Autopano Engine v3.0.0 Alpha 2  

Official news, releases information, status updates.
Annonces officielles, nouvelles versions, avancement.
User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5920
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

Autopano Engine v3.0.0 Alpha 2

by AlexandreJ » Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:13 pm

Hi,

Just for the week-end ! Or just for your newly shot images from holiday, a little gift from Autopano team : the new alpha 2 of Autopano Engine.
So, what's new ?

This version is an improved version of Autopano engine v3. It also takes into account customer requests for an easier UI in Autopano.

Editor improvements

A lot of small changes have been made to ease the work in the editor. Here’s a quick list of them:
* The layer editor is synchronized with the panorama editor. This is quite nice because now, you have a direct synchronization between the layer editor selection and the editor itself in both ways. Select an image in the editor, it selects the line in layer editor. Easy. It is really an improvement over the old behavior and allows new actions, like deleting an image directly from the control points editor.We also added some new features in the layer editor like the ability to copy, paste location of one image to another image, or to move the current selection to a new layer in a single click.
* If you hold the shift key when selecting an image, you select the whole stack composed with this image, it is easier for moving stacks as a whole instead of moving the images one by one.
* In the Info window, you now have an accurate evaluation of the overlapping percentage of the panorama. This is often a good-to-know information about the panorama.How to read this value? Imagine a 2-image panorama : 0% means no overlapping at all. 100% means both images are overlapping in full. 50% would be something like the edge of one image is at the center of the second.Note: the value can go over 100% if you do bracketing. With a 3-bracket panorama, you should have a value around 340%, 300 coming from bracket et 40% of real overlapping between different location.
* Improved Panini projection. You now have access to the horizontal field of view that was hidden before. This allows to get a larger view. We didn’t allow to get the maximal theoretical value because there is really too much distortion in that case, nevertheless, now, you can go beyond the first version.Note: You have to be aware that maximal horizontal field of view depends on the distance parameter. If you change the distance, the max changes. It is often a good way to get a larger field of view.
* Constraint-based masking and stack: we added another way to put a constraint on each image composing a stack with two new button dedicated to this action.
* When using move mode for image or full panorama, you can also hold the shift key to force motion only in one direction ( horizontal or vertical ). For panorama centering, that’s nice.

Seitz VR Drive II support

Seitz VR Drive II has a build-in mode that drives directly cameras, it is called the HDR mode. It setups for you the number of brackets, exposure, etc. Moreover, the VR Drive II also creates a Papywizard XML file. So, it seems adequate for us to create a super easy wizard that does everything out of VR Drive II. Now, in the Import module, you have a new plugin designed for VR Drive II HDR mode. Compared to the standard Papywizard plugin, it introduces in the main page an option to let you select from within the plugin the kind of output you want: tonemapped or true HDR. Behind the scene, it has been optimized to follow the way the head organized the shoots for an easy wizard.

RAW decoding

We changed how RAW decoding is done in this version of Autopano: be aware that decoded RAWs will be a little darker now than before. Here’s the explanation:

If you used to decode manually-exposed RAW files within Autopano, there were an automatic level done over the images during the RAW decoding. Then, the output images didn’t have the same exposure anymore, which could be an issue for the stitching. We removed this option from DCRAW engine and now you have a stable exposure. The drawback is that decoded RAWs look darker than before. Our previous design was to be able to have a decoded RAW exposed like the JPEG if produced by the camera, but it is not really possible anymore.

The good point with that change is that bracketing of RAW to produce HDR is now better. If you do bracketing with a large amount of eV between the shots, you end up with really dark images. With that changes, they stay dark and also don’t introduce anymore noise because of this RAW decoding auto level.

Miscellaneous

Other changes in this version:

* We support all new RAW formats from new cameras available in the market ( Nikon D800, Canon 5DMark3, etc ).
* When doing a Gigapan or Papywizard panorama, as the number of images can be fairly large, it could happen that the name of the produced images was wrongly numbered because it reached a 9999 value (the camera starts again the filename with 0000 ). In this case, you needed to rename the images before importing them because we used alphabetical order. Now, we use timestamps instead of alphabetical order when it is possible. It solves this issue.
* Is an image missing in a panorama? Just drag’n'drop it from a group to the panorama. Easy way to add an image to the panorama.

Using during beta stage

We believe in our community and in our customers that support us since a long year. The quality of a software application doesn’t come only by the quality of the developer ( come on, still a bit ), but from the quality of the communication between you and us. So for the v3, we decided to do the following:

You can try all alpha, beta of Autopano Pro/Giga for free during the pre-release stage of the products. You can even remove the watermark as soon as you have a legitimate v2 key.
All betas are limited in time. This Alpha 2 version will expire end of October.
With this approach, you can already start to use v3 in production work ( at your own risk, of course ). I hope that you will enjoy the v3 and report a lot of feedback on our forum about it.

Roadmap to the release

We are now concentrating only on reported bugs (no new feature will be introduced until the release version). There are 2 open bugs that still need some attention. First one is about GPU use on some computers. As we are using it a lot now for the real-time editor, it stresses a bit some old computers and in some cases, it doesn’t display anything on the screen ( issue 1396 ). Another topic is that some tools have a validation action that doesn’t seem to do anything but if you don’t use it, the panorama switches to its previous state. This is a design issue we need to adjust for the next version (issue 1457).

Download here : http://www.kolor.com/blog-en/2012/08/24/autopano-pro-autopano-giga-3-0-alpha-2-image-stitching-software/

If you need full changelog, it is on the blog or here : http://download.kolor.com/app/beta/history ( just a reminder )

Take care

Alexandre

User avatar
taf
Member
 
Posts: 2680
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:13 am
Location: Paaaaaaris !

by taf » Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:31 pm

C'est sympa...
en plus, j'ai quelques centaines de panos à  faire sur mon dernier voyage en Islande...
Et le bug sur le plug in dehazed me génait pas mal...

On va installer et tester cette nouvelle version...

en tout cas, la alpha 1 était super déjà ... j'ai fait quelques 200 panos cette semaines, et pas un plantage !!!
Look. There's a rhythmic ceremonial ritual coming up !

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm

by HansKeesom » Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:30 am

I read good things about RAW and stacks in the release notes, also in combination with the Constraint-based masking. Hope to import a stack of 9 RAWs straight into APG now and get better results in reasonable tme. A bit worried about my limited GPU(-memory) but will see how that works out. Is this alpha enough to base decision on about new GPU?

Just tried the new stacked contraint based masking. Great when having shot stacks of 9, saves me lots of work. I think this version is moving me into doing everything in APG, from RAW to panorama.
Last edited by HansKeesom on Sat Aug 25, 2012 1:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5920
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Mon Aug 27, 2012 8:26 am

taf wrote:en tout cas, la alpha 1 était super déjà ... j'ai fait quelques 200 panos cette semaines, et pas un plantage !!!

J'aime bien lire cela lundi matin :) Une bonne semaine commence !

no avatar
360panos
Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 2:05 pm

by 360panos » Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:30 am

Oui ca marche bien sous win 7 64 bits

plantage ( appli ne se lance pas ) sous XP 32 bits
plusieurs cas similaires évoques sur panophoto
Avant cette aventure dans un monde empoussiéré ..... on me connaissait comme "unbridgesinonrien"

User avatar
taf
Member
 
Posts: 2680
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:13 am
Location: Paaaaaaris !

by taf » Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:40 am

AlexandreJ wrote:
taf wrote:en tout cas, la alpha 1 était super déjà ... j'ai fait quelques 200 panos cette semaines, et pas un plantage !!!

J'aime bien lire cela lundi matin :) Une bonne semaine commence !

par contre, la semaine va être plus dure...
sur la alpha2, j'ai des trucs un peu zarb... :lol:

trois plantages déjà  (retour directe au bureau...
et par exemple, quelques fois, la correction de couleurs qui ne fait rien...
Look. There's a rhythmic ceremonial ritual coming up !

no avatar
360panos
Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 2:05 pm

by 360panos » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:25 pm

360panos wrote:Oui ca marche bien sous win 7 64 bits

plantage ( appli ne se lance pas ) sous XP 32 bits
plusieurs cas similaires évoques sur panophoto

Non l'installation sur XP 32 bits doit avoir un problème
j'ai tout desinstallé et reinstallé la version Giga 2.6 actuelle ==> OK mais si l'install de la version 3 se fait bien le soft plante au lancement avec le message habituel :

"Autopano Giga (Build 14/06/2012 ) a rencontré un problème et doit fermer. Nous vous prions de nous excuser pour le désagrément encouru."
Avant cette aventure dans un monde empoussiéré ..... on me connaissait comme "unbridgesinonrien"

no avatar
BrianLR
Member
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

by BrianLR » Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:43 pm

What happened to the Alpha 2 download the link goes to the Stable Software page but there is no sign of the Alpha 2 download.
Last edited by BrianLR on Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3387
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:06 pm

BrianLR wrote:What happened to the Alpha 2 download the link goes to the Stable Software page but there is no sign pf teh Alpha 2 download.

lets be optimistic... friday is release day :cool:
Georg

User avatar
DrSlony
Member
 
Posts: 1885
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:30 pm
Location: Sweden

by DrSlony » Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:31 pm

Great news! Will try it straight away :)

no avatar
BrianLR
Member
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

by BrianLR » Sun Sep 16, 2012 12:54 am

Alex wrote:* Constraint-based masking and stack: we added another way to put a constraint on each image composing a stack with two new button dedicated to this action.

What exactly is the difference between the two additional buttons and the original buttons?
Last edited by BrianLR on Sun Sep 16, 2012 1:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3387
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sun Sep 16, 2012 12:29 pm

BrianLR wrote:
Alex wrote:* Constraint-based masking and stack: we added another way to put a constraint on each image composing a stack with two new button dedicated to this action.

What exactly is the difference between the two additional buttons and the original buttons?

left ones: the mask is assigned to that indivudual image, so two neighboring images one has a red mask one the green mask
right ones: the mask is assinged to the stack of images, so one image of the stack holds the red mask another image of same stack holds the green mask.
Georg


Return to Announcements / Annonces

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest