Autopano Pro v1.3.1 Alpha 2  

Official news, releases information, status updates.
Annonces officielles, nouvelles versions, avancement.
User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5918
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

Autopano Pro v1.3.1 Alpha 2

by AlexandreJ » Mon Mar 05, 2007 6:50 pm

Okay, guys, here's the new alpha 2 version.

Where ? : http://en.wiki.autopano.net/Latest_Beta

We took some time to get it out because we have done a major revamp in our dev workflow here. We changed our source control system, we changed the build process, we added new platforms, etc.
Drawback ? It took some time.
Advantages ? Now, every new release for any supported plateform can be done far more easier and of course faster. Now, we're really close to a fully automatic nightbuild system (not there yet, but not far). With this changement, it will be easier for us to work for example on script to make rpm package automatically and still be sure of integrity of release.

We'll wait the next two weeks for any major bugs coming out from this alpha2 (we except some because of the switch of source control system : accents coding in code comments were not converted correctly causing some corruption in code lines ... anyway).
Next release mid/end march : 1.3.1 final stable (except if some big bug).

After that, we'll work on 1.4 version and fisheye support.

User avatar
[bo]
Member
 
Posts: 1226
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 8:16 am
Location: Bulgaria

by [bo] » Mon Mar 05, 2007 7:44 pm

Congrats on the new beta :) New bug reporting seems running OK for now, too.

I'd like to have some typos and wording fixed (at least in English) in the 1.3.1 final - I'll have a separate thread open.


ps: Split a topic.
Some of my panoramas, posted in the Autopano Pro flickr group.

User avatar
taf
Member
 
Posts: 2681
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:13 am
Location: Paaaaaaris !

by taf » Tue Mar 06, 2007 10:25 am

great news !
Look. There's a rhythmic ceremonial ritual coming up !

no avatar
hankkarl
Member
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA

by hankkarl » Sat Mar 10, 2007 6:21 pm

A2 seems very stable. I put it on my laptop and let it run on a 400+ image pano (mixed EOS 5D CR2 and large JPG files, portrait and a few landscape) and it ran for about 4 days without crashing. This laptop is an Athlon XP 2200+ 1.79Ghz with 480MB RAM (some of the 512 is used for the video, and so the system only has 480GB).

APP did not complete, there were a couple of system memory errors after four days and I think it hung after 3 or 3 1/2 days, but I think that this number of files is asking a lot of an underpowered laptop, and APP did a great job!

User avatar
phototrek
Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:48 am
Location: NorCal, USA

by phototrek » Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:07 pm

Now I seriously wonder what the purpose of such a single pano would be, done on a machine with 480MB RAM nonetheless...
iMac 27"
Canon Equipment

no avatar
hankkarl
Member
 
Posts: 1284
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA

by hankkarl » Sat Mar 10, 2007 11:14 pm

phototrek wrote:Now I seriously wonder what the purpose of such a single pano would be, done on a machine with 480MB RAM nonetheless...

Just testing to see what happens, there's no other reason. If APP doesn't break here, it probably won't break when I need it for real.

no avatar
doc
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 10:16 am

by doc » Sat Mar 17, 2007 11:51 am

According to the wiki, one of the new features in APP 1.3.1 A1 is :
Merge Panoramas. Select any number of panorama, merge them. If they have common pictures, everything will be placed according to previous optimization of individual panorama. So cool for big panoramas.

But how? I can't see any option to do this. I'm presuming that this is referring to merging the pre-rendered panos, not completed images?

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5918
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:45 pm

It is available through panorama editor file menu : merge panorama.

no avatar
doc
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 10:16 am

by doc » Sat Mar 17, 2007 2:26 pm

AlexandreJ wrote:It is available through panorama editor file menu : merge panorama.

I think I must be blind... I went through every menu, but somehow looked straight past it! Thanks!
Last edited by doc on Sat Mar 17, 2007 2:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
richardhc
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:35 am

by richardhc » Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:01 pm

No problems using the Alpha2 build. Amazing that you've made an already fabulous program even better. But I am dangling for the fisheye support. Hopefully it will include HDR blending. It would be nice also if you include a "convert to 6 sided cube rectolinear format" for rendering in flash presentations and quicktime. I've been using other fisheye programs while waiting for yours. Every one I process makes me long for Autopano Pro's fisheye support.

no avatar
Michael Ezra
Member
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:43 pm
Location: New York

by Michael Ezra » Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:04 pm

Alexandre,

Will you be able to make a release today? If not - when is it planned?
Thanks,

Michael

no avatar
l_archi
Member
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 9:05 pm

by l_archi » Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:44 pm

linux version ? :) debian unstable ?


Return to Announcements / Annonces

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron