gphoto2 and bracketed exposure short intro  

Everything you need to motorize your head
User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Thu May 26, 2011 1:05 pm

It seems that your gphoto2 version does not output values as the plugin expects them.

It can also be a camera specific issue (each camera uses a different lib, and they can output different formats. There is an effort to make a standard, but I don't know if it is done).
Frédéric

no avatar
Greg Nuspel
Member
 
Posts: 169
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Info

by Greg Nuspel » Thu May 26, 2011 1:13 pm

Thanks for looking into it. If I find a solution I'll be sure to post it.
--Greg Nuspel

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Thu May 26, 2011 1:47 pm

You will have to patch the plugin to remove the trailing 's' char. You can do it in the getConfig() method of the GphotoShell class, after the line 247, with something like:

Code: Select all
value = value[:-1]

A better solution would be to automatically remove all non digit trailing chars, so the plugin can work in any case.
Frédéric

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Thu May 26, 2011 1:52 pm

For example:

Code: Select all
i = -1
while not value[:i].isdigit():
    i -= 1
value = value[:i]
Frédéric

no avatar
Greg Nuspel
Member
 
Posts: 169
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Info

by Greg Nuspel » Fri May 27, 2011 12:26 am

Could it be that my camera outputs a 's' at the end of the shutter speed and that is the problem?
--Greg Nuspel

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Fri May 27, 2011 6:31 am

Yes, that's the problem; that's why I removed the last char in my first patch. The second patch is smarter and make a test... This should fix your issue.

I suggest you make a bug report to gphoto2, as it should not add this 's' (or they may have changed all camera outputs, and they all have the 's'?)
Frédéric

no avatar
Greg Nuspel
Member
 
Posts: 169
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Info

by Greg Nuspel » Fri May 27, 2011 12:11 pm

Sorry I read over the first post too fast when I saw the second. I added the patch to the plugin but now it stops responding while trying to connect with the hardware. I 'll write this up in the gphoto group.
--Greg Nuspel

no avatar
Greg Nuspel
Member
 
Posts: 169
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Info

by Greg Nuspel » Sat May 28, 2011 12:11 pm

It appears that my computer has an old version installed and I can't seem to get it to update. I've tried to install the new version of libgphoto2 but somethings not working. What version of Linux do you use, I will try to get it installed on my netbook so everything is up to date.
--Greg Nuspel

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Sat May 28, 2011 3:31 pm

I'm running a debian unstable (sid)...
Frédéric

Previous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron