Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:47 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Canon G10
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:36 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
Hi guys,

Simple question (I hope), what are the settings for the G10?

I have pluged the wired trigger cable, but when I choose "shoot..." the panogear does go to the start position and begins taking pictures. However, papywizard thinks it making pictures but nothing really happens. So the panogear goes to every position but does not actually take any picture.

There are a few locations where settings could affect this:
-Configuration/plugins/shutter/configure
-Configuration/Camera-lens
-Somewhere a setting on the G10 itself?

ps, how can I start a mosaic pano where the first picture is straight up and after that it starts rotating around the yaw with a lower pitch?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:18 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
Found the problem myself, After inspecting the "canon" cable, I found out that 1 end had a 2.5mm jacket ending with 2 black lines and the other ending 3 black lines.
As I have a RS60-E3 wired remote control I know that the Canon needs a 2.5mm jacket with 2 black lines. But, the panogear needs the 2 black line version as well.

So it appears the cable was located in another bag... my apologies.


Last edited by RobertV. on Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:19 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13624
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
RobertV. wrote:
ps, how can I start a mosaic pano where the first picture is straight up and after that it starts rotating around the yaw with a lower pitch?

Thanks!

In Mosaic mode Papywizard can only shoot a regular grid/matrix with the same number of images in each row. This mode is designed for shooting partial panos - panos with a pano FOV of less than 360x180.

If you want some irregular pattern then you will need to create a custom preset and shoot in Preset mode, this mode is designed principally for shooting sphreical panos with a pano FOV of 360x180, but it can be used to shoot non-spehrical panos too.

You will find information about custom presets here:

http://www.papywizard.org/wiki/UserGuideSvn#Presetmode

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:25 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
Thanks Mediavets, I'm very new to this and this forum is a great help!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 8:46 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
Hi all, a quick question about the camera settings.

Here I found the values I think are needed for papywizard:
http://www.adorama.com/alc/0008638/article/100-in-100-Canon-PowerShot-G10-user-report

Canon G10
Sensor coef = 4.5
Ratio = 4:3
Sensor res = 14.7
Lens type = rectilinear
focal = 28mm (when completely zoomed out)
optical multiplier = 1

*Is sensor coef indeed the same as the focal length multiplier?
*When I do want to zoom with my G10, do I need to both change focal and the optical multiplier?


Last edited by RobertV. on Sat Aug 25, 2012 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:04 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13624
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
I think sensor coeff. would be 1.0 when focal length is specified as a 35mm equiv. How did you come up with the value 4.5?

Focal length multiplier might be used if you attached a conversion lens to a camera; for example attaching a Nikon FC-E8 fisheye conversion lens to a compatible Nikon compact you would use the Optical multiplier value 0.21.

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:13 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Please have a look on the next "complete specs" from DPREVIEW
http://www.dpreview.com/products/canon/compacts/canon_g10

_________________
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:15 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
The G10 has :

Focal length (equiv.) 28 – 140 mm
Sensor size 1/1.7" (7.44 x 5.58 mm)

_________________
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 7:28 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
@mediavets, the value 4.5 can be found in the link provided.
@claudevh, the focal length is already set at 28 in papywizard.

So what exactly is the sensor coef? It cannot be 1.7 I guess, that would be too simple.

*When I do want to zoom with my G10, do I need to both change focal and the optical multiplier?

Thanks for the help so far, great community!


Last edited by RobertV. on Sun Aug 26, 2012 7:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:17 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13624
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
RobertV. wrote:
So what exactly is the sensor coef? It cannot be 1.7 I guess, that would be too simple.

I've always understood it to be what on DSLRs is typically called the 'crop factor' - which is 1.5 on Nikon DX sensor bodies, 1.6 on Canon APSC sensor bodies and 2 with FourThirds sensor bodies.

Since your Canon G10 already assigns 35mm equiv. values to focal length indicators on the camera then I believe you should set the sensor coeff. to 1.

Quote:
*When I do want to zoom with my G10, do I need to both change focal and the optical multiplier?

No, just chamge focal length.

Optical multiplier only relates to add-on conversion lenses as I described in my earlier post.

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:46 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Hi Robert,


You should set the optical multiplier to "1.0"
You should set the objective to "rectilinear" and "28 mm"

I suggest that you use the "preset mode"

The "optical multiplier" is just if you are using a Optical accessory to increase or decrease the focal lenght of your objective !

The "sensor coefficient" could be set to "1"and the "sensor ratio to "4:3, 3:2 or 16:9 this is the choice you can made in the G10 menu.
Those parameters are usefull only if you use the to "Mosaic mode" who will calculate the pixel size (just informative!) of the resulting panorama.

You can find a XML preset herafter (please save as XML file in UTF 8

I ahve send the Preset by Email in the right format !

Quote:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<papywizard>

<preset name="Canon G10 at 28 mm">
<tooltip>
Source:
Format: 35mm (1 Crop, 3:2 Aspect Ratio, Portrait orientation)
Focal Length: 28mm lens, overlap: 25%, Horizontal FOV: 34.8, Vertical FOV: 54.6
Rows: 4, Columns: 11
Target:
For 360/180, Horizontal Size: 24120, Vertical Size: 12060
Mosaic Horizontal FOV: 399.2, Vertical FOV: 230.0
Mosaic Horizontal Size: 26746, Vertical Size: 15410
</tooltip>
<shoot>
<!-- arrange columns left to right in row 1 starting from column 1 -->
<pict yaw="0.0" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,1 -->
<pict yaw="34.8" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,2 -->
<pict yaw="69.6" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,3 -->
<pict yaw="104.4" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,4 -->
<pict yaw="139.2" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,5 -->
<pict yaw="174.0" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,6 -->
<pict yaw="208.8" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,7 -->
<pict yaw="243.6" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,8 -->
<pict yaw="278.4" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,9 -->
<pict yaw="313.2" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,10 -->
<pict yaw="348.0" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,11 -->
<!-- arrange columns right to left in row 2 starting from column 11 -->
<pict yaw="348.0" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,11 -->
<pict yaw="313.2" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,10 -->
<pict yaw="278.4" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,9 -->
<pict yaw="243.6" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,8 -->
<pict yaw="208.8" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,7 -->
<pict yaw="174.0" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,6 -->
<pict yaw="139.2" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,5 -->
<pict yaw="104.4" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,4 -->
<pict yaw="69.6" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,3 -->
<pict yaw="34.8" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,2 -->
<pict yaw="0.0" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,1 -->
<!-- arrange columns left to right in row 3 starting from column 1 -->
<pict yaw="0.0" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,1 -->
<pict yaw="34.8" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,2 -->
<pict yaw="69.6" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,3 -->
<pict yaw="104.4" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,4 -->
<pict yaw="139.2" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,5 -->
<pict yaw="174.0" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,6 -->
<pict yaw="208.8" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,7 -->
<pict yaw="243.6" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,8 -->
<pict yaw="278.4" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,9 -->
<pict yaw="313.2" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,10 -->
<pict yaw="348.0" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,11 -->
<!-- arrange columns right to left in row 4 starting from column 11 -->
<pict yaw="348.0" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,11 -->
<pict yaw="313.2" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,10 -->
<pict yaw="278.4" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,9 -->
<pict yaw="243.6" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,8 -->
<pict yaw="208.8" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,7 -->
<pict yaw="174.0" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,6 -->
<pict yaw="139.2" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,5 -->
<pict yaw="104.4" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,4 -->
<pict yaw="69.6" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,3 -->
<pict yaw="34.8" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,2 -->
<pict yaw="0.0" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,1 -->
</shoot>
</preset>

</papywizard>

_________________
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:48 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
mediavets wrote:
Optical multiplier only relates to add-on conversion lenses as I described in my earlier post.

Ah that's great to know, thanks!

mediavets wrote:
Since your Canon G10 already assigns 35mm equiv. values to focal length indicators on the camera then I believe you should set the sensor coeff. to 1.

Most of the time when I look at the details of a picture I took, I see focal length values of 6 (most common), 14, 16 and sometimes 21mm (depends on the zoom, most of the pictures are taken on auto mode). Does that mean my G10 assigns 35mm equiv. values?

Because, when I use my render program and I set the virtual camera to the same value as the picture, the 3d object looks very distorted. (using my picture as a backplate, I can add 3d objects on a location). However, if I multiply this value (let's say 6mm) with 4.5 (or 5) I get 27/28mm which makes the model look perfect in the perspective aspect.

@claudevh
Email added, thanks!!!


Last edited by RobertV. on Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:53 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
The Preset has been send in the right format, just load it in Papywizard and use it !!!

_________________
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 10:00 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
The aspect is 4:3 instead of 3:2. I can simply edit that myself by changing values? (I know how to edit xml)
If I also want the panogear to take a picture straight up (90) and down to get a complete 360x180 sphere, how would I add that? (Or is that already added in the xml you provided?)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:14 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13624
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
RobertV. wrote:
mediavets wrote:
Since your Canon G10 already assigns 35mm equiv. values to focal length indicators on the camera then I believe you should set the sensor coeff. to 1.

Most of the time when I look at the details of a picture I took, I see focal length values of 6 (most common), 14, 16 and sometimes 21mm (depends on the zoom, most of the pictures are taken on auto mode). Does that mean my G10 assigns 35mm equiv. values?

Because, when I use my render program and I set the virtual camera to the same value as the picture, the 3d object looks very distorted. (using my picture as a backplate, I can add 3d objects on a location). However, if I multiply this value (let's say 6mm) with 4.5 (or 5) I get 27/28mm which makes the model look perfect in the perspective aspect.

The camera is marked - I presume there are markings on the lens but maybe not? - at 35mm equiv focal lengths which take into account the 4.5 sensor coeff. (aka crop factor).

But the EXIF data probably records the actual focal length - ie. 35mm equiv/4.5.

In Papywizard set the 35mm equiv. focal length - if that's what's indicated on the camera lens - and set sensor coeff. to 1.

Then values you set in stitching software are another matter especially if you pre-process the images and in doing so strip the EXIF data from the images.

What stitching software are you using?

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 12:19 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13624
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
claudevh wrote:
You can find a XML preset herafter (please save as XML file in UTF 8

I ahve send the Preset by Email in the right format !

Quote:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

Code:
<papywizard>

    <preset name="Canon G10 at 28 mm">
        <tooltip>
            Source:
                Format: 35mm (1 Crop, 3:2 Aspect Ratio, Portrait orientation)
                Focal Length: 28mm lens, overlap: 25%, Horizontal FOV: 34.8, Vertical FOV: 54.6
                Rows: 4, Columns: 11
            Target:
                For 360/180, Horizontal Size: 24120, Vertical Size: 12060
                Mosaic Horizontal FOV: 399.2, Vertical FOV: 230.0
                Mosaic Horizontal Size: 26746, Vertical Size: 15410
        </tooltip>
        <shoot>
            <!-- arrange columns left to right in row 1 starting from column 1 -->
            <pict yaw="0.0" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,1 -->
            <pict yaw="34.8" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,2 -->
            <pict yaw="69.6" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,3 -->
            <pict yaw="104.4" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,4 -->
            <pict yaw="139.2" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,5 -->
            <pict yaw="174.0" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,6 -->
            <pict yaw="208.8" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,7 -->
            <pict yaw="243.6" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,8 -->
            <pict yaw="278.4" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,9 -->
            <pict yaw="313.2" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,10 -->
            <pict yaw="348.0" pitch="-27.3"/> <!-- 1,11 -->
            <!-- arrange columns right to left in row 2 starting from column 11 -->
            <pict yaw="348.0" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,11 -->
            <pict yaw="313.2" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,10 -->
            <pict yaw="278.4" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,9 -->
            <pict yaw="243.6" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,8 -->
            <pict yaw="208.8" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,7 -->
            <pict yaw="174.0" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,6 -->
            <pict yaw="139.2" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,5 -->
            <pict yaw="104.4" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,4 -->
            <pict yaw="69.6" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,3 -->
            <pict yaw="34.8" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,2 -->
            <pict yaw="0.0" pitch="-81.9"/> <!-- 2,1 -->
            <!-- arrange columns left to right in row 3 starting from column 1 -->
            <pict yaw="0.0" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,1 -->
            <pict yaw="34.8" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,2 -->
            <pict yaw="69.6" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,3 -->
            <pict yaw="104.4" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,4 -->
            <pict yaw="139.2" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,5 -->
            <pict yaw="174.0" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,6 -->
            <pict yaw="208.8" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,7 -->
            <pict yaw="243.6" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,8 -->
            <pict yaw="278.4" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,9 -->
            <pict yaw="313.2" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,10 -->
            <pict yaw="348.0" pitch="-136.5"/> <!-- 3,11 -->
            <!-- arrange columns right to left in row 4 starting from column 11 -->
            <pict yaw="348.0" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,11 -->
            <pict yaw="313.2" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,10 -->
            <pict yaw="278.4" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,9 -->
            <pict yaw="243.6" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,8 -->
            <pict yaw="208.8" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,7 -->
            <pict yaw="174.0" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,6 -->
            <pict yaw="139.2" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,5 -->
            <pict yaw="104.4" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,4 -->
            <pict yaw="69.6" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,3 -->
            <pict yaw="34.8" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,2 -->
            <pict yaw="0.0" pitch="-191.1"/> <!-- 4,1 -->
        </shoot>
    </preset>

</papywizard>



That preset looks a bit 'odd'. All pitch values are negative and the highest negative value is greater than -180.

What position is assumed for the reference zero/zero position?

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 3:58 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
mediavets wrote:
But the EXIF data probably records the actual focal length - ie. 35mm equiv/4.5.

What stitching software are you using?

The values I gave are from the EXIF data. does that mean that every FL value has to be multiplied with 4.5 to see the 35mm equivalent value (28mm for example)?

I use autopano and ptgui.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 6:15 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
RobertV. wrote:
The aspect is 4:3 instead of 3:2. I can simply edit that myself by changing values? (I know how to edit xml)
If I also want the panogear to take a picture straight up (90) and down to get a complete 360x180 sphere, how would I add that? (Or is that already added in the xml you provided?)

I have corrected for aspect 4:3 ...
Andrew, your remark is correct, I have changed some parameters and used PapySpheric so the XML is correct now.

Robert, the corrected preset has been send by mail !
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<papywizard>

    <preset name="Canon G10 at 28 mm">
        <tooltip>
            Source:
                Format: 35mm (1 Crop, 4:3 Aspect Ratio, Portrait orientation)
                Focal Length: 28mm lens, overlap: 25%, Horizontal FOV: 34.8, Vertical FOV: 54.6
                Rows: 4, Columns: 11
            Target:
                For 360/180, Horizontal Size: 24120, Vertical Size: 12060
                Mosaic Horizontal FOV: 399.2, Vertical FOV: 230.0
                Mosaic Horizontal Size: 26746, Vertical Size: 15410
        </tooltip>
        <shoot>
<pict pitch="-80.4" yaw="0.0"/>

<pict pitch="-48.4" yaw="0.0"/>
<pict pitch="-48.4" yaw="45.0"/>
<pict pitch="-48.4" yaw="90.0"/>
<pict pitch="-48.4" yaw="135.0"/>
<pict pitch="-48.4" yaw="180.0"/>
<pict pitch="-48.4" yaw="225.0"/>
<pict pitch="-48.4" yaw="270.0"/>
<pict pitch="-48.4" yaw="315.0"/>

<pict pitch="0.0" yaw="327.2"/>
<pict pitch="0.0" yaw="294.5"/>
<pict pitch="0.0" yaw="261.8"/>
<pict pitch="0.0" yaw="229.0"/>
<pict pitch="0.0" yaw="196.3"/>
<pict pitch="0.0" yaw="163.6"/>
<pict pitch="0.0" yaw="130.9"/>
<pict pitch="0.0" yaw="98.18"/>
<pict pitch="0.0" yaw="65.45"/>
<pict pitch="0.0" yaw="32.72"/>
<pict pitch="0.0" yaw="0.0"/>

<pict pitch="48.4" yaw="0.0"/>
<pict pitch="48.4" yaw="45.0"/>
<pict pitch="48.4" yaw="90.0"/>
<pict pitch="48.4" yaw="135.0"/>
<pict pitch="48.4" yaw="180.0"/>
<pict pitch="48.4" yaw="225.0"/>
<pict pitch="48.4" yaw="270.0"/>
<pict pitch="48.4" yaw="315.0"/>

<pict pitch="80.4" yaw="0.0"/>

        </shoot>
    </preset>

</papywizard>

_________________
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 9:35 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
Ok the setup is working fine, now I have another problem.

When I try to bracket shoot, the pano moves the camera before it is finished. Using the bracketing option doesn't work, because the panogear just presses the shoot button 3 times (or more, depending on the setting). The g10 simply takes the bracket shots after eachother. Is there no simple way to just say, wait for 2 seconds before moving to the next position? This is the Nokia N810 papywizard.

(edit)
Ok, solved this, using "Time value".

1 other small problem, the mosaic always starts at the bottom left. but the camera points to the top left. I cannot switch the camera because then the nodal point would be off. Furthermore, the knob/stick for tightening the camera holder points to the right correction (bottom left) but why choose the side where a stick is sticking out as the main direction?


Last edited by RobertV. on Sun Sep 02, 2012 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 7:26 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Posts: 1338
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Quote:
the mosaic always starts at the bottom left

This could be changed in "Configuration/Mosaic/Start position"

_________________
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 7:46 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
claudevh wrote:
Quote:
the mosaic always starts at the bottom left

This could be changed in "Configuration/Mosaic/Start position"

On the N810 I have the following options, overlap, start from, initial direction and CR.

changing "start from" lets the pano start in the upper right corner. (but then my camera points to the ground). Of course this is something I can live with. It would be nice if I could make papywizard clear that my camera is mounted the other way.


Last edited by RobertV. on Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 11:02 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
RobertV. wrote:
claudevh wrote:
Quote:
the mosaic always starts at the bottom left

This could be changed in "Configuration/Mosaic/Start position"

On the N810 I have the following options, overlap, start from, initial direction and CR.

changing "start from" lets the pano start in the upper right corner. (but then my camera points to the ground). Of course this is something I can live with. It would be nice if I could make papywizard clear that my camera is mounted the other way.

Are you sure to having correct mounted the camera? ;)

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 7:13 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
Hi Klausesser,

Well, no actually.

I have mouted it exactly like this one:
Image

So with the handle to fasten the L shaped camera mount pointing to the other direction.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:08 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
RobertV. wrote:
So with the handle to fasten the L shaped camera mount pointing to the other direction.

I don´t understand what you mean precisely!?

The correct orientation for PW usually is having the Merlin´s vertical arm on the right side from the lens-axis.

BUT: afaik (i didn´t use PW for a long time) you can choose the position of the vertical arm in the settings - better check what is set there!

If the screen shows "start upper left" and the camera starts "down right" . . it´s clear something is set or mounted wrong orientation-wise.

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Last edited by klausesser on Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:52 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 4:08 pm
Posts: 38
Ok, a big problem. I cannot get the canon in it's nodal point. When using the L bracket my camera sits to far to the right (let's call that the X-axis). The Y-axis is not adjustable. And the Z-axis is.
Image
Image

I know now why the pitch is reversed. I simply cannot turn my camera, as it would bring the nodal point of the camera even further from the nodal point of the pano gear.


Image
In this situation the X axis is ok/best, but the Z-axis is not adjustable and wrong.

The only solution that would have worked, has an edge which sticks out.
Image
Would it be possible to buy this part somewhere without the edge?

And last, because the Y axis is fixed, can I really get the nodal point?


Last edited by RobertV. on Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group