Panogear - Shutter will not fire; head keeps rotating  

English support for Panogear kit
no avatar
bretfrk
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am

Panogear - Shutter will not fire; head keeps rotating

by bretfrk » Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:05 am

When I try to run a mosaic with the papywizard, the head moves to the first picture location, pauses slightly, shutter does NOT FIRE, then keeps rotating around and around till I abort.

The auto-focus is off. It is in complete manual mode, shooting with a canon 50D.

I connect to the head via Bluetooth.
I test the movement of the head.
I can press the up arrows (the lens points up) and press the left button (the lens points left).
I “set reference” position with the lens pointing at the horizon, straight ahead. It references 0 Yaw, 0 pitch. See attached picture “photo.jpg”
I rotate the head with the left button all the way around in a circle back to the reference point, it registers only -180 on the yaw. ****This seems incorrect.****
I point the head straight upwards, it registers +90.

I set the upper left position of the corner 0 at –37.4 yaw, 32.2 pitch. This is shooting up and to the left.
I set the lower right position of the corner 1 at 44.5 yaw, -19.2 pitch. This is pointing down and to the left. See attached photo “photo 2” The corner 0 is exactly the same angle, but point to the left and up.

When I type in the upper left position “go to” “free” to back to the initial -37.4 yaw and 32.2 pitch to return to the upper left corner, both the yaw and pitch move, the pitch locks, continues to rotate to the left, pauses at the initial position, then the yaw continues to rotate to the left, in circles…… until I hit “abort” to stop rotating.

I try the same “goto” reference, it does not return to reference, pauses at different spot on the yaw that it thinks is the reference, then continues to rotate.

When I shoot the mosaic, the target and head moves up and left to the upper left corner, pauses, then continues to rotate on the yaw left until I hit stop. The upper left starts as yellow, the shutter does not fire, the block does not turn green.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14161
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:12 am

Welcome to the forum...

Which version of Papywizard are you using and on which operating system?

Do you have the battery cover fitted on the mount? The problem you describe can be related to external light sources 'upsetting' the optical encoders on the motors.

Edit your post to see the feature - found below the message 'box' - which allows you to upload images.


Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
bretfrk
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am

by bretfrk » Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:20 am

Papy wizard 2.1.21. The same problem with Windows and Mac.

The batter cover 'almost' closes. The two lithium batteries prevent it from closing all the way till it locks.

I can't imagine the crack is large enough to let light in.
Last edited by bretfrk on Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
bretfrk
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am

by bretfrk » Mon Dec 19, 2011 4:21 am

Also, I tried the mosaic test with just one photo, and the head will move and trigger the shutter. It did not trigger before with multiple pictures, or even the first picture of a sequence.

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5826
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 9:10 am

The problem is with the bubble level; add a black tape under it to prevent light going through.
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

no avatar
bretfrk
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am

by bretfrk » Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:55 pm

Under the bubble level, it is solid plastic. See second picture.

(Previous posts say the housing is open or the level is visible??)

I placed two pieces of electrical tape, to make sure to overlap the possible gap in the housing.

Did a test shoot, and the first mosaic worked well. Will try a few more.




Last edited by bretfrk on Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5826
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:49 pm

Cool!
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

no avatar
bretfrk
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am

by bretfrk » Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:45 am

Frédéric - thanks for helping me with this...

Well, it is not working again. Tape is placed per the picture, then taped all the seams on the cover on the top.

It worked on the first pano, but since I have tried shooting another (full manual mode), the same problem has happened again.

I ran a preset and it got about halfway through, on two separate occasions, and stopped on the middle photo, then started rotating around and around.

I tried a shooting a mosaic, the same thing. Went to the first picture, then started rotating.
Last edited by bretfrk on Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5826
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:05 pm

Did you check the batteries?
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

no avatar
bretfrk
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am

by bretfrk » Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:47 pm

batteries are fully charged. When it was running the mosaic and the preset, there were times where it went two different speeds. Most of the time it was slow, but it would speed up a few times.
Last edited by bretfrk on Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5826
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 1:44 pm

Does it occur with the hand controller? BTW, did you unpluged it when using the BT module?
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

no avatar
bretfrk
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am

by bretfrk » Wed Jan 04, 2012 8:08 pm

I do not have the hand controller I believe you are talking about - I have the black controller that comes with the head (originally from the orion head).

The bluetooth dongle was attached when shooting the mosaic.
Last edited by bretfrk on Wed Jan 04, 2012 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:57 am

One note : the controller in the panogear are optical controllers. If the backpack is not covering everything ( meaning the internal part of the head is not in the dark ), it won't work.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3353
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Thu Jan 05, 2012 11:40 am

AlexandreJ wrote:One note : the controller in the panogear are optical controllers. If the backpack is not covering everything ( meaning the internal part of the head is not in the dark ), it won't work.

dont know it for the panogear (I use a merlin coming from TA Austria...). I had to tape the bottom of my spirit level to avoid coming light into the body....
Georg

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5826
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:22 pm

bretfrk wrote:I do not have the hand controller I believe you are talking about - I have the black controller that comes with the head (originally from the orion head).

The bluetooth dongle was attached when shooting the mosaic.

Whatever the hand-controller is (the default one, with the 4 arrows and some little buttons, or the big GOTO one, with screen and so), you have to unplug it when using the bluetooth controller. The head can only have *1* device attached.
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

no avatar
bretfrk
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:35 am

by bretfrk » Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:10 pm

I have now purchased the hand-controller. I have used the blue tooth module on several shoots with very little success. Sometime it works, sometimes it does not. That is why I purchased the hand controller.

I tested the hand controller at least 10 times now and here is what is happening on each of the attempts.

1.) go through the prompts on hand controller, start the shoot.
2.) head starts to rotate, sometime it triggers the first shutter, sometime not.
3.) the head starts rotating, then two pauses, then rotates continuously until I stop the program on the hand controller.

The camera is a canon 5D, the shutter cable is plugged into the head that came with the head. I do not have the 3.5mm cable that fits the hand controller.

Please help...


Return to Panogear

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests