Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:52 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:05 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am
Posts: 27
When I try to run a mosaic with the papywizard, the head moves to the first picture location, pauses slightly, shutter does NOT FIRE, then keeps rotating around and around till I abort.

The auto-focus is off. It is in complete manual mode, shooting with a canon 50D.

I connect to the head via Bluetooth.
I test the movement of the head.
I can press the up arrows (the lens points up) and press the left button (the lens points left).
I “set reference” position with the lens pointing at the horizon, straight ahead. It references 0 Yaw, 0 pitch. See attached picture “photo.jpg”
I rotate the head with the left button all the way around in a circle back to the reference point, it registers only -180 on the yaw. ****This seems incorrect.****
I point the head straight upwards, it registers +90.

I set the upper left position of the corner 0 at –37.4 yaw, 32.2 pitch. This is shooting up and to the left.
I set the lower right position of the corner 1 at 44.5 yaw, -19.2 pitch. This is pointing down and to the left. See attached photo “photo 2” The corner 0 is exactly the same angle, but point to the left and up.

When I type in the upper left position “go to” “free” to back to the initial -37.4 yaw and 32.2 pitch to return to the upper left corner, both the yaw and pitch move, the pitch locks, continues to rotate to the left, pauses at the initial position, then the yaw continues to rotate to the left, in circles…… until I hit “abort” to stop rotating.

I try the same “goto” reference, it does not return to reference, pauses at different spot on the yaw that it thinks is the reference, then continues to rotate.

When I shoot the mosaic, the target and head moves up and left to the upper left corner, pauses, then continues to rotate on the yaw left until I hit stop. The upper left starts as yellow, the shutter does not fire, the block does not turn green.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:12 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13960
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Welcome to the forum...

Which version of Papywizard are you using and on which operating system?

Do you have the battery cover fitted on the mount? The problem you describe can be related to external light sources 'upsetting' the optical encoders on the motors.

Edit your post to see the feature - found below the message 'box' - which allows you to upload images.



_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:20 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am
Posts: 27
Papy wizard 2.1.21. The same problem with Windows and Mac.

The batter cover 'almost' closes. The two lithium batteries prevent it from closing all the way till it locks.

I can't imagine the crack is large enough to let light in.


Last edited by bretfrk on Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:21 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am
Posts: 27
Also, I tried the mosaic test with just one photo, and the head will move and trigger the shutter. It did not trigger before with multiple pictures, or even the first picture of a sequence.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:10 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
The problem is with the bubble level; add a black tape under it to prevent light going through.

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:55 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am
Posts: 27
Under the bubble level, it is solid plastic. See second picture.

(Previous posts say the housing is open or the level is visible??)

I placed two pieces of electrical tape, to make sure to overlap the possible gap in the housing.

Did a test shoot, and the first mosaic worked well. Will try a few more.






Last edited by bretfrk on Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:49 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
Cool!

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:45 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am
Posts: 27
Frédéric - thanks for helping me with this...

Well, it is not working again. Tape is placed per the picture, then taped all the seams on the cover on the top.

It worked on the first pano, but since I have tried shooting another (full manual mode), the same problem has happened again.

I ran a preset and it got about halfway through, on two separate occasions, and stopped on the middle photo, then started rotating around and around.

I tried a shooting a mosaic, the same thing. Went to the first picture, then started rotating.


Last edited by bretfrk on Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:05 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
Did you check the batteries?

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:47 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am
Posts: 27
batteries are fully charged. When it was running the mosaic and the preset, there were times where it went two different speeds. Most of the time it was slow, but it would speed up a few times.


Last edited by bretfrk on Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:44 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
Does it occur with the hand controller? BTW, did you unpluged it when using the BT module?

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 8:08 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am
Posts: 27
I do not have the hand controller I believe you are talking about - I have the black controller that comes with the head (originally from the orion head).

The bluetooth dongle was attached when shooting the mosaic.


Last edited by bretfrk on Wed Jan 04, 2012 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:57 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
One note : the controller in the panogear are optical controllers. If the backpack is not covering everything ( meaning the internal part of the head is not in the dark ), it won't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:40 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3323
Location: Salzburg
AlexandreJ wrote:
One note : the controller in the panogear are optical controllers. If the backpack is not covering everything ( meaning the internal part of the head is not in the dark ), it won't work.

dont know it for the panogear (I use a merlin coming from TA Austria...). I had to tape the bottom of my spirit level to avoid coming light into the body....
Georg

_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:22 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
bretfrk wrote:
I do not have the hand controller I believe you are talking about - I have the black controller that comes with the head (originally from the orion head).

The bluetooth dongle was attached when shooting the mosaic.

Whatever the hand-controller is (the default one, with the 4 arrows and some little buttons, or the big GOTO one, with screen and so), you have to unplug it when using the bluetooth controller. The head can only have *1* device attached.

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:10 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am
Posts: 27
I have now purchased the hand-controller. I have used the blue tooth module on several shoots with very little success. Sometime it works, sometimes it does not. That is why I purchased the hand controller.

I tested the hand controller at least 10 times now and here is what is happening on each of the attempts.

1.) go through the prompts on hand controller, start the shoot.
2.) head starts to rotate, sometime it triggers the first shutter, sometime not.
3.) the head starts rotating, then two pauses, then rotates continuously until I stop the program on the hand controller.

The camera is a canon 5D, the shutter cable is plugged into the head that came with the head. I do not have the 3.5mm cable that fits the hand controller.

Please help...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group