Thumbnails dont work as set in parameters, only 1 will show  

This forum is fully dedicated to Autopano Tour. Bug report as well as feature discussion.
no avatar
digipano
Member
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:07 am

Thumbnails dont work as set in parameters, only 1 will show

by digipano » Wed Jan 06, 2010 4:11 pm

I cant have thumbnails shown in the tour with APT 1.1 beta 6
only 1 shows what ever I set thumbnail dimensions to either fix pixel size or to % size but all I get is just 1 thumbnail.

Win 7 x64
4gb ram
any other data required?



no avatar
digipano
Member
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:07 am

by digipano » Wed Jan 06, 2010 5:12 pm

I tried with 3 images this time & still get to see 1 thumbnail only, there's got be some reason for this bug.



no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:31 pm

digipano wrote:I tried with 3 images this time & still get to see 1 thumbnail only, there's got be some reason for this bug.

Did you change the order of the folder´s contents after generating the file in APT?

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
digipano
Member
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:07 am

by digipano » Wed Jan 06, 2010 6:35 pm

No nothing changed but surprisingly I tried another tour now which only had 6 images & now the thumbnails work like they work in your case.

So may be there is a limit as to how many thumbnails we can have in 1 tour, the tour in which I am failing was having 28 images , so I dropped few & tried with 18 images & 4% width but that does not work either so it seems some kind of bug or limit is set not sure so I cant confirm this.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:00 pm

digipano wrote:. . . the tour in which I am failing was having 28 images . . .

Good Lord . . . . who would view a tour of 28 nodes? ;)

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
digipano
Member
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:07 am

by digipano » Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:01 pm

This one is a mystery to me now.
I tried another set of images & added 17 of them to make a new tour & now all work fine from these set so don't know why only a certain set is not working with APT to show thumbnails.

Wild guess, the problem set of images are stitched with PTgui, could that be the reason? though I have checked they all are equirectangular & should work but for some reason they don't.

Its not really a bug but under certain conditions it produces no thumbnails.


Last edited by digipano on Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
digipano
Member
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:07 am

by digipano » Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:03 pm

klausesser wrote:
digipano wrote:. . . the tour in which I am failing was having 28 images . . .

Good Lord . . . . who would view a tour of 28 nodes? ;)

best, Klaus

Well how else would you do a tour for a big hotel or large properties?

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7882
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:18 pm

digipano wrote:
klausesser wrote:
digipano wrote:. . . the tour in which I am failing was having 28 images . . .

Good Lord . . . . who would view a tour of 28 nodes? ;)

best, Klaus

Well how else would you do a tour for a big hotel or large properties?

concentrate on the 10-15 most impressing places - not even a big hotel or a large property is impressing all over.
"Less is more!"

Just my 2cents :cool:

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
digipano
Member
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:07 am

by digipano » Fri Jan 08, 2010 4:36 pm

Problem solved but the issue remains a mystery.
The images were on my desktop folder I moved it to another disk partition & now thumbnails work fine, does it point to a possible bug???

no avatar
digipano
Member
 
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:07 am

by digipano » Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:49 pm

Klaus from krpano answered the issue & yes all my problem images were having numeric in beginning that was causing the thumbnail issue. Dont use number as your file name at start.
klaus.krpano wrote:the "name" of an element in krpano must begin with an alphabetic character!

when a numeric character is used as first character, then the name will be
interpreted as "index", in your case now always "54", therefore only one thumbnail,

I don't know why everything starts with "54f" in your example, but try just adding
an alphabetic character in front of it (e.g. "x54f") then it will work,

best regards,
Klaus

http://krpano.com/forum/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=1960
Last edited by digipano on Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Return to Archive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest