gphoto2 and bracketed exposure short intro  

Everything you need to motorize your head
User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:34 pm

I made some tests, but I have several problems:

- the contact with the OTG cable is not very good, and the Nokia re-detect it as if it was unplugged/replugged;
- I have to run gphoto2 as root (even with the flag s set);
- gphoto2 reboots the Nokia as soon as I try to take a picture.

For the last problem, I read that it occurs when there is no card in the Nokia. But I have one...

I will make more tests as soon as I have time.

PS : Andrew, I sent you an OTG cable this morning.
Frédéric

no avatar
lordtangent
Member
 
Posts: 29
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:23 am
Info

by lordtangent » Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:20 am

I ran into problems also. But I didn't even get as far as fma38. I was basically stuck at trying to run as Root.

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:09 am

To become root, use the command:

sudo gainroot
Frédéric

User avatar
jplorge
Member
 
Posts: 214
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 11:42 pm
Location: Belgium
Info

by jplorge » Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:34 pm

Hey everyone,
I tested the plug-in by Jeongyun with my Nikon D70 on Ubunyu 9.1.
I just changed the line 141:
if line.endswith('/shutterspeed'):
by
if line.endswith('/nikon-shutterspeed'):

I have a small question:
whatever the exposure time measured it's always the same gap but 1stop least, would it be interesting to enter the exposure time measured by the camera and have 1 / 3 or 1 / 2 stop.

But it works very well already.
Thank you, Jeongyun
Jean-Pierre
Merlin/Orion firmware : 01.09.81 panohead + Papywizard on XP PC and Linux Ubuntu 9.1 & Nokia 800
Manfrotto 303 PAN HEAD with Nikon D70 + Nikon 18-70 in kit - Nikon 80-200 F 2.8 old - Sigma 10-20
Assembly : Ptgui 9.1.3

User avatar
jplorge
Member
 
Posts: 214
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 11:42 pm
Location: Belgium
Info

by jplorge » Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:26 pm

Your plug-in do well without changing line 141,
i'm sorry to write that.
Jean-Pierre
Merlin/Orion firmware : 01.09.81 panohead + Papywizard on XP PC and Linux Ubuntu 9.1 & Nokia 800
Manfrotto 303 PAN HEAD with Nikon D70 + Nikon 18-70 in kit - Nikon 80-200 F 2.8 old - Sigma 10-20
Assembly : Ptgui 9.1.3

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Tue Mar 30, 2010 6:45 pm

There is an issue with gphoto2 (or more probably with camera firmware): even if the camera is set to 1/2EV step, gphoto2 retreive the list with 1/3EV step. So, when it computes values, it may found one the camera doesn't understand. So, you have to use 1/3EV step on the camera to avoid problems.

At least, this is happening with my Canon 20D.

About step used in the plugin, I think values below 1EV are not really usefull for bracketing if you intend to enfuse images...
Frédéric

User avatar
jplorge
Member
 
Posts: 214
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 11:42 pm
Location: Belgium
Info

by jplorge » Tue Mar 30, 2010 8:10 pm

Yes, my tests are ok with 1EV.
i don't know if you have the same like me:
with
gphoto2 --capture-image-and-download
all images be saved on HD (interesting for gigapan in hdr but slowly)
my setting in .gphoto
gphoto2=port=usb:
gphoto2=model=Nikon DSC D70 (PTP mode)
ptp2=capturetarget=card
libgphoto=cached-images=2
gphoto2=filename=/home/jpl/images_test/nikD70_%d_%m_%y_%H_%M_%S.jpeg
and with
gphoto2 --capture-image
all images be saved on the CF card it's great and really speedy (interesting if jpeg shoots and 4GB card or when the shooting are made by Nokia OTG if it works, i don't test it).
Jean-Pierre
Merlin/Orion firmware : 01.09.81 panohead + Papywizard on XP PC and Linux Ubuntu 9.1 & Nokia 800
Manfrotto 303 PAN HEAD with Nikon D70 + Nikon 18-70 in kit - Nikon 80-200 F 2.8 old - Sigma 10-20
Assembly : Ptgui 9.1.3

User avatar
jplorge
Member
 
Posts: 214
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 11:42 pm
Location: Belgium
Info

by jplorge » Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:05 pm

Hi all,
My first test on the Nokia N800:
with "usb-otg-plugin_0.0_armel.deb" intalled
i have one cable mini_to_normal > femal-femal > normal_to_mini cable.
1) in mass strorage mode i can access to my CF card on the Nikon D70 and any usb HD or stick mount well.
2) in ptp mode , i have a message "cannot connect to terminal"
3) some command line with gphoto2 --

bash-3.2$ gphoto2 --list-ports
Devices found: 4
Path Description
--------------------------------------------------------------
disk:/media/mmc1 Media 'Volume (vfat)'
disk:/media/mmc2 Media 'Volume (vfat)'
ptpip: PTP/IP Connection
usb: Universal Serial Bus
___________________________________________________________________
bash-3.2$ gphoto2 --camera=nikon
*** Error (-105: 'Unknown model') ***
___________________________________________________________________

bash-3.2$ gphoto2 -a
Abilities for camera : Mass Storage Camera
Serial port support : no
USB support : no
Capture choices :
: Capture not supported by the driver
Configuration support : no
Delete selected files on camera : yes
Delete all files on camera : no
File preview (thumbnail) support : no
File upload support : yes
bash-3.2$ gphoto2 --abilities
Abilities for camera : Mass Storage Camera
Serial port support : no
USB support : no
Capture choices :
: Capture not supported by the driver
Configuration support : no
Delete selected files on camera : yes
Delete all files on camera : no
File preview (thumbnail) support : no
File upload support : yes
_______________________________________________________________
/ # gphoto2 --usbid=______________________> i think it was the big way to have the connection__________________________________
Use the following syntax a:b=c:d to treat any USB device detected as a:b as c:d instead. a b c d should be hexadecimal numbers beginning with '0x'.
*** Error (-2: 'Bad parameters') ***
____________________________________________________________________________________________
/ # gphoto2 --list-files
There is no file in folder '/'.
There is no file in folder '/DCIM'.
There is no file in folder '/FOR-LINUX_TO_NOKIA_FILM'.
There is no file in folder '/Musics'.
There is no file in folder '/Papy'.
There is no file in folder '/__.gphoto'.
There is no file in folder '/backups'.
There is no file in folder '/backups/Sauvegarde01'.
There is no file in folder '/backups/Sauvegarde02'.
There is no file in folder '/backups (copie)'.
There is no file in folder '/backups (copie)/Sauvegarde01'.
There is no file in folder '/camera'.
There is no file in folder '/camera/images'.
There is no file in folder '/cumulus'.
There is no file in folder '/papywizard2'.
There is no file in folder '/papywizard2/plugins'.
___________________________________________________________ it's my mmc card
/ # gphoto2 --auto-detect
Model Port
----------------------------------------------------------
Mass Storage Camera disk:/media/mmc1
/ # echo otg > /sys/devices/platform/musb_hdrc//mode
/ # gphoto2 --auto-detect
Model Port
----------------------------------------------------------
Mass Storage Camera disk:/media/mmc1
_______________________________________________
Et voilà 
Not for today....
:-(
Jean-Pierre
Merlin/Orion firmware : 01.09.81 panohead + Papywizard on XP PC and Linux Ubuntu 9.1 & Nokia 800
Manfrotto 303 PAN HEAD with Nikon D70 + Nikon 18-70 in kit - Nikon 80-200 F 2.8 old - Sigma 10-20
Assembly : Ptgui 9.1.3

User avatar
jplorge
Member
 
Posts: 214
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 11:42 pm
Location: Belgium
Info

by jplorge » Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:14 am

Hi, all
i find this : usbid =
04c3 N800 Internet Tablet
and
04b0 Nikon Corp.
0102 Coolpix 990
0103 Coolpix 880
0104 Coolpix 995
0106 Coolpix 775
0107 Coolpix 5000
0108 Coolpix 2500
0109 Coolpix 2500 (ptp)
010a Coolpix 4500
010b Coolpix 4500 (ptp)
010d Coolpix 5700 (ptp)
010e Coolpix 4300 (storage)
010f Coolpix 4300 (ptp)
0110 Coolpix 3500 (Sierra Mode)
0111 Coolpix 3500 (ptp)
0112 Coolpix 885 (ptp)
0113 Coolpix 5000 (ptp)
0114 Coolpix 3100 (storage)
0115 Coolpix 3100 (ptp)
0117 Coolpix 2100 (ptp)
0119 Coolpix 5400 (ptp)
011d Coolpix 3700 (ptp)
0121 Coolpix 3200 (ptp)
0122 Coolpix 2200 (ptp)
0126 Coolpix 8800
0129 Coolpix 4800 (ptp)
012c Coolpix 4100 (storage)
012d Coolpix 4100 (ptp)
012e Coolpix 5600 (ptp)
0130 Coolpix 4600 (ptp)
0135 Coolpix 5900 (ptp)
0142 Coolpix P2 (ptp)
0136 Coolpix 7900 (storage)
0137 Coolpix 7900 (ptp)
0202 Coolpix SQ (ptp)
0203 Coolpix 4200 (mass storage mode)
0204 Coolpix 4200 (ptp)
0205 Coolpix 5200 (storage)
0206 Coolpix 5200 (ptp)
0301 Coolpix 2000 (storage)
0302 Coolpix 2000 (ptp)
0402 DSC D100 (ptp)
0403 D2H (mass storage mode)
0404 D2H SLR (ptp)
0405 D70 (mass storage mode)
0406 DSC D70 (ptp)
0408 D2X SLR (ptp)
0409 D50 digital camera
040a D50 (ptp)
040c D2Hs
040e DSC D70s (ptp)
0413 D40 (mass storage mode)
4000 Coolscan LS 40 ED
on this site http://bbs.wuyou.com/viewthread.php?tid=115667
Jean-Pierre
Merlin/Orion firmware : 01.09.81 panohead + Papywizard on XP PC and Linux Ubuntu 9.1 & Nokia 800
Manfrotto 303 PAN HEAD with Nikon D70 + Nikon 18-70 in kit - Nikon 80-200 F 2.8 old - Sigma 10-20
Assembly : Ptgui 9.1.3

User avatar
jplorge
Member
 
Posts: 214
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 11:42 pm
Location: Belgium
Info

by jplorge » Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:38 am

Jean-Pierre
Merlin/Orion firmware : 01.09.81 panohead + Papywizard on XP PC and Linux Ubuntu 9.1 & Nokia 800
Manfrotto 303 PAN HEAD with Nikon D70 + Nikon 18-70 in kit - Nikon 80-200 F 2.8 old - Sigma 10-20
Assembly : Ptgui 9.1.3

no avatar
jeongyun
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:54 pm
Info

by jeongyun » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:00 am

Good news everyone..

Just a moment aog, I was able to use gphoto2 on N810 with my old D30.
And I had NO PROBLEM.

The key was using a *powered hub* between N810 and the camera.
(Stupid me. a few months ago I had an idea of using hub but didn't power it up then)

Here's a simple diagram

N810 -- USB cable (that came with N810) -- Female-to-Mini-B-male -- USB Hub -- USB cable -- Camera


So, I opened up xterm.
# sudo gainroot
# usbcontrol &

Clicked 'Host' button
Then it detected all usb devices attached to the hub (I had 6 other stuff still connected to the hub)

# gphoto2 --set-config shutterspeed=1 --capture-image

it worked

# gphoto2 --set-config shutterspeed=2 --capture-image

it worked too.
No crash.

Then I unplugged the camera and N810 didn't crash or anything.
No drama.

N810 didn't even reboot when the memory card was not it.

When I had connected N810 directly to the camera via usb cables and a femal-to-female adapter, gphoto2 caused N810 to reboot if memory card wasn't in the camera.
Also, it almost always crashed as soon as gphoto2 finished.

Now everything seems to work perfectly so far.

So, I believe there are battery powered USB hubs.. :-)
You know what I'm going to do ;-)

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:16 am

Thanks for the feedback!
Frédéric

no avatar
jeongyun
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:54 pm
Info

by jeongyun » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:22 am

fma38 wrote:Thanks for the feedback!

You are welcome!

--capture-image-and-download also worked.

I'd like to do more experiments, but I need to sleep. It's 5 AM here.
You have no idea how much I'm excited though.

I was about to buy a Pandora Handheld, or SmartQ 5 or 7.
Also was debating SmartQ 5 vs 7 because SQ7 has USB host but 7" big while SQ5 is smaller but USB OTG only..
That lead me to this result.. what a twist.

no avatar
jeongyun
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:54 pm
Info

by jeongyun » Fri Jun 25, 2010 11:27 am

Found this
The only battery powered hub I could find.
http://reviews.cnet.com/hubs/cyberpower-cp-h420mp-4/4505-3335_7-31128553.html

But
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=4935

The Cyberpower Hub provides power via batteries to the Female USB Ports. However, it does not provide power to the male plug. The Nokia needs this power on the Male plug in order to trip the host mode. So what I did was I took a regular wire and soldered it from a point on one of the Female Ports to the Male Plug. This borrows power from the female and brings it to the male.

NOTE: Try to find a thinner wire than the one I had. Mine was thick so the cover of my USB Hub wouldn't go back on anymore. I was too lazy to get another wire and redo it so I just let it run without a cover lol. Good luck!

1. Take off the cover
2. Pull out the red circuit board (keep it attached of course)
3. On the bottom of the board, I got a small wire and here's what I soldered it to:

EDIT.
Found another one
http://usb.brando.com/usb-solar-charging-4-port-hub_p00984c039d15.html
Last edited by jeongyun on Fri Jun 25, 2010 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
Gordon
Member
 
Posts: 357
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Deep in the woods, UK
Info

by Gordon » Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:04 pm

2000th Member :D

GigaPixel Experimenter
Gigapan Beta Unit, Canon Powershot S5IS, Canon 350D, Nikon D40, Manfrotto Tripod, BT-Serial + Papywizard on Nokia 770, Fully-Operational Merlin the Wizard Unit!!!

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:05 pm

I think the power on the male connector is only mandatory for the 770; N8x0 don't need it. At least, with my OTG cable, my N800 automatically switches to host mode, without any power... And I don't think that any usb hub send power supply on the male connector, as they are made to be connected with real usb host ports, which already have their power supply.

And I think it should not be difficult to make your own cable...
Frédéric

no avatar
jeongyun
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:54 pm
Info

by jeongyun » Fri Jun 25, 2010 1:56 pm

On my Mac, system info shows that my DSLR requires 100mA.
I guess that's what is needed.

I think I'll just get that $20 solar charging usb hub, or will find a way to use Merlin head's 12V output.

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:10 pm

While it is unlikely you will find a powered usb hub that uses other than 5v, chips that will convert a wide range of voltages to 5v are quite plentiful these days as it's a very popular thing to do. (They are in every little cigarette lighter usb charger, and in fact the simplest way to get one might be to buy one of those and tear it apart to put things in a smaller box.)

I am curious though. Are there any cell phones or PDAs that can readily go into host mode and usb connect to the camera? Do they all have to provide some minimal power even to powered devices like the camera? A hack for android to do usb host was just released (but requires a rooted phone)

no avatar
jeongyun
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:54 pm
Info

by jeongyun » Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:57 pm

I am going to use a 'battery' powered usb hub. So power source is not a problem with that.
Those two hubs are about he size of N810. That to me is perfectly fine.

I don't know of any handheld device that has USB host mode other than Pandora Handheld.

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:47 pm

A bit pricey, the Pandora. So that leaves you with the powered hub (on devices that can even get to usb host mode) or other tricks like USB over bluetooth or over wifi. USB over bluetooth is tricky since USB low bandwidth (1.5mbit) almost fills up Bluetooth EDR. Wireless usb bridges don't seem to easy to find either for those who do have a remote USB computer. There is a bluetooth shutter trigger (not that complex) but tethering does seem very appealing.

no avatar
bradtem
Member
 
Posts: 219
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:42 pm
Info

by bradtem » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:05 pm

Another note: Many tiny USB hubs have a very small barrel connector jack for putting in 5v power. And it's also not hard to find cables that go from usb to that barrel connector, which you can plug into the typical cigarette lighter usb power sources, or rather the guts of one if you take it apart and then wire it to use the external power of the Merlin. That might be the smallest and most convenient way to do this.

Or of course a laptop but I've now learned how annoying it is to use even a netbook when you have to hike to the shooting location.

There may even exist some powered single extenders, but you probably want a hub anyway since once you are doing tethered shooting you might has well just get a usb to TTL-serial adapter and control the merlin with that rather than an independent bluetooth serial.

no avatar
jeongyun
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:54 pm
Info

by jeongyun » Sat Jun 26, 2010 2:27 am

Tried Y cable instead of powered hub.
Didn't work. Though I think this cable is faulty because it didn't work with PC and Mac either.
Last edited by jeongyun on Sat Jun 26, 2010 4:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
Greg Nuspel
Member
 
Posts: 169
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Info

by Greg Nuspel » Thu May 26, 2011 11:50 am

I just tried using the gphoto plugin when I try to connect the hardware it shows it connects but doesn't initialize. I am using a netbook running Mint 10 and a Nikon D300. I can get Gtkam to connect to the camera. Are there some files I have to modify to create the proper connection?
--Greg Nuspel

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Thu May 26, 2011 12:01 pm

What error did you get in the logs?
Frédéric

no avatar
Greg Nuspel
Member
 
Posts: 169
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Info

by Greg Nuspel » Thu May 26, 2011 12:13 pm

Here is the error I get in the log
Code: Select all
2011-05-26 05:08:14,782::Main::DEBUG::GphotoShell.__sendCmd(): cmd='ls'
2011-05-26 05:08:15,021::Main::DEBUG::GphotoShell.__sendCmd(): cmd='list-config'
2011-05-26 05:08:15,207::Main::DEBUG::GphotoShell.__sendCmd(): cmd='get-config /main/capturesettings/shutterspeed'
2011-05-26 05:08:15,373::Main::EXCEPTION::PluginsConnector.connectPlugins()
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/papywizard/plugins/pluginsConnector.py", line 126, in start
    plugin.init()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/papywizard/plugins/gphotoBracketPlugins.py", line 497, in init
    if float(self.__availableSpeeds[1]) > float(self.__availableSpeeds[2]):
ValueError: invalid literal for float(): 0.0002s
2011-05-26 05:08:15,379::Main::ERROR::Connection failed to start
--Greg Nuspel

PreviousNext

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest