Page 1 of 1

wired Camera connection to Merlin

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 2:56 am
by irpano
Hi, - This maybe best answered by ClaudeVH, but others welcome.
Trying to use my older (But Very Good) Sony DSC F717 on my merlin head. Small enough so that I dont have to modify anything for Nodal points. Does anyone know the wiring connections for the stereo 2.5mm pin on the Sony remote to the 2.5mm pin that fits the merlin (Non goto) model
Thanks for any help.
John

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:18 am
by claudevh
Hello John,

Normally the Sony DSC F717 (a "nice camera of the past...") use a " wired remote control type RM-DR1"
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/SonyDSCF707/page4.asp
This Remote has "exactly the same characteristics" as the Canon ###D serie camera's ...
Thus, the "original Merlin cable for the remote control" should fit directly without modification.
You can try without risks, the Merlin remote control pass trough a opto device so that the camera and the Merlin are safe (no power contact) Please let-us know if OK ...

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:27 pm
by 120to120
Hallo claudevh, irpano

No, no - Sony F717 funktioniert mit Merlinkabel nicht!!!!!!!!

Sony F717 mit "JJC SR-828 Fernbedienung / umgebaut mit 2,5 Stereobuchse", und Stereokabel (Gnd und Spitze) OK!!!!!

Arbeite selbst mit dieser Kombination sehr gut.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:56 pm
by claudevh
Hello Jozef "120to120" thank-you for this important informations !

I will try to translate for "irpano" ....

"120to120" say that the original Merlin cable couldn't be used with the Sony !
The solution will be to transform a existing remote controler, the "JJC SR-828"with a "stereo 2.5 mm plug" and one stereo cable (Ground and tip connectors):
http://www.jjc.cc/products/semr_sr828.htm

Jozef could-you post a small schema of the transformed remote ?
(Wà¤re Jozef, er, wer mà¶glich ist, uns ein Schema der Anpassung zu senden?)
Herafter the connections of the Merlin cable

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:07 pm
by 120to120
Hallo claudevh,

stelle Morgen Fotos und Anleitung gerne zur Verfügung.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:35 pm
by claudevh
Thank-you Jozef ! :)

"irpano", Jozef will post some pictures and a small "how-to" for the transformation of the remote controler ! :D

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 1:58 am
by irpano
Thanks for the replys. I'll wait for josef's diagram and give it a try. Thanks to Claude for the translation service.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:47 pm
by 120to120
Hallo claudevh,
das gewünschte Foto. Verwende dazu ein 2-poliges Kabel mit 2 Stereostecker 2,5mm mit GND + Spitze !!!!

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 1:26 am
by irpano
Thanks Josef. As I am not confident in soldering anything to a circuit board and as a replacement for my RM DR1 is not easily obtained will the attached diagram work. I am assuming that a pulse from Merlin along the shutter circuit will trigger the camera. I'm not interested in the focus option as Ii would use manual focus anyway. I could get a tech to make up a cable for me it it works. (Just like the merlin to Canon eos cable i use). Thanks for the reply and I hope it was not a lot of trouble for you to do.
John

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:24 am
by mediavets
irpano wrote:Thanks Josef. As I am not confident in soldering anything to a circuit board and as a replacement for my RM DR1 is not easily obtained will the attached diagram work.
John

The JJC SR-828 is very easy to obtain:
http://tiny.cc/xSNTl

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:44 am
by 120to120
Hallo irpano, claudevh

Merlin und Sony F717 funktioniert nur inclusive Fernbedienung RM DR1 ( JJC SR-828), wobei die Fernbedienung mit einer 2,5mm Stereo-Buchse als Ersatz des manuellen "Auslà¶seknopfes" erweitert wird.

"Achtung - Sony F717 ist nicht wie Canon Dslr geschaltet". Die Sony F717 kann nur mittels der elektonischen Schaltung in der Fernsteuerung ausgelà¶st werden.

Bei mir hat nach langem experimentieren, nur diese Methode zum Erfolg geführt.
(Warum hat Sony eine Elektronik in der Fernsteuerung eingebaut, und Canon nicht???)

Sony F717 braucht eben diese Elektonik zum fernbedienen. Die nachtrà¤glich eingebaute 2,5mm Buchse dient dazu, das man damit die Auslà¶setaste nicht drücken muss, sondern durch "Kontaktgeben von Merlin" die F717 ausgelà¶st wird.

Canon hat in der Fernsteuerung keine elektonischen Elemente, sondern stellt nur den Kontakt her!!! Deshalb braucht man bei der Canon 300D auch keine Hand-Fernsteuerung verwenden, es reicht der Kontakt, der von dem Merlin kommt!

Da ich den Merlin auch mit Canon 300D benütze, war mir der Vergleich auch mà¶glich.

Hoffe, meine Informationen sind hilfreich.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:53 am
by claudevh
Hello "irpano",

irpano wrote:Thanks Josef. As I am not confident in soldering anything to a circuit board and as a replacement for my RM DR1 is not easily obtained will the attached diagram work.

According to Jozef ("120to120") the answer is "NO, NO, NO" !

As I am looking to your diagram, this is exactly the diagram of the "original Merlin head" !!! (OK for Canon ###D ...)
What I suggest to you is to make a small test to confirm that:
1. Connect the original Remote Merlin cable to your Sony DSC F717
2. set your Sony "on"
3. shorten the Ground and the Tip of the free stereo plug and see if the Sony "fire the shutter"
4. shorten the Ground and the medium of the free steroe plug and see if the Sony "activate the prerelease"

There is no risk for your camera (= free potential contact !)

If your test work correctly, you can use the "original Merlin cable" ...

If not the only solution is to find a cable like the one of Jozef .... you can find a friend who can make the transformation !?!

Please report the results of your tests !

As allready said by Mediavets, the remote is quite easy to find:

http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?LH_PrefLoc=2&_nkw=remote%20Sony%20DSC%20F717&_dmpt=Camera_Camcorder_Remotes&_fln=1&_trksid=p3286.c0.m283

Good luck

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 5:39 pm
by 120to120
Hallo claudevh,
noch ein Foto von meiner Ausrüstung!

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 7:19 pm
by claudevh
Many thanks Jozef,
Jozef Vielen Dank, ich glaube, John verstanden Ihre Erklà¤rung!

PostPosted: Tue Jan 19, 2010 4:34 am
by irpano
Claude and Josef. I have had a look at the method to control my Sony from Papywizard and can confirm that josef's advice is correct in that the wiring for a canon connection does not work. Sony seem to have reasons for the circuit board in the remote and direct connection to the 2.5 jack on the camera can not be utilized. Considering the cost of parts and modifications to the standard remote controller I have decided to use papywizard in step by step mode to capture any images form the sony. Thanks for the assistance and prompt replies. Will watch the forum with interest and continue to experiment with my gear.
Thanks John

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:25 am
by mediavets
irpano wrote:Considering the cost of parts and modifications to the standard remote controller I have decided to use papywizard in step by step mode to capture any images form the sony. Thanks for the assistance and prompt replies. Will watch the forum with interest and continue to experiment with my gear.
Thanks John

But the recommended Chinese clone remote - JJC SR-828 - is cheap...
http://tiny.cc/20Yhz

and the modification is simple...
http://www.autopano.net/forum/p57439-2010-01-14-22-47-17#p57439