The touch control panel incompatible with the Gigapan Wizard !!!  

English support for Panogear kit
no avatar
giorgio
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:33 pm

The touch control panel incompatible with the Gigapan Wizard !!!

by giorgio » Sun Feb 19, 2012 5:26 pm

Hello
After having photographed through the touch controller I found as follows.
The files are not ordered as requested by the Gigapan Import Wizard
The controller saves files with this order:
7 8 9
6 5 4
1 2 3
non-existent in the sense of taking (Gigapan import Module)
To give a consistent order, I rename the files.
Does anyone know tell me if there is a better solution or an alternative method?
Thank you very much

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sun Feb 19, 2012 6:09 pm

giorgio wrote:Hello
After having photographed through the touch controller I found as follows.
The files are not ordered as requested by the Gigapan Import Wizard
The controller saves files with this order:
7 8 9
6 5 4
1 2 3
non-existent in the sense of taking (Gigapan import Module)
To give a consistent order, I rename the files.
Does anyone know tell me if there is a better solution or an alternative method?
Thank you very much

the T&C handcontroller (so the same device for the panogear) does write the logfile in papywizzard compatible xml files...
... so use the papywizard import modul instead for importing the log & images into autopano.

or did I miss something?

Georg
Last edited by gkaefer on Sun Feb 19, 2012 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
giorgio
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:33 pm

by giorgio » Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:32 pm

Hi Georg,
Unfortunately using the form papywizard and xml file do not get results.
Just renaming the file, as mentioned above, giving a pre-established sequence from Gigapan
selecting the default layout to fix the problem!
Giorgio

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7886
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Mon Feb 20, 2012 11:23 pm

giorgio wrote:Hi Georg,
Unfortunately using the form papywizard and xml file do not get results.
Just renaming the file, as mentioned above, giving a pre-established sequence from Gigapan
selecting the default layout to fix the problem!
Giorgio

Hi Giorgio!

As Georg said: The T&C writes a PapyWizard compatible xml. You can´t use it with the Gigapan module. They shoot in different orders.
Can you make screenshots from your import settings?

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:15 am

giorgio wrote:Unfortunately using the form papywizard and xml file do not get results.

Giorgio

What camera and lens are you using?

Are you shooting a partial pano (a regular matrix grid of images) or a spherical pano with a variable number of images per row?

How many images are there in your image set?

In what way do you 'not get results'? Do you get error messages?

Which version of APP/APG are you using and with which operating systm?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
giorgio
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:33 pm

by giorgio » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:11 pm

Hi,
The photographic composition is: 60 frames (4 lines, 15 columns) with sequence
60....46
31....45
30....16
01....15
Papywizard plugin import with relative xml file ...
The preview is correct but the end result is a disaster!
Just renaming and reversing the sequence of line 30...16 and 60...46 and using the plugin and layout rows Gigapan upward to fix the problem:.
I also used the Module Bluetooth Deltawave PapyMerlin with excellent results.
Why in the Gigapan plugin does not exist a sequence as above being more logical?
Will perform other tests to understand where lies the flaw!
Thank to all
Giorgio

There are only two kinds of pc users: those who have lost data and those who will lose data

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:26 pm

Giorgio,

I ask again - Which version of APP/APG are you using and with which operating systm?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
giorgio
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:33 pm

by giorgio » Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:45 am

Hi, Andrew,
T&C 2.4.0.0
APG 2.6.1
Windows 7
Giorgio

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7886
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Wed Feb 22, 2012 1:11 pm

giorgio wrote:Why in the Gigapan plugin does not exist a sequence as above being more logical?

Again: you CAN`T USE the T&C-xml with the Gigapan-plugin. Use the PapyWizard-plugin.
Gigapan´s functions are different from the Merlin´s.
The T&C doesn´t work with the Gigapan-head.

So: use the PapyWizard-import - and careful check all the settings. They are a bit confusing.

That´s the reason i asked you to show some screenshots from your import-settings.

best, KLaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Wed Feb 22, 2012 1:21 pm

giorgio wrote:Hi, Andrew,
T&C 2.4.0.0
APG 2.6.1
Windows 7
Giorgio

I think it would be worth trying APG 2.6.2 RC3 :

http://www.kolor.com/download-autopano-panotour-panorama-virtual-tour-software.html

When you say "the preview is correct but the end result is a disaster!" can you show us some screenshots?

I think you also reported that you have no problems with the Papywizard Import Wizard when shooting with Papywizard controlling the mount, you only have problems when using the T&C Touch controller to control the mount - is that correct?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
giorgio
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:33 pm

by giorgio » Thu Feb 23, 2012 4:50 pm

Example photo on one line only
Attached files:
01 Gigapan-plugin
02-03 PapyWizard-plugin

This is the xml file generated by touch controller

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<papywizard version="a">
    <header>
        <general>
            <title>
                Session# 0   
            </title>
            <gps>
                Here goes the location
            </gps>
            <comment>
                Generated by Panoramacontrol
            </comment>
        </general>
        <shooting mode="mosaik">
            <headOrientation>
                up
            </headOrientation>
            <cameraOrientation>
               portrait
            </cameraOrientation>
            <stabilizationDelay>
                0.5
            </stabilizationDelay>
            <startTime>
                                   
            </startTime>
            <endTime>
                                   
            </endTime>
        </shooting>
        <camera>
            <timeValue>
                1.0
            </timeValue>
            <bracketing intent="exposure" nbPicts="001"/>
            <sensor coef="X.X" ratio="X:X"/>
        </camera>
        <lens type="rectilinear">
            <focal>
                600.0            </focal>
        </lens>
        <mosaic>
            <nbPicts pitch="001" yaw="021"/>
            <overlap minimum="0.20" pitch="0.20" yaw="0.20"/>
        </mosaic>
    </header>
    <shoot>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0001">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="+007.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0002">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="+006.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0003">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="+006.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0004">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="+005.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0005">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="+004.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0006">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="+003.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0007">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="+003.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0008">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="+002.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0009">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="+001.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0010">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="+000.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0011">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="+000.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0012">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="-001.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0013">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="-002.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0014">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="-003.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0015">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="-004.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0016">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="-004.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0017">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="-005.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0018">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="-006.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0019">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="-007.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0020">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="-007.0"/>
        </pict>
        <pict bracket="001" id="0021">
            <time>
                                   
            </time>
            <position pitch="+000.0" roll="90.0" yaw="-008.0"/>
        </pict>
    </shoot>
</papywizard>







no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7886
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:25 pm

giorgio wrote:Example photo on one line only
Attached files:
01 Gigapan-plugin
02-03 PapyWizard-plugin

In your xmkl i read "600mm" for focal-lenth. In APG i read "0" for focal-length. So this can´t work at all.
Besides: i still don´t understand why you mention the Gigapan plugin . . . makes definitely no sense when
you use a Merlin and the T&C.

Type in 600mm focal length in the APG preferences. Close APG and start it again for making the prefs take it.

I guess it´s a BAD bug that the import-module doesn´t read the focal-length written in the xml.

This whole import-thing is a mess unless you work through it by try and error and find what you need.

besides that i strongly suggest to use always the latest version of APG!

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:58 pm

Giorgio,

There's something weird here.

Your images seem to lack EXIF data - why is that? Is because youy have processed the images using the dehazing feature?

I've asked before and will ask again - what camera body and lens are you using?

Why does the XML file lack data for the sensor coeff and ratio?


Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
giorgio
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:33 pm

by giorgio » Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:20 am

Hi,
Old 60-300 Tamron Lens with focal Doubler on Nikon D5000
Shooting in manual mode
Exif data not recordable
I therefore think that with this lens I use only Gigapan-plugin!
Giorgio

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7886
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:27 am

giorgio wrote:I therefore think that with this lens I use only Gigapan-plugin!

Giorgio: that´s really weird . . :cool:

You must type in the focal-length as well as the sensor-size. Then you shouldn´t have a problem. I also use lenses without exif-numbers. I set it manually.
I wrote that before. Simply try it! ;)

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:56 am

giorgio wrote:Hi,
Old 60-300 Tamron Lens with focal Doubler on Nikon D5000
Shooting in manual mode
Exif data not recordable
I therefore think that with this lens I use only Gigapan-plugin!
Giorgio

OK - then edit the XML to correct the sensor data as follows:

<sensor coef="1.5" ratio="3:2"/>
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
giorgio
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:33 pm

by giorgio » Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:57 am

Thanks to all
Giorgio

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:02 pm

giorgio wrote:Thanks to all
Giorgio

Do you have the Papywizard Import working now with the Touch controller XML with the edits proposed?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
giorgio
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:33 pm

by giorgio » Sat Feb 25, 2012 12:49 am

After I changed the xml file with the final plugin Papywizard result does not change.
I think with this lens I use the Gigapan plugin without using Papywizard Import Wizard
Now I will use a Sigma 120-400, you will see the results !
Giorgio

no avatar
Apapane
Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 2:04 am
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

by Apapane » Sun Feb 26, 2012 5:48 pm

Georgio,

I use BOTH Panogear and GigaPan robotic camera mounts.
Whenever I use the Panogear mount, I use the Papywizard import plugin. The Panogear mount, when using the Touch Control, and grid pattern, takes images from left to right, THEN right to left, alternating direction until the panorama is complete.
The GigaPan mount can take images in rows Bottom to Top, rows Top to Bottom, columns L to R, and columns R to L. In all cases, each row or column is taken In The Same Sequence, ie - all rows are taken from L to R, and all columns from Top to Bottom. The GigaPan import plugin can't interpret the .xml files taken by the Panogear mount, thus, you must use the Papywizard import plugin.
In the same manner, the Papywizard import plugin can't properly align image grids taken with a GigaPan mount, since these images do not contain the information necessary for the Papywizard import plugin to process.

I can't comment about using the full capabilities of the Papywizard program, which, as far as I can tell, must use blue tooth to communicate from a computing device to the Panogear mount. I have yet to embark upon this journey, although it will be soon.

I hope I didn't make things more complicated than they should be!! ;^)

Best,
Richard

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14292
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Sun Feb 26, 2012 6:07 pm

Apapane wrote:I can't comment about using the full capabilities of the Papywizard program, which, as far as I can tell, must use blue tooth to communicate from a computing device to the Panogear mount.

Papywizard can connect to the Merlin mount via a Bluetooth wireless connection on all supported platforms; or via a wired serial connection on all platforms except the Nokia Internet Tablets.

the Bluetooth option is the easiest ti implement as suitable adpaters are readily available.

There is no off-the-shelf RS232-TTL, or USB-TTL, adapter cable for the wired serial connection option.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Return to Panogear

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests