Trouble with new Merlin with BT + N800 - Please HELP!  

Everything you need to motorize your head
no avatar
UrsaMinor
Member
 
Posts: 54
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 4:12 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Info

by UrsaMinor » Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:10 pm

Hello Claude,

The new mount has PIC 16F886 microcontroller (2 pieces). I didn't check the handcontroller.

The board looks similar but labeled as "Rev D" the old one is "Rev B".

The firmware version and other parameters read from the mount are:
:e1 =020581
:a1 =D3620E
:d1 =000080
:D1 =F90600
:s1 (error, this invalid for Merlin, but valid for larger mounts as EQ5)
:c1 =003C00
:b1 =4B4C00

I dont know the meaning of all these values but maybe they can give some idea to solve the positioning speed problem.

Tamas

no avatar
UrsaMinor
Member
 
Posts: 54
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 4:12 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Info

by UrsaMinor » Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:11 pm

The smile character is "D"1 :-)

Tamas

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Sat Nov 07, 2009 4:27 pm

Hi Tamas with "old" Merlin, I get the following

The "new Merlin" The "old Merlin"
:e1 =020581 :e1=010981 <------ clearly they change the firmware (Probably version 2 xxx)
:a1 =D3620E :a1=D3620E
:d1 =000080 :d1=000080
:D1 =F90600 :D1=F90600
:s1 !0 :s1 !0 (error, this invalid for Merlin, but valid for larger mounts as EQ5)
:c1 =003C00 :c1=003C00
:b1 =4B4C00 :b1 =4B4C00

To be investigate further !
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Sat Nov 07, 2009 9:31 pm

'a' return the value of the encoder for a full circle (360°).
'D' returns the divider for sidereal rate

'd' seems to return the encoder init value when the head is powered on.

Don't know what 'b' and 'c' return... Tamas, when all these values are sent? At startup?

I will add a call to these functions at Merlin/Orion init, so we will be able to track differences more easily.
Frédéric

User avatar
FelixAutopano
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 50
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:06 am
Location: Czech Republic
Info

by FelixAutopano » Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:08 am

Hello there, I have one more "problem".
When I have BT Interface connected and turn on Merlin - the BT doesn't start. I must unplug it and plug again (or turn on Merlin with unplugged BT and then plug the BT in).
Is it normal or not?
I think not. The RJ-11 surely isn't for "everyday :rolleyes:" connecting/disconnecting.
The God is Out There

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Wed Nov 18, 2009 11:35 am

Hello,

Did you have a NEW Merlin ? If not your message isn't at the right place ... ;)

Anyway, I never had problems with the RJ11, ... and in the context of configurations and testing of "PapyMerlin" BT module, I have maybe more then 1000 times connection/deconnetion operations allready done !!! :cool:

If you think that this could come from the RJ11, you can go in telephone shop with your BT device and ask that they give a new squize on your RJ11 and test again, if this is not working they can cut your cable and put a new connector for some pennies ... :D

Good luck
Last edited by claudevh on Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
FelixAutopano
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 50
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:06 am
Location: Czech Republic
Info

by FelixAutopano » Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:01 pm

I have the NEW Merlin. I have also the new BT device. Everything is functional, but what if ...?
I'm not cencerned for the connector on the BT device, but for the "female" connector in the Merlin head.
Anyway I understand from your reply, that is it normal to connect BT every time i switch on Merlin. Thanks.
Last edited by FelixAutopano on Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The God is Out There

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:13 pm

The "normal" procedure is :

- Plug the BT device in the Merlin
- Turn the Merlin ON (at this moment should the BT device turn automatically ON also, see light fickering on Led)
- Connect the BT module trough Papywizard (the Led of the BT device should light in continuous mode indicating the the connection between the PC and the BT is operational)
- After that Papywizard will indicate a "effective" connection with the Merlin OR a Pop-Up windows if case of connection failure between Papywizard and the Merlin head .

This way of working will avoid eventual glitches ...
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
FelixAutopano
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 50
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 11:06 am
Location: Czech Republic
Info

by FelixAutopano » Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:37 pm

So it ISN'T NORMAL that I must (after turning on the Merlin) disconnect and connect BT device to work.
In my case - when I turn on Merlin with BT connected - the BT device stays off (LED flashes not).
The God is Out There

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 4:15 pm

Are you batteries fully charged?
Frédéric

no avatar
panomax
New member
 
Posts: 4
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:51 pm
Location: Tulln, Austria
Info

by panomax » Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:03 pm

I had the same problem with my Merlin (shipped in october). I just got a connection after two or three times pluging in and out. After I could not get a connection any more I sent it back and got a new revised one. Now everything works fine and the LED is flashing everytime when I plug it in...
www.c-spot.at
timelapse photography, panoramic photography

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:16 pm

Hello Panomax,

Thank-you for the information !:)
You are not into our "known Papywizard users database" :rolleyes:
http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/view/Merlin-Orion-Papywizard_users_feedback

Could-you have a look on the database and send me yours info's directly by Email, I will fill-it in the database ... ;)
Many thanks :cool:
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:21 pm

We should add the Merlin firmware version on this database...
Frédéric

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:49 pm

This is allready done ... also in the template ! ;)
I fill-it when availlable ! :)
Last edited by claudevh on Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:17 pm

Trop fort !
Frédéric

Previous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron