replacement crown for Merlin: demand poll  

Everything you need to motorize your head
no avatar
teleskop-austria
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Vienna
Info

replacement crown for Merlin: demand poll

by teleskop-austria » Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:07 pm

hello dear Merlin friends,

please post here if you need a replacement crown for the Merlin mount,
we want to check if there is demand to develop and produce such a product.

thank you very much

Tommy Nawratil
(teleskop-austria.com)

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:59 pm

teleskop-austria wrote:hello dear Merlin friends,

please post here if you need a replacement crown for the Merlin mount,
we want to check if there is demand to develop and produce such a product.

thank you very much

Tommy Nawratil
(teleskop-austria.com)

Same old problem - uncertainty (on my part) about what you are offering.

If you are seeking to prove there's no demand then fine... but if you really want to find out what demand might be I think you have to spell out the offer in more detail.

It would of course, at least in my case, depend upon precisely what you are offering, and at what price, and what shipping costs are. And what methods of payment you would accept. And what lead times on delivery from order are.

I'm not ready to sign a blank cheque.

I don't want a crown replacement 'at any price'.

And I don't want something that I have to take to a local machine shop to have more work done on it.

...........

So I'll wait and see what Frank (bigwade) has to tell us about the part you are making for him.
Last edited by mediavets on Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:13 pm

I think it would be nice to have some sort of universal crown. Using the idea of SpeedyPan, we could make a thin base, with the friction face, and taped holes. Then, several discs, with different thickness, with holes so the screws can go to the taped holes.

We should carfully choose the thickness, so it will answer to several needs. Same for the holes: it is not difficult to have several holes for different needs (some for the Manfrotto rail).

Hope I'm clear...
Frédéric

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:14 pm

Andrew,

it's really a hen and egg problem ...

how TA should now what to offer without detailled demand from Merliners
anybody has a different cam with a couple of lenses, different rails, different QRs
anybody has different meanings how to use the Merlin
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:40 pm

fma38 wrote:I think it would be nice to have some sort of universal crown. Using the idea of SpeedyPan, we could make a thin base, with the friction face, and taped holes. Then, several discs, with different thickness, with holes so the screws can go to the taped holes.

We should carfully choose the thickness, so it will answer to several needs. Same for the holes: it is not difficult to have several holes for different needs (some for the Manfrotto rail).

Hope I'm clear...

That is a good idea.
And now we have to find out what camera's are used most to get to the prefered A value.

Canon 450D/5D/5DMk2
Last edited by bigwade on Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:51 pm

bigwade wrote:And now we have to find out what camera's are used most to get to the prefered A value.

Yep! I use a Canon 20D (don't remember the A value...)
Frédéric

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:14 pm

I think the crown should be as thin as possible. 10mm should be possible. Then it would be great to have a rail on it which is thinner than the Manfrotto 357 (which is 20mm in total).

Lets suppose we manage to create an 10mm rail system... we would get a system that would allow up to A=62mm. That would be enough, I think... even a D3 owner could do the additional trick with separating the vertical Merlin arm 10mm apart and would be fine.

The missing mm for the smaller cams could be filled by an quick release system like Paul's or by distance plates between the cam and the rail.

In my case (as an example) with A=42 I would need the crown with the rail (20mm), the quick release system (18mm I think) and a 2mm distance plate. If I would switch to a A=43mm, I would only need an 1mm distance plate for maybe 2-3€, if I would switch to a D700 (A=49mm) I would have to forget the quick release and buy an 9mm distance plate and so on....

Hmm... of course I would also have to buy a new 1/4" screw with any new cam.

For sure this is still a workaround solution, but maybe one we can live with.

The best solution at all would be to build a new housing for Merlin with an longer and movable vertical arm :cool:
Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:31 pm

SpeedyPan wrote:The best solution at all would be to build a new housing for Merlin with an longer and movable vertical arm :cool:

it should go without a new housing:
just adding to profiles 20x20 where the two parts join

T-slot nuts to lock the the upper part and the lower part can be slideable to a specified clearance

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

if the crown thickness is less than 16mm one could not use the rail in max length as it collides with the vertical arm

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
rail:
a cheap and very stable solution are these profiles 40x10mm with two slots ~10.-€ per meter
QRs are mountable slideable with T-slot nuts
Image




Last edited by Paul on Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:32 pm

SpeedyPan wrote:The best solution at all would be to build a new housing for Merlin with an longer and movable vertical arm :cool:

Yes, why not? But it will increase the final price...
Frédéric

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:51 pm

Can we stay OT ?
Crown design and needs ?

I agree if some one could mail the chineese factory to make a basic Merlin with very small footprint and more space...
for the same amount of money and maybe a little faster..
grtz!

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:54 pm

If I wouldn't love my Merlin that much I would disassemble it this night to check this out ;)

Paul... would the solution you think of also move up the vertical arm?
Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:56 pm

Paul... how thick is your POM crown?
Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:58 pm

POM crown is 17mm thick

SpeedyPan wrote:Paul... would the solution you think of also move up the vertical arm?

yes, it moves the vertical arm up 2cm


Last edited by Paul on Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
teleskop-austria
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Vienna
Info

by teleskop-austria » Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:59 pm

hello Andrew,

this thread is to check if there is enough demand for such a replacement crown. If we get a dozen or more "yes", then lets go to work and design and produce something, which will be offered then. Nobody is obliged to buy the thing by voting now, its just to get an idea about the demand, even before we know exactly how the thing will look like. It's not the first time we produce such specialized devices. Before producing its not unwise to see if there is possibly a market, isn't it?

So if you possibly could need such a thing, just vote yes.

I am very happy to read about all these ideas, thank you SpeedyPan, fma38, Paul, bigwade! Go on brainstorming!

regarz, Tommy

PS(t): My goodness, while I write this 7 new posts appeared...
PPS: We could tell our chinese friends to produce a new housing, but we would be obliged to
buy 1000 pieces or so...
Last edited by teleskop-austria on Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:07 pm

Paul wrote:-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

if the crown thickness is less than 16mm one could not use the rail in max length as it collides with the vertical arm

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
rail:
a cheap and very stable solution are these profiles 40x10mm with two slots ~10.-€ per meter
QRs are mountable slideable with T-slot nuts
http://www.alcom-worldwide.com/de/images/s1054010.jpg

So with the standard Merlin, the base should be 17mm, right ?
And these nice rails 40x10mm can be used.
Don't forget the camera screw at the back of the rail..
That makes 27mm.
Is that enough to mount most camera's with or without QM ?
And what should be the size of the adjustment rings ?
2mm ? 3mm? 5mm ?
Last edited by bigwade on Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:12 pm

bigwade wrote:Don't forget the camera screw at the back of the rail..

forget the cam screw if you need max clearance, cam can be fixed with either a sliding plate or a QR
fortunately my E-510 has a small A, so I can slide the QR to get the NPP I need for different focal lenghts
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:18 pm

bigwade wrote:
Paul wrote:-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

if the crown thickness is less than 16mm one could not use the rail in max length as it collides with the vertical arm

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
rail:
a cheap and very stable solution are these profiles 40x10mm with two slots ~10.-€ per meter
QRs are mountable slideable with T-slot nuts
http://www.alcom-worldwide.com/de/images/s1054010.jpg

So with the standard Merlin, the base should be 17mm, right ?
And these nice rails 40x10mm can be used.
Don't forget the camera screw at the back of the rail..
That makes 27mm.
Is that enough to mount most camera's with or without QM ?
And what should be the size of the adjustment rings ?
2mm ? 3mm? 5mm ?

The screw doesn't really need to come out of the rail... look at your Manfrotto rail.

Crown=17mm + rail=10mm would mean A=max. 55mm... I think ;)
Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:18 pm

teleskop-austria wrote:PPS: We could tell our chinese friends to produce a new housing, but we would be obliged to
buy 1000 pieces or so...

Just ask them ?
It's crisis in China too
If they can make it with the slimmest housing possible, ext. power, same ore better specs..
You will sell 250+ of these units, I'm sure..
But hey, let's stay OT :)

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:20 pm

SpeedyPan wrote:The screw doesn't really need to come out of the rail... look at your Manfrotto rail.

Yep ! :) you are right !

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:25 pm

SpeedyPan wrote:Crown=17mm + rail=10mm would mean A=max. 55mm... I think ;)

digged it up here:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/3/3a/All_Camera_to_be_pub.pdf

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:40 pm

teleskop-austria wrote:hello Andrew,

this thread is to check if there is enough demand for such a replacement crown. If we get a dozen or more "yes", then lets go to work and design and produce something, which will be offered then. Nobody is obliged to buy the thing by voting now, its just to get an idea about the demand, even before we know exactly how the thing will look like. It's not the first time we produce such specialized devices. Before producing its not unwise to see if there is possibly a market, isn't it?

So if you possibly could need such a thing, just vote yes.

I am very happy to read about all these ideas, thank you SpeedyPan, fma38, Paul, bigwade! Go on brainstorming!

regarz, Tommy

PS(t): My goodness, while I write this 7 new posts appeared...
PPS: We could tell our chinese friends to produce a new housing, but we would be obliged to
buy 1000 pieces or so...

Tommy

I completely understand you, but maybe you ask the wrong guys. We are a dirty dozen of freaks and some of us allready modified their crowns. I have seen POM, alloy, wood, a cut one and my perspex one.

You should think of and ask thousands of photographers out there that allready bought (or plan to buy) a Nodal Ninja, Kaidan, Manfrotto, MK or any other panorama head. Some of these heads costs even more than Merlin+Bluetooth+Nokia and I can see very few benefits of these against the Merlin. This are the guys you can sell to many crowns... and Merlins... and Bluetooth modules.

But these people doesn't even know of Merlin. And many (or most) of these who found Merlin by accident don't have the skills or the time to make it work by reading hundreds of posts, soldering cables, building crowns and so on. Your bluetooth module made it much easier... for example to me.

Best, Helmut
Last edited by SpeedyPan on Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Fri Mar 20, 2009 9:50 pm

teleskop-austria wrote:hello Andrew,
.....
So if you possibly could need such a thing, just vote yes.

Tommy,

Yes.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:01 pm

SpeedyPan wrote:Tommy

I completely understand you, but maybe you ask the wrong guys

Is it ?
It's the Papywizard control software what made this Merlin community.
So Tommy is asking it to the right guys I think.
Freaks........ maybe :)
The rest will follow........
Last edited by bigwade on Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:07 pm

A bit OffTopic - bit i think kit fits in here:

Here´s an idea to cut off a piece of the Merlin´s base to get a stronger downlook-angle which results in a smaller footprint/Nadir-hole. That´s small enough to close it with one additional shot.
In the marked area no mechabnical or otherwise vital parts are located.

I´ll be talking to a mechanic next week - for him it should be easy to do.
Of course this is only relevant for shooting spheres . . but that´s an ideal task for the Merlin - shooting from a mast or a high tripod. When i use my Gitzo No.5 i can lift the head up to about 3,5m without additional parts.
But the footprint is too big to close it easily.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
Gordon
Member
 
Posts: 357
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Deep in the woods, UK
Info

by Gordon » Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:41 pm

I'd liked to vote yes.

Gordon
2000th Member :D

GigaPixel Experimenter
Gigapan Beta Unit, Canon Powershot S5IS, Canon 350D, Nikon D40, Manfrotto Tripod, BT-Serial + Papywizard on Nokia 770, Fully-Operational Merlin the Wizard Unit!!!

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests