Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 11:20 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Autopano Pro 1.4.2
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:44 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5892
Location: Francin, France
Okay, here's a new version ! 1.4.2

This version was really dedicated to get rid of some annoying bugs ( those which are really hard to get and hard to catch ).
Mac users, you should have a more stable version now.
Big panorama creators, you can use smartblend on standard computer and still create gigapixels. We did that on a mono cpu 1 giga memory :)
NEW : You will found a new button near the smartblend drop button => you can play with those values, there are internal smartblend value which can be interesting to play with.

The full changelog is available here : http://www.autopano.net/wiki/action/view/Latest_Beta

So, it's available here.
- Windows 32 / 64 bits
- Linux 32 / 64 bits
- Mac 32 bits

We have now branched this 1.* series and we'll work 100% on v2.0.
You want to know what's inside v2 ? ... You are curious ! We have planned many stuff as we always want the best in our tool.
For the last big release, it wasn't really clear with the version naming. We came up with this idea :
v1.9.0 => pre2.0 with first feature integrated
v1.9.1 => pre2.0 with second feature integrated
....
When we have finished integration, we'll do RC until stability is good enough to create first release.

BTW : did I say that 1.9.0 will come next month ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:07 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Posts: 5826
Location: Grenoble, France
:D

_________________
Frédéric

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:18 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:23 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Vancouver, Canada
woot


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:08 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 8:48 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Slovak Republic
Thanks for support XP 64bit. Please, add multiprocessor support (Quad).
SK


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:17 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:30 pm
Posts: 1856
Location: Sweden
SK APP has been offering multiprocessor support for some time already, from 1 to 8 processors. Click on the menu Edit > Settings.
Also read http://www.autopano.net/wiki/action/view/Application_Settings


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:47 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:33 pm
Posts: 186
Location: West Drayton, UK
AlexandreJ wrote:
Okay, here's a new version ! 1.4.2

NEW : You will found a new button near the smartblend drop button => you can play with those values, there are internal smartblend value which can be interesting to play with.

Is it possible to give us a word or two about the sort of properties controlled by these parameters, that is 'Minimal Pyramidal' and 'Transition Smooth'?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:34 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 2677
Location: Paaaaaaris !
>BTW : did I say that 1.9.0 will come next month ?

Trop cool... ca va être dur d'attendre... Eeeeh, mais je pars aux USA fin mai... je verrais donc cette 1.9.0 qu'en rentrant fin Juin, mais là , je pourrais faire un test intensif avec cette nouvelle version car j'aurais surement un bon millier de panos à  assembler...

_________________
Look. There's a rhythmic ceremonial ritual coming up !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:12 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 10:28 am
Posts: 372
:( Pas si cool pour moi !

Il me faut prévoir, dès maintenant, changer mon ordinateur ou rester avec la version 1.4. :/
Encore une facture !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 8:18 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 8:16 am
Posts: 1228
Location: Bulgaria
I have a question. Why 1.4.2 is available via the "Latest Beta" page and not the official site? Is it considered a beta? If so, shouldn't it have a proper label, like 1.4.2 Beta 1?

_________________
Some of my panoramas, posted in the Autopano Pro flickr group.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 2:18 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:23 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Vancouver, Canada
and can we have an interim beta 1.4.3 to fix the 'settings not saving' bug that was introduced in 1.4.2 before you jump to 1.9?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 7:23 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5892
Location: Francin, France
We were waiting one week of beta testing to make this version available in the official site. We'll try to patch this settings issue before putting this release to the main site.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:20 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5892
Location: Francin, France
This version has been released again.
Just go to the beta page to get the updated 1.4.2 version : http://www.autopano.net/wiki/action/view/Latest_Beta

It just contains the fix for the setting bug as well as a missing name in acknowledgment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:39 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 6:16 pm
Posts: 192
A description of Smartblend's parameters is available here: http://www.autopano.net/wiki/action/view/Interpolation_and_blenders#Smartblend

Une description des paramètres de Smartblend est accessible ici: http://www.autopano.fr/wiki/action/view/Interpolateur_et_m%C3%A9langeur

_________________
Rami


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 11:10 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 9:19 pm
Posts: 378
Location: Vallouise, Hautes-Alpes
Dans la page en français, une coquille à  corriger, dans le dernier paragraphe, en bas à  droite de la dernière image : Une très grange zone de transition sur 32 pixels. : grande au lieu de grange… :)

Bon, ceci dit, peut-être que chez les savoyards, les champs font 32 pixels de surface et qu'il faut une grange à  proximité… :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 12:10 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7678
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
rami wrote:
A description of Smartblend's parameters is available here: http://www.autopano.net/wiki/action/view/Interpolation_and_blenders#Smartblend

Une description des paramètres de Smartblend est accessible ici: http://www.autopano.fr/wiki/action/view/Interpolateur_et_m%C3%A9langeur

Hi Rami!

Nice done! BUT: what´s the deeper sense of that for practical work? What after all is the exact meaning/definition of "pyramidal"?
Where does it come fom? I mean: it´s very interesting what the wiki says . . but . . does this "pyramidal"- thing only influence/equalize colors?
What means: "It's not coded as a pyramid level but as a stop condition." Is a "pyramid-level" something like an exposure-level or numbers of f-stops?
In fact, this description doesnt´tell me anything at all . . . :/

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 10:31 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Posts: 2946
Location: Grenoble
klausesser wrote:
In fact, this description doesnt´tell me anything at all . . . :/

The parameter name, pyramidal, don't matter (provided we all use this name.)

In the commentaries, the only useful informations are:
- the smaller the value the stronger the changes
- very large values do nothing
- value 4 is the default

Illustrations are, by far, the most important part. They really tell me something and trying to describe that using words seems useless!

Given the illustrations, my questions are:

1) what is the example image actual pixel size ? (= image size don't matter ?)

2) why no attempt at using 2, 1 or 0 values ? (= are value smaller than the default useless ?)

__________________

On the same web page the interpolator section is a clear example of why documentation is difficult: it's obvious for any experienced user that the example is shown at 200% or more but inexperienced users will not figure that and will probably conclude using Spline64 is preferable !

:rolleyes: That specifying example image sizes is mandatory is not obvious for everybody : I run the risk to look like a very boring person!

_________________
Georges


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 12:02 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7678
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
GURL wrote:
klausesser wrote:
In fact, this description doesnt´tell me anything at all . . . :/

The parameter name, pyramidal, don't matter (provided we all use this name.)

In the commentaries, the only useful informations are:
- the smaller the value the stronger the changes
- very large values do nothing
- value 4 is the default

Illustrations are, by far, the most important part. They really tell me something and trying to describe that using words seems useless!

Given the illustrations, my questions are:

1) what is the example image actual pixel size ? (= image size don't matter ?)

2) why no attempt at using 2, 1 or 0 values ? (= are value smaller than the default useless ?)

__________________

On the same web page the interpolator section is a clear example of why documentation is difficult: it's obvious for any experienced user that the example is shown at 200% or more but inexperienced users will not figure that and will probably conclude using Spline64 is preferable !

:rolleyes: That specifying example image sizes is mandatory is not obvious for everybody : I run the risk to look like a very boring person!

Hi GURL!

Yes - some simple descrition to start from in a way like:"if you want a result like THIS you have to do THAT" . . or something like that would be fine. When i´d have time enough i´d tend to test everything and gather experiences - but i´m in two productions at the moment to make three real big pictures printed @150dpi at app. 1,50x7m i´d welcome some hard facts to ease my work and get optimal results. Without spending days and nights of stitching/rendering again and again to explore new options in a software.

So in some bare words: what smartblend setting would show the best results in this task for an optimum resolution and sharpness?

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group