Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:03 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 12:27 am 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 12:04 am
Posts: 5
Location: Lawrence, KS
Hello, I am currently using APT 1.1.0 beta 7 also krpano 1.0.8.0 beta 9o n a mac(snow leopard) I am trying to output 4 panoramas with several hotspots, etc

each time I go to export in flash the software crashes, this has happened numerous times... I have output a couple of other files with the beta and it worked fine...

Is there a limit to file size or number of hotspots? not sure why this is happening

Thanks in advance for any thoughts

Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:59 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13564
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
TimNauman wrote:
Hello, I am currently using APT 1.1.0 beta 7 also krpano 1.0.8.0 beta 9o n a mac(snow leopard) I am trying to output 4 panoramas with several hotspots, etc

each time I go to export in flash the software crashes, this has happened numerous times... I have output a couple of other files with the beta and it worked fine...

Is there a limit to file size or number of hotspots? not sure why this is happening

Thanks in advance for any thoughts

Tim

How large are your input files?

What cube face size have you specified for output?

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 2:31 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:18 am
Posts: 264
Hello Tim,

Could you tell us what is the size of the picture which makes your computer crash?

As you can read here : http://www.autopano.net/forum/t8299-out-of-memory :
Quote:
Currently APT doesn't support Gigapixel images because in the way it is done now, we need to lock the whole picture into memory (related to RAM) to export. So it depends too much on your configuration.
Anyway, the picture won't be exported to its full resolution (limited to 200MPixels).
But if you check http://www.autopano.net/forum/t8277-apt-beta-dev-plan , you'll see this is our main development those days. So expect more very soon.

Right now, if you really want gigapixel and are not afraid of krpano comand line tools, there still is some tools on his website to tile pictures. Here is a possible (and not personally tested) solution:
1/export a low def version of your panorama
2/do your visit with APT and this low def, export
3/tile the Gigapixel image with krpano tools (http://www.krpano.com/tools/)
4/replace the pano node in the APT generated XMl by the one provided by krpano
Hotspot placement should not be as precise as you wish (due to low def workspace), but this may provide a good working base for some beautiful gigapixel visit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 6:11 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 12:04 am
Posts: 5
Location: Lawrence, KS
I have 4 images as a part of the tour, info as follows

1) 5142X1684 px, 4.2mb jpeg
2) 5009X1053 px, 3.7mb jpeg
3) 5130X1693 px, 2.5mb jpeg
4) 14152X3432 px, 22.8mb jpeg

I have the cutting size set for each at 512

"What cube face size have you specified for output?" (bear with me, this is new to me...) not sure what this means?

Tim


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 6:31 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13564
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
TimNauman wrote:
I have 4 images as a part of the tour, info as follows

1) 5142X1684 px, 4.2mb jpeg
2) 5009X1053 px, 3.7mb jpeg
3) 5130X1693 px, 2.5mb jpeg
4) 14152X3432 px, 22.8mb jpeg

None of these are equirectangular images - with a 2:1 aspect ratio - so I guess they are partial panos with a spherical projection?

Why is the last image so much higher res. than the others?

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 6:39 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 12:04 am
Posts: 5
Location: Lawrence, KS
yes, partial panos...

not sure why the last image is much higher res... should i reduce the dimensions?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 7:31 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13564
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
TimNauman wrote:
yes, partial panos...

not sure why the last image is much higher res... should i reduce the dimensions?

Might be worth a try if your system is memory constrained - but that's just speculation on my part. I know nothing about Macs.

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 8:38 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3311
Location: Salzburg
Quote:
Hello, I am currently using APT 1.1.0 beta 7 also krpano 1.0.8.0 beta 9o n a mac(snow leopard)

APT 1.1.0 beta 7 uses krpano 1.0.8.0 beta 8
you says your're using krpano 1.0.8.0 beta 9

your crashes .... is APT crashing or krpano?
(headine ... its APT...)

Liebe Gruesse,
Georg


EDIT: sorry - you're rigth - krpano beta9 is used by APT beta7...

_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Last edited by gkaefer on Fri Feb 19, 2010 7:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 9:01 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 12:04 am
Posts: 5
Location: Lawrence, KS
I am using APT 1.1.0 beta 7 with krpano tools 1.0.8.0 beta 9

the kr pano viewer I have installed is 1.0.7

I am confused... should I uninstall krpano tools 1.0.8.0 beta 9 and you beta 8? and which viewer should I be using?




Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:02 am 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 12:04 am
Posts: 5
Location: Lawrence, KS
I ended re sizing the images to half their original dimensions... and output worked! I then resized to 90% of the original dimensions and it worked... Not sure why the problem occurred, but its working now


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group