[APT beta 7] - External links from hotspots not working  

This forum is fully dedicated to Autopano Tour. Bug report as well as feature discussion.
no avatar
JohnM
Member
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 9:47 pm

[APT beta 7] - External links from hotspots not working

by JohnM » Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:01 am

Hotspots with external links dont seem to work when using 2 panos and several hotspots with external links.

May anyone reproduce as a bug ?

John Myrstad

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14161
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:00 pm

JohnM wrote:Hotspots with external links dont seem to work when using 2 panos and several hotspots with external links.

May anyone reproduce as a bug ?

John Myrstad

Several hotspots each to an external link in each pano?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
JohnM
Member
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 9:47 pm

by JohnM » Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:07 am

Yes, but I have just added hotspots to one pano atm.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14161
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:30 am

JohnM wrote:Yes, but I have just added hotspots to one pano atm.

Just done a quick test.

Two panos in the tour. Each has three hotspots, one of each type (polygon, rectangular and point) and each with a different external link.

It all works fine in Firefox on Windows XP SP3.

I'm using the latest version of APT - V1.1 beta 7:
http://www.autopano.net/forum/t7116-apt-v1.1-beta
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
BrianLR
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

by BrianLR » Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:05 am

JohnM wrote:Hotspots with external links dont seem to work when using 2 panos and several hotspots with external links.

May anyone reproduce as a bug ?

John Myrstad

John,

Yes I can confirm this, I have had a problem accessing external URLS from hotspots. I have noticed this for some time, with versions APT 1.1.0 beta 6 & 7, using IE and Firefox on Windows 7.

Brian

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14161
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:15 am

BrianLR wrote:
JohnM wrote:Hotspots with external links dont seem to work when using 2 panos and several hotspots with external links.

May anyone reproduce as a bug ?

John Myrstad

John,

Yes I can confirm this, I have had a problem accessing external URLS from hotspots. I have noticed this for some time, with versions APT 1.1.0 beta 6 & 7, using IE and Firefox on Windows 7.

Brian

Is there anything unusual about those problem URLs? Some 'odd' syntax, perhaps?

I had no problems with hotspots linking to external URLs when conducting a quick test using Beta 7 and FF with Windows XP:
http://www.autopano.net/forum/p58401-2010-02-05-00-30-13#p58401
Last edited by mediavets on Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
BrianLR
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

by BrianLR » Thu Feb 11, 2010 3:26 pm

mediavets wrote:Brian
Is there anything unusual about those problem URLs? Some 'odd' syntax, perhaps?

I had no problems with hotspots linking to external URLs when conducting a quick test using Beta 7 and FF with Windows XP:
http://www.autopano.net/forum/p58401-2010-02-05-00-30-13#p58401

MediaVets, I have tried several urls and none work, here are two of the urls that I have tried that do not work, please could you try them and see if they work or not on your system, the syntax on these does not look unusual.

http://photoweblab.zenfolio.com/img/v3/p210754829-2.jpg

http://www.saudiaramcoworld.com/issue/200604/alhambra/default.htm

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14161
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:18 pm

BrianLR wrote:
mediavets wrote:Brian
Is there anything unusual about those problem URLs? Some 'odd' syntax, perhaps?

I had no problems with hotspots linking to external URLs when conducting a quick test using Beta 7 and FF with Windows XP:
http://www.autopano.net/forum/p58401-2010-02-05-00-30-13#p58401

MediaVets, I have tried several urls and none work, here are two of the urls that I have tried that do not work, please could you try them and see if they work or not on your system, the syntax on these does not look unusual.

http://photoweblab.zenfolio.com/img/v3/p210754829-2.jpg

http://www.saudiaramcoworld.com/issue/200604/alhambra/default.htm

Brian,

Now I am very confused.

I created a new tour with hotspots linking to your URLs.

The hotspots don't work, on local playback.
.......

I checked that my test tour I did the other day with hotspots linked to external URLs still worked - and it does.
.......

I hand edited the XML for the above working example and changed my original URLs to your URLs on the hotspots - and it works, the hotspots link to your external URLs just fine on local playback..
........

I am now at at a loss to explain what's going on.

Andrew
Last edited by mediavets on Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14161
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:16 pm

Brian,

I have been 'playing' some more with your issue of hotspots linked to external URLS.

I find that tours with hotspots lined to external URLs that don't work when played back locally do work when published to the Web.

I still have one tour that works when played back locally.

Why that one tour does work when played back locally and others only when published to the Web is beyond my understanding.

Perhaps Adrien can explain it?
Last edited by mediavets on Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
Adrien F
Member
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:18 am

by Adrien F » Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:40 am

Unfortunately I haven't been able to reproduce this behavior, nor locally, nor on external servers.
Thus it will be quite difficult to investigate it. We think this may be due to text encoding of URL in xml.
Could anyone who reproduced the bug tell us :
embedding xml or not?
which browser?
if known : which text encoding in web browser and in text editor?

thanks

no avatar
BrianLR
Member
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

by BrianLR » Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:19 am

Adrien F wrote:Unfortunately I haven't been able to reproduce this behavior, nor locally, nor on external servers.
Thus it will be quite difficult to investigate it. We think this may be due to text encoding of URL in xml.
Could anyone who reproduced the bug tell us :
embedding xml or not?
which browser?
if known : which text encoding in web browser and in text editor?

thanks

Adrien

XML was embedded
IE 8 and Firefox 3.5.7
How would I find the answer to "which text encoding in web browser and in text editor?"

Brian

no avatar
gerpho
Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 3:25 pm
Location: Paris France

by gerpho » Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:53 am

Hi
Same problem with the "logo" feature. The link to a website does not work. Operated locally on firefox last version, XP SP3.

Bonne chance pour cette recherche difficile !

Philippe


Return to Archive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest