Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:47 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:19 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
Hi Everyone,

Thanks for waiting. The site update was a bit more complicated than expected because of the massive change in url, blog integration, wiki integration, etc.
But it's now, it's open.

So let's talk about the new versions. Many of the readers of this post have already tested it, I'm sure, so this is not really new for you, nevertheless ...

What's new in Autopano Pro between 1.4.2 and v2.0.0

Detection :
- new detection engine that works multithreaded, it's really faster with multi-core
- the detection engine can handle layout in the panorama ( we know before the detection that the panorama has a structure, for example, it's a single row ).
- stack feature for better detection of bracketed shoot
- the optimization engine has been totally changed for major improvement especially in big panorama. It could takes days to optimizes and now only minutes for panorama
over 1000 images with a better quality

Editor :
- GPU support to get a real-time editor for the panorama.
- improvement advisor to help you solve issue quicker

Plugins :
- direct support of motorized panorama head : gigapan and papywizard based

Autopano Giga 2.0.0. This is a new product.

It's an improved Autopano Pro bundled with Autopano Tour, a virtual tour creation software.

Autopano Giga vers Autopano Pro :
- support of template to get a production proof workflow
- workspace saving / loading
- the big feature difference is still missing, it's improved HDR support. It will come in a near future in a free upgrade for giga user. We really would have love to provide you already this feature but the work to do the GPU was underestimate and it used all our ressources. HDR is now our top priority goal.

Autopano Tour : it's a virtual tour creation software that works over KRPano technology.
- flash export to be able to see the tour everywhere
- several panoramas,
- simple hotspots creation
- embedded images,
- auto-rotation, etc

This software works in 2 modes. The standard mode which is available without a KRPano license allows you to create virtual tours limited in size quickly.
The actually limit is 1024 per cube face which is already good for many virtual visits. If you want a bigger size or use all KRPano feature, Autopano Tour can be unlocked by registering a KRPano unlimited license in the software.
When done, you have access to multiresolution export as well as directly XML edition for a perfect control of the generated code. It's the best of both world : simplicity of edition and power of XML for extra feature.

We have 2 good news about Autopano Tour :
- We agreed with Klaus Reinfeld the author of KRPano, we can now raise the limit to 1200 per cube face. It will be available in a next release. This value is over the height of most screen resolution, so we decided to go with that one.
- On the webshop, you will soon have access to a really good bundle Autopano Giga with a KRPano license directly. It will be 259 euros instead of 279. KRPano license is at 70 euros in this bundle instead of 90 euros.

Update process

Simple, it works this way :
- Each customer will get an email with promotion codes : this code will allow either a free buy of autopano pro 2 if your purchase date allow it, or at a 39€ price.
- With this promotion code, buy autopano pro 2 from the webshop to get the registration code. And yes, this order can have a 0 total ! That's normal.
- At the end, you'll get an email with registration codes.
For the full workflow, see the details, here : http://www.autopano.net/en/buy-autopano/updates.html

Good news 3 : normally, our policy says free update during one year. We were more generous and all customers after 1 april 2008 have access to the free update. That's one month more than our policy ( congrats to the luck April 2008 buyers ).

What's next ?

First, there are still some little bugs we still need to close in this release ( devnotes ).
So we will concentrate during May in cleaning everything to be sure we can get a really good usable v2.0.1 for end of May.
We also want to take some time to optimize the edition because when you are editing big panoramas, we are pretty confident that the edition can be even more responsive.
The last work to do is to update the documentation for this next release. We'll release also some new videos tutorial on the new feature during this time.

During the same time, we'll start the integration of our HDR system in Autopano Giga. As said before, it's the top priority now.


Website update

Please note these changes on the main website :
- autopano.fr doesn't exist anymore, it redirects now to www.autopano.net/fr
- same story for the wiki : the new url are www.autopano.net/wiki-fr/ and www.autopano.net/wiki-en/. BTW : we'll change the main documentation page layout soon to make it more clear and integrate new tutorials.
- blog url : french : www.autopano.net/blog-fr, english www.autopano.net/blog-en


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:19 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7807
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Hi Alexandre!

Just to get that straight: AutoPano2 also runs on Intel-Macs only - like APG? Or did i misunderstood that?
So on my G5 DP mac i can´t use NONE of them? Or is APP running on G5 and just APG not?

best, Klaus

ok - i read the Wiki. So that´s bad news . . !

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Last edited by klausesser on Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:25 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 11:23 pm
Posts: 456
Location: Surrey, UK
congrats.

edit: listing for the mac version of app still says "Buy Autopano Pro today and benefit from a free update to the new version, planned to be released in April 2009!". Also, french VAT is a bitch *counts pennies*


Last edited by wjh31 on Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:26 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:48 am
Posts: 78
Location: NorCal, USA
The other important question: when will we get the email with the promo codes? I am waiting antsily, I have panos to stitch :)

_________________
iMac 27"
Canon Equipment


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:34 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14043
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
AlexandreJ wrote:
We have 2 good news about Autopano Tour :
- We agreed with Klaus Reinfeld the author of KRPano, we can now raise the limit to 1200 per cube face. It will be available in a next release. This value is over the height of most screen resolution, so we decided to go with that one.

A limit of 1500 would have been nicer - it would allow a little more zoom-in without degradation of the pano image; 1024 or 1200 offers very little zoom-in when displaying fullscreen. The default navigation bar includes zoom-in/out buttons/functions so viewers will expect to be able to zoom-in/out.

A limit of 2000 would have been really really nice.

But I guess 1200 is a (small) improvement on 1024, so thanks for that. However it seems we have to wait another month until the end of May for this?
Quote:
- On the webshop, you will soon have access to a really good bundle Autopano Giga with a KRPano license directly. It will be 259 euros instead of 279. KRPano license is at 70 euros in this bundle instead of 90 euros.

How soon is 'soon' ?

Will this bundle also be available as an upgrade form APP 1.4.2?

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:37 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
Soon means mid-may normally. We faced an unexpected issue : the integration of krpano key generation into the webshop. We though it were working like our keygens, but it is not.
---
All emails will be send within 2 or 3 hours from now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:01 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14043
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
AlexandreJ wrote:
Soon means mid-may normally. We faced an unexpected issue : the integration of krpano key generation into the webshop. We though it were working like our keygens, but it is not.

OK - must have been a disappointment for you to discover this late in the day.

Will the krpano bundle also be available as an upgrade from APP1.4.2? I hope so, because that is what I wish to get.

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Last edited by mediavets on Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:04 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
You have no idea :(

Anyway. Yes, this new full bundle will be available as an upgrade from autopano pro.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:35 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:59 am
Posts: 24
Location: Germany
Hi,

I just bought Autopano Pro, received the activation code, downloaded the software, activated the demoversion - it says "succesfully activated", but it never changes to the full version.
I tried a second time - same result.

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks

Sigi

_________________
ttp://www.betterphoto.com/Premium/default.aspx?id=267034&mp=V2


Last edited by Sigi on Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:41 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
This might happen on the mac platform : you need to clean old configuration file. See in the FAQ.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:09 pm 
Offline
New member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 12:17 am
Posts: 7
Location: Paris, France
The webshop is a little bit slow, I guess I'm not the only Autopano addict who is trying to upgrade !

Order pending.... can't wait to play with this new version ! ;-)

_________________
http://www.shadows.fr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:35 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:43 pm
Posts: 217
Location: New York
Alexandre,

1. I got this info in email:
As a current Autopano Pro user, you can upgrade to Autopano Giga for 118 euros only, instead of 199 euros (standard price of a license). Offer valid till 30th June 2009. After this date, your upgrade price will be 100 euros.

Is it correct? that after June 30th price is better than today's promotion?


2. I am not planing to use the Tour feature and the only attraction for Giga version for me is the extended HDR support which is not yet available... The price for this HDR support then becomes quite high (for my usage of APG). Is there any chance that extended HDR support would be supported in APP Pro 2? may be for some extra $?

Thanks,
Michael


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:52 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 9:16 am
Posts: 16
Location: South Africa
I got the upgrade e-mail about 30 minutes ago. Following the steps and going to the kolor.com website

Does matter which link i click on eg.
* My Account
* My Wishlist
* My Cart
* Checkout
* Log In

It always goes back to this page:
http://www.kolor.com/buy/

Tried 4 different browsers get the same result on all. Can't login to claim my upgrade...

_________________
Rudolph Thomas
TIGME.COM / GoVisit.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:55 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14043
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Michael Ezra wrote:
Alexandre,

1. I got this info in email:
As a current Autopano Pro user, you can upgrade to Autopano Giga for 118 euros only, instead of 199 euros (standard price of a license). Offer valid till 30th June 2009. After this date, your upgrade price will be 100 euros.

Is it correct? that after June 30th price is better than today's promotion?


2. I am not planing to use the Tour feature and the only attraction for Giga version for me is the extended HDR support which is not yet available... The price for this HDR support then becomes quite high (for my usage of APG). Is there any chance that extended HDR support would be supported in APP Pro 2? may be for some extra $?

Thanks,
Michael

Did you get an email in English? Mine was in French.

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Last edited by mediavets on Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:12 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:30 pm
Posts: 1872
Location: Sweden
Mine was in English, except for the first two tiny lines which were in French and outside of the main content area.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:21 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:59 am
Posts: 24
Location: Germany
AlexandreJ wrote:
This might happen on the mac platform : you need to clean old configuration file. See in the FAQ.

Hello Alexendre,

I cleaned the pref files but that does not change anything

Thanks

Sigi

_________________
ttp://www.betterphoto.com/Premium/default.aspx?id=267034&mp=V2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:23 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:33 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Chemnitz - Germany
Hello,
knows somebody where I can enter my VAT-ID during the purcase???
The price in the onlineshop is always with tax :(

greetings.

_________________
| www.gigapixel-chemnitz.de | www.foto-chemnitz.de |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:28 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 6:16 pm
Posts: 193
All e-mails with the discount codes have been sent. If you did not receive it, please check your spam folder, then send us an e-mail.

There was a mistake in the message that some users received : if you bought Autopano Pro more than a year ago (before April 1st, 2008 actually), your upgrade price to Autopano Giga is 118 euros until the end of June, and then 139 euros, as previously announced.

About the languages of the e-mails : sorry if you didn't receive the message in the correct language. We couldn't keep the data about languages when we migrated to the new shop system in December, therefore we had to guess your language depending on your country. We will try to find a way to correct that for the next mailings.

_________________
Rami


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:30 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 5:48 pm
Posts: 13
AlexandreJ wrote:
First, there are still some little bugs we still need to close in this release ( devnotes ).

Permettez-moi de ne pas partager votre affirmation. à€ plusieurs reprises je vous ai signalé le problème de l'affichage de la barre de zoom dans la fenêtre d'édition dans la version APG 2 pour MacOS, ce qui constitue pour moi un problème important limitant l'utilisation du programme. Or je constate que votre version 2.0 publique rencontre encore ce problème. Je sais qu'il est de pratique courante de vendre des programmes avec des bugs connus, mais je ne m'y habitue pas.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:32 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:44 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Grenoble
I presume that this should say that the upgrade will be 139 instead of 118, because you would need to pay the 39 to get up to AutoPano Pro 2.0, then the 100 to go to Giga.

I'm still debating the 118 price myself - as it is a huge jump over the 39 to upgrade to 2.0 Pro (especially with the addition of tax), and like Michael, I don't think I'll be using the advanced tour features, whereas the extended HDR support sounds interesting.

Hmm.

What are the chances of getting something in-between Pro and Giga with HDR, but no extended tour support?

Andy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:33 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 6:16 pm
Posts: 193
The VAT-ID is to be entered when you first create your account. Your account is then tagged as a Business account. Send us your VAT ID by e-mail so we can change that manually.

_________________
Rami


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:36 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 6:16 pm
Posts: 193
Andy,
The advanced HDR features are planned to be added to Autopano Giga in a next minor update (free). This was announced some months ago but we couldn't put it in this release. Thanks for your patience.

_________________
Rami


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:48 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:44 pm
Posts: 39
Location: Grenoble
Hi Rami... I was aware that the advanced HDR features would be delayed, and I was also aware of the upgrade price plans from previous posts ... I'm just not sure that I can justify the price differential between Pro and Giga - given that I probably won't be using the tour features - and am just looking to experiment with the HDR capabilities.

Andy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:58 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:43 pm
Posts: 217
Location: New York
rami & Alexande, Please reply to this thread if you think you may consider creating and APP Pro with extended HDR support vesion.
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:07 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 1:13 am
Posts: 14
I second that... For me, 'professional' virtual tours are not needed while enhanced HDR is interesting (frankly speaking, HDR support in 1.x was pretty useless for me =((
but certainly not at that price...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group