is in the way.


Last edited by RobertV. on Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 5:42 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7813
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
RobertV. wrote:
because the tightening knob (with the little leaver) is in the way.

Remove it. I did it also - don´t exactly know how i did any more :D but it worked for several other people too.
Then use a Manfrotto camera-screw which is long enough to go through the rail to fix your camera.

Sounds more complicated than it is.

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 6:07 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1341
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
The description of the usage of Woden pieces for mounting a camera is here:
http://www.kolor.com/forum/p37570-2009-01-24-23-56-43?pid=37570#p37570

Nice and cheap system !

_________________
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 6:10 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1341
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
The Papywizard XML presets for the "G10 at 28 mm equivalent" I have posted is for the camera mounted in "portrait orientation" (Vertical) !!!

_________________
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 6:19 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1341
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
The dismantling of the L bracket is expained here (only in french but with pictures ...)
http://www.autopano.net/wiki-fr/action/view/T%C3%AAte_astronomique_Multi-fonctions_Merlin_Adaptation_M%C3%A9canique#Modification_de_l.27.C3.A9querre_de_fixation

_________________
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 6:58 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
But even with just this part sticking out, I cannot place the bracket because there is no room at all.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:30 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7813
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
RobertV. wrote:
But even with just this part sticking out, I cannot place the bracket because there is no room at all.
http://www.autopano.net/wiki-fr/images-fr/9/97/6_AddNewBigScrew.jpg

I used the short rail for three years with 20D and 5D2 and lenses between 10,5mm and 300mml

best, Klaus

look at this one:



_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Last edited by klausesser on Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:37 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
Hi Klausesser,

Becaus I have the G10, the screw connection between the camera and the rail must be somewhere near the pitch axis. Because you have a larger lens, you can place you camera much further from the pitch turning point.


Last edited by RobertV. on Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:43 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7813
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
RobertV. wrote:
Hi Klausesser,

Becaus I have the G10, the screw connection between the camera and the rail must be somewhere near the pitch axis. Because you have a larger lens, you can place you camera much further from the pitch turning point.

Use your phantasy - there´s always a way . . ;):cool:

best and good luck, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:11 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3345
Location: Salzburg
you could replace the crown with this one...
http://www.teleskop-austria.at/shop/index.php?m=2&kod=mont-sin-crn-nn&lng=eng

cheeseplate:
http://www.enjoyyourcamera.com/Videozubehoer/Videostative-DSLR-Rigs/Cheese-Plate-Stativplatte-Zubehoerplatte-Quenox-fuer-15mm-DSLR-Rig-System::5509.html

and I use more ofthen instead of the "default" dovetail part of Panogear package and T&C available from:
http://www.typeandcolour.de/index.php?tp=Produkte&up=mount
I more ofthen use this one on my merlin:
(you can trust this valid Verisign SSL certified site...I had to add a manual exception whyever...)
https://www.teleskop-express.de/shop/product_info.php/info/p237_Starway-Prismenschiene-GP-L--mit-Laengsloch-und-1-4--Schraube.html

if you use this dovetail and mount the cheesplate on it I think you can handle the offset of your G10 Screw...

Georg

_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 9:18 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
@klausesser, thanks!

@gkaefer, your last link was the part I was looking for, thanks!

@artisan, wouldn't it be simpeler to use this part
https://www.teleskop-express.de/shop/product_info.php/info/p237_Starway-Prismenschiene-GP-L--mit-Laengsloch-und-1-4--Schraube.html
and slide it in such a position that the center of the pitch rotation meets exactly below the lens? (portrait mode)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 1:23 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7813
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
gkaefer wrote:
and I use more ofthen instead of the "default" dovetail part of Panogear package and T&C available from:
http://www.typeandcolour.de/index.php?tp=Produkte&up=mount

You also can have the hole for the srew a little off-set from it´s original position to meet the lens-axis´ position. Just nag a piece away from the hole in an L-shaped way.

You also may have a rail with an off-center position of the hole for the screw.

A perfect solution would be a flatter crown with a flatter rail carrying a quick-mount plate which has a counterpart on the camera providing the correct off-set.

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 10:49 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
Hi Artisan,

What you show me with the black arrow I do understand. I have never placed my G10 in such a manner. What I did in the end looks a bit (as in no protruding edge) like this:
Image

so I can adjust the "black arrow" just not the green arrow direction.


Last edited by RobertV. on Tue Sep 04, 2012 10:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:21 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
HI Ed,

Al the information you gave takes some time for me to digest, so I will reply as soon as I have.

I also have a nikon d7000, so this about the g10 is additional. However, most of the time I can have the panogear and g10 with me (because those are mine). The D7000 has to be borrowed (company....).

I did a test pano yesterday (so with the NP as close as possible without using new parts or modified panogear), and the paralax is almost none exsistent. I do think that this is because it's an outside pano, objects far away.

"the G10 clearly is a camera that need the Panogear to be extensively modified and frankly......I don't think it's worth the trouble. "
Agreed, so I think the paralax error I now have is acceptable.

Thanks for your time and input!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group