Autopano Pro 1.4.2  

Official news, releases information, status updates.
Annonces officielles, nouvelles versions, avancement.
User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5917
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

Autopano Pro 1.4.2

by AlexandreJ » Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:44 pm

Okay, here's a new version ! 1.4.2

This version was really dedicated to get rid of some annoying bugs ( those which are really hard to get and hard to catch ).
Mac users, you should have a more stable version now.
Big panorama creators, you can use smartblend on standard computer and still create gigapixels. We did that on a mono cpu 1 giga memory :)
NEW : You will found a new button near the smartblend drop button => you can play with those values, there are internal smartblend value which can be interesting to play with.

The full changelog is available here : http://www.autopano.net/wiki/action/view/Latest_Beta

So, it's available here.
- Windows 32 / 64 bits
- Linux 32 / 64 bits
- Mac 32 bits

We have now branched this 1.* series and we'll work 100% on v2.0.
You want to know what's inside v2 ? ... You are curious ! We have planned many stuff as we always want the best in our tool.
For the last big release, it wasn't really clear with the version naming. We came up with this idea :
v1.9.0 => pre2.0 with first feature integrated
v1.9.1 => pre2.0 with second feature integrated
....
When we have finished integration, we'll do RC until stability is good enough to create first release.

BTW : did I say that 1.9.0 will come next month ?

User avatar
fma38
Member
 
Posts: 5827
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France

by fma38 » Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:07 pm

:D
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

User avatar
mrking
Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:23 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada

by mrking » Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:18 pm

woot

no avatar
SK
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 8:48 pm
Location: Slovak Republic

by SK » Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:08 pm

Thanks for support XP 64bit. Please, add multiprocessor support (Quad).
SK

User avatar
DrSlony
Moderator
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:30 pm
Location: Sweden

by DrSlony » Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:17 pm

SK APP has been offering multiprocessor support for some time already, from 1 to 8 processors. Click on the menu Edit > Settings.
Also read http://www.autopano.net/wiki/action/view/Application_Settings

User avatar
leedsjoe
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:33 pm
Location: West Drayton, UK

by leedsjoe » Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:47 am

AlexandreJ wrote:Okay, here's a new version ! 1.4.2

NEW : You will found a new button near the smartblend drop button => you can play with those values, there are internal smartblend value which can be interesting to play with.

Is it possible to give us a word or two about the sort of properties controlled by these parameters, that is 'Minimal Pyramidal' and 'Transition Smooth'?

User avatar
taf
Member
 
Posts: 2680
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:13 am
Location: Paaaaaaris !

by taf » Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:34 pm

>BTW : did I say that 1.9.0 will come next month ?

Trop cool... ca va être dur d'attendre... Eeeeh, mais je pars aux USA fin mai... je verrais donc cette 1.9.0 qu'en rentrant fin Juin, mais là , je pourrais faire un test intensif avec cette nouvelle version car j'aurais surement un bon millier de panos à  assembler...
Look. There's a rhythmic ceremonial ritual coming up !

User avatar
trekker317
Member
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:28 am

by trekker317 » Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:12 am

:( Pas si cool pour moi !

Il me faut prévoir, dès maintenant, changer mon ordinateur ou rester avec la version 1.4. :/
Encore une facture !

User avatar
[bo]
Member
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 8:16 am
Location: Bulgaria

by [bo] » Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:18 am

I have a question. Why 1.4.2 is available via the "Latest Beta" page and not the official site? Is it considered a beta? If so, shouldn't it have a proper label, like 1.4.2 Beta 1?
Some of my panoramas, posted in the Autopano Pro flickr group.

User avatar
mrking
Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:23 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada

by mrking » Wed Apr 23, 2008 2:18 pm

and can we have an interim beta 1.4.3 to fix the 'settings not saving' bug that was introduced in 1.4.2 before you jump to 1.9?

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5917
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:23 am

We were waiting one week of beta testing to make this version available in the official site. We'll try to patch this settings issue before putting this release to the main site.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5917
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:20 pm

This version has been released again.
Just go to the beta page to get the updated 1.4.2 version : http://www.autopano.net/wiki/action/view/Latest_Beta

It just contains the fix for the setting bug as well as a missing name in acknowledgment.

User avatar
Rami
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 6:16 pm

by Rami » Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:39 am

A description of Smartblend's parameters is available here: http://www.autopano.net/wiki/action/view/Interpolation_and_blenders#Smartblend

Une description des paramètres de Smartblend est accessible ici: http://www.autopano.fr/wiki/action/view/Interpolateur_et_m%C3%A9langeur
Rami

no avatar
Oliviervallouise
Member
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:19 pm
Location: Vallouise, Hautes-Alpes

by Oliviervallouise » Fri Apr 25, 2008 11:10 am

Dans la page en français, une coquille à  corriger, dans le dernier paragraphe, en bas à  droite de la dernière image : Une très grange zone de transition sur 32 pixels. : grande au lieu de grange… :)

Bon, ceci dit, peut-être que chez les savoyards, les champs font 32 pixels de surface et qu'il faut une grange à  proximité… :P

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Fri Apr 25, 2008 12:10 pm

rami wrote:A description of Smartblend's parameters is available here: http://www.autopano.net/wiki/action/view/Interpolation_and_blenders#Smartblend

Une description des paramètres de Smartblend est accessible ici: http://www.autopano.fr/wiki/action/view/Interpolateur_et_m%C3%A9langeur

Hi Rami!

Nice done! BUT: what´s the deeper sense of that for practical work? What after all is the exact meaning/definition of "pyramidal"?
Where does it come fom? I mean: it´s very interesting what the wiki says . . but . . does this "pyramidal"- thing only influence/equalize colors?
What means: "It's not coded as a pyramid level but as a stop condition." Is a "pyramid-level" something like an exposure-level or numbers of f-stops?
In fact, this description doesnt´tell me anything at all . . . :/

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
GURL
Member
 
Posts: 2946
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: Grenoble

by GURL » Sat Apr 26, 2008 10:31 am

klausesser wrote:In fact, this description doesnt´tell me anything at all . . . :/

The parameter name, pyramidal, don't matter (provided we all use this name.)

In the commentaries, the only useful informations are:
- the smaller the value the stronger the changes
- very large values do nothing
- value 4 is the default

Illustrations are, by far, the most important part. They really tell me something and trying to describe that using words seems useless!

Given the illustrations, my questions are:

1) what is the example image actual pixel size ? (= image size don't matter ?)

2) why no attempt at using 2, 1 or 0 values ? (= are value smaller than the default useless ?)

__________________

On the same web page the interpolator section is a clear example of why documentation is difficult: it's obvious for any experienced user that the example is shown at 200% or more but inexperienced users will not figure that and will probably conclude using Spline64 is preferable !

:rolleyes: That specifying example image sizes is mandatory is not obvious for everybody : I run the risk to look like a very boring person!
Georges

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sat Apr 26, 2008 12:02 pm

GURL wrote:
klausesser wrote:In fact, this description doesnt´tell me anything at all . . . :/

The parameter name, pyramidal, don't matter (provided we all use this name.)

In the commentaries, the only useful informations are:
- the smaller the value the stronger the changes
- very large values do nothing
- value 4 is the default

Illustrations are, by far, the most important part. They really tell me something and trying to describe that using words seems useless!

Given the illustrations, my questions are:

1) what is the example image actual pixel size ? (= image size don't matter ?)

2) why no attempt at using 2, 1 or 0 values ? (= are value smaller than the default useless ?)

__________________

On the same web page the interpolator section is a clear example of why documentation is difficult: it's obvious for any experienced user that the example is shown at 200% or more but inexperienced users will not figure that and will probably conclude using Spline64 is preferable !

:rolleyes: That specifying example image sizes is mandatory is not obvious for everybody : I run the risk to look like a very boring person!

Hi GURL!

Yes - some simple descrition to start from in a way like:"if you want a result like THIS you have to do THAT" . . or something like that would be fine. When i´d have time enough i´d tend to test everything and gather experiences - but i´m in two productions at the moment to make three real big pictures printed @150dpi at app. 1,50x7m i´d welcome some hard facts to ease my work and get optimal results. Without spending days and nights of stitching/rendering again and again to explore new options in a software.

So in some bare words: what smartblend setting would show the best results in this task for an optimum resolution and sharpness?

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Return to Announcements / Annonces

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest