Papywizard Alternatives  

Everything you need to motorize your head
no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:51 pm

120to120 wrote:Why is this so?
4) I already have these cameras from the list

You want an easy life ?
Take a box.
Put all these camera's in the box, carefully..
Go with this box to a local Camera shop with a lot of second hand stuff, a collector so to speak.
Ask for a brand new Canon 450D with kitlens.
Now you have 2 options.
You have to pay some money or you will get some money.
After that, go home.
Connect this brand new camera to the Merlin.
Fire up Papywizard on your Nokia and happy shooting !
The plus is that this 450D even with the new kitlens makes very nice and better pictures than you are used to.
How about that ?
Last edited by bigwade on Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
120to120
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 144
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:32 pm
Info

by 120to120 » Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:21 pm

Hello forum members!

Have the recommendation of you observed, and I bought a Canon 300d.

But now a question for you. Need to Step Installation Step Info, PW, and current software for Nokia N800 "

Thanks for the help.
(*Merlin/Orion_BT - teleskop-austria.*); FTDI USB-TTL cable; Macbook (Intel) OS X10.5.6 / ext. Bluetooth Dongle_VIVANCO_B1002270209 / PW 2.1.20; Go-To / TA *Nokia N810 / PW 2.1.20 * Sony F717 / Sony R1 ; JJC SR-828; 15m Mast;

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:43 pm

120to120 wrote:Hello forum members!

Have the recommendation of you observed, and I bought a Canon 300d.

But now a question for you. Need to Step Installation Step Info, PW, and current software for Nokia N800 "

Thanks for the help.

Hope you didn't pay too much for the 300D - having first emerged in 2004, it is almost a(nother) museum piece in DSLRs terms but it will be fine for Merlin/Papywizard.

Now to install Papywizard on your N800....

As they say 'if all else fails, read the instructions'' :
http://www.autopano.net/wiki/action/view/Install_Papywizard_on_Nokia_770_N800_N810

Follow these instructions up to the last section - "All Nokia Tablets - 770, N800 and N810" - then, instead of following the next section of instructions, browse (using the Tablet) to http://trac.gbiloba.org/papywizard/ and download Stable version Branch 1.x.

If you wish to install v.2.x then you have to jump thorugh a few more hoops - so I suggest you start off with 1.6.1.
Last edited by mediavets on Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
120to120
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 144
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:32 pm
Info

by 120to120 » Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:30 am

Good day!
Have followed their advice, 300d connected to Merlin and photograph. Does not work, because not trigger 300d.
For helpful info thank you.
(*Merlin/Orion_BT - teleskop-austria.*); FTDI USB-TTL cable; Macbook (Intel) OS X10.5.6 / ext. Bluetooth Dongle_VIVANCO_B1002270209 / PW 2.1.20; Go-To / TA *Nokia N810 / PW 2.1.20 * Sony F717 / Sony R1 ; JJC SR-828; 15m Mast;

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:41 am

120to120 wrote:Good day!
Have followed their advice, 300d connected to Merlin and photograph. Does not work, because not trigger 300d.
For helpful info thank you.

Hi,

I'm trying to understand how far you have managed to get with setting up your Merlin/Papywizard system:

1. Did you manage to install Papywizard 1.6.1 on your Nokia N800?

2. If yes, can you control the movement of the Merlin head from the N800 using Papywizard?

3. If yes, does Papywizard trigger the camera shutter when the Canon 300D camera is connected to the Merlin head using the shutter release cable supplied with the Merlin head?

..............

Could you add some info to your Profile on the forum so we have some idea of where you are located, please.
Last edited by mediavets on Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
120to120
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 144
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:32 pm
Info

by 120to120 » Sat Mar 21, 2009 12:00 pm

Good day!
My list of problems by Hardware_PW __ + Canon 300d

'm With Merlin and co soon end!
Last hope is info from the forum!
(*Merlin/Orion_BT - teleskop-austria.*); FTDI USB-TTL cable; Macbook (Intel) OS X10.5.6 / ext. Bluetooth Dongle_VIVANCO_B1002270209 / PW 2.1.20; Go-To / TA *Nokia N810 / PW 2.1.20 * Sony F717 / Sony R1 ; JJC SR-828; 15m Mast;

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Sat Mar 21, 2009 12:06 pm

120to120 wrote:Good day!
My list of problems by Hardware_PW __ + Canon 300d

'm With Merlin and co soon end!
Last hope is info from the forum!

How can anyone help you if you don't answer even basic simple questions? :rolleyes:

I understand that your English is poor - so it is probably best that Paul handles your questions - I give up.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
120to120
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 144
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:32 pm
Info

by 120to120 » Sat Mar 21, 2009 12:17 pm

Hallo mediavets!
Es funktioniert mit Mac. Kopf dreht und neigt sich. Den Programm-Ablauf kann ich am Display sehen.

"Nur die 300d là¶st nicht aus"

Wenn Funktion am Mac komplett, dann kommt die Installation am Nokia N800.

Dies ist mein Problem.
(*Merlin/Orion_BT - teleskop-austria.*); FTDI USB-TTL cable; Macbook (Intel) OS X10.5.6 / ext. Bluetooth Dongle_VIVANCO_B1002270209 / PW 2.1.20; Go-To / TA *Nokia N810 / PW 2.1.20 * Sony F717 / Sony R1 ; JJC SR-828; 15m Mast;

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Sat Mar 21, 2009 12:57 pm

120to120 wrote:Hallo mediavets!
Es funktioniert mit Mac. Kopf dreht und neigt sich. Den Programm-Ablauf kann ich am Display sehen.

"Nur die 300d là¶st nicht aus"

Wenn Funktion am Mac komplett, dann kommt die Installation am Nokia N800.

Dies ist mein Problem.

Also der Kopf bewegt sich - gsteuert vom Nokia/PW.
Auf dem Nokia/PW Display siehst Du, was sich tut.

Das einzige Problem ist, daàŸ Deine 300D nicht auslà¶st. Wie hast Du sie angeschlossen? (ich kenn sie nicht)

GruàŸ, Klaus

Merlin moves controlled by the Nokia. He can watch the progess on Nokia´s Display.
His only problem is the 300D doesn´t fire. I asked him about the connection 300D/Head.
I don´t know the 300D.

best, Klaus

P.S.: as i read the 300D uses a 2,5mm jack. There should be no problem at all . .
Maybe someone here knows the camera better?

Die 300D hat eine 2,5mm Klinke für den Fernauslà¶ser - müàŸte also funktionieren.
Vielleicht kennt jemand hier die Kamera besser?
Last edited by klausesser on Sat Mar 21, 2009 1:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Sat Mar 21, 2009 1:25 pm

Nein... er schreibt, dass sein Merlin am Mac funktioniert, aber die Kamera nicht auslà¶st.

Erst wenn am Mac alles funktioniert, will er sich an die Nokia-Installation machen.

Ich vermute, es kà¶nnte am Kabel Merlin-Kamera liegen. Versuch doch mal, am Stecker der normalerweise im Merlin steckt, die Kontakte mit einem Draht kurzzuschlieàŸen. Das müsste die Kamera auch auslà¶sen. Falls nicht, liegt es an dem Kabel.

Mir ist auch aufgefallen, dass das mitgelieferte Merlin Kamerakabel nur auf 2 Polen belegt ist. Für meine Nikon musste ich deshalb die Kontakte für Scharfstellen und Auslà¶sen zusammenlà¶ten...

Helmut
Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

no avatar
120to120
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 144
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:32 pm
Info

by 120to120 » Sat Mar 21, 2009 1:31 pm

Hallo klausesser!
Deer Kopf bewegt sich- gesteuert vom Mac/Parallels/Blueetooth/PW 1.6.1
Auf Mac/PW Display, seh ich was sich tut z.B:
Kopf drehen_Stabi_auslà¶sen(grünes Feld)_drehen_Stabi----usw-----Drehung/Neigung/Anzahl der Aufnahmen, ist alles OK!

Problem: Canon 300d là¶st nicht aus (angeschlossen mit dem 2,5mm Klinkenstecker an 300d/Merlin)

Deshalb auch meine Bitte, um Screenshots von den Einstellungen in PW, sodaàŸ ich vergleichen kann.

Wenn es mit der Mac-Kombination funktioniert, erst dann will ich PW am Nokia N800 installieren, ansonsten stress ich euch ja nochmehr, als es eh schon der Fall ist.

Danke für deine rege Anteilnahme. Liebe GrüàŸe in die 1000km Entfernung!!!
(*Merlin/Orion_BT - teleskop-austria.*); FTDI USB-TTL cable; Macbook (Intel) OS X10.5.6 / ext. Bluetooth Dongle_VIVANCO_B1002270209 / PW 2.1.20; Go-To / TA *Nokia N810 / PW 2.1.20 * Sony F717 / Sony R1 ; JJC SR-828; 15m Mast;

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Sat Mar 21, 2009 1:36 pm

Wie gesagt... ich vermute, es liegt an dem nur 2-polig belegten mitgeliefertem Kamerakabel...
Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Sat Mar 21, 2009 1:56 pm

SpeedyPan wrote:Nein... er schreibt, dass sein Merlin am Mac funktioniert, aber die Kamera nicht auslà¶st.

Erst wenn am Mac alles funktioniert, will er sich an die Nokia-Installation machen.

Ich vermute, es kà¶nnte am Kabel Merlin-Kamera liegen. Versuch doch mal, am Stecker der normalerweise im Merlin steckt, die Kontakte mit einem Draht kurzzuschlieàŸen. Das müsste die Kamera auch auslà¶sen. Falls nicht, liegt es an dem Kabel.

Mir ist auch aufgefallen, dass das mitgelieferte Merlin Kamerakabel nur auf 2 Polen belegt ist. Für meine Nikon musste ich deshalb die Kontakte für Scharfstellen und Auslà¶sen zusammenlà¶ten...

Helmut

Oops - i misunderstood. Again . . ;):cool:
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Sat Mar 21, 2009 2:26 pm

SpeedyPan wrote:Wie gesagt... ich vermute, es liegt an dem nur 2-polig belegten mitgeliefertem Kamerakabel...

There are only two contacts in the switch on the Merlin head - the cable supplied with the Merlin head is specifically said to work with low end Canon EOS DSLRs - AFAIK others have that cable working with 350D, 400D, 450D - is 300D different, I thought it used the same model of Canon wired remote?

Surely the cable can be tested by shorting between contacts at the head end to determine whether one is able to trigger the shutter on the camera?

See: http://www.devilgas.com/photo/350d_remote/350d_remote.asp

http://martybugs.net/photography/remote.cgi

Of course the cable might be defective, or the camera might be defective, or the camera port on the Merlin head might be defective, or is there some special setting one has to make/use/set on the camera to enable shutter releases via wired remote? I know its a completely different brand of camera but my Nikon D40 has to be set correctly/specifically to enable shutter releases via an IR remote.

.............

Just a wild thought - is camera set in autofocus mode and failing to focus so won't release shutter?

For panos it is conventional to use manual focus - perhaps that has something to do with it?

Or maybe not.
http://photo.net/canon-eos-digital-camera-forum/00Eocv
Last edited by mediavets on Sat Mar 21, 2009 2:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
120to120
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 144
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:32 pm
Info

by 120to120 » Sat Mar 21, 2009 10:56 pm

Neues Klinkensteckerkabel 2x 2,5mm/3-polig!!!!!
300d là¶st 1x aus. Ein mehrfaches auslà¶sen ( z.B.: 4 shoots/2 Reihen) ist nicht mà¶glich.

Ich muàŸ die 300d immer wieder neu einschalten, dann là¶st sie 1x aus.
Vielleicht liegt es jetzt an den Einstellungen unter Kamera;???????

Screehot von den Einstellungen wà¤ren super Infos!
(*Merlin/Orion_BT - teleskop-austria.*); FTDI USB-TTL cable; Macbook (Intel) OS X10.5.6 / ext. Bluetooth Dongle_VIVANCO_B1002270209 / PW 2.1.20; Go-To / TA *Nokia N810 / PW 2.1.20 * Sony F717 / Sony R1 ; JJC SR-828; 15m Mast;

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:51 pm

1)Battery loaded ?
2)go to menu, find power off
options from 1min to 15 min or off.
Turn it OFF
3) review time? as short as possible
4) Try again
Good luck !

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:06 am

Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:43 am

Strange, he is (so) close..
when I read this: http://www.autopano.net/forum/p41477-yesterday-11-04-06#p41477 (german)
the connection mac>>Merlin is oké but the camera is fiering only once.
This can be a bug in the MAC PW version.
IF he is using a cable, because BT is not working, yet......
120x120 should install the stuff on his N800 and try again.
Maybe a German forummember can tell him that in a PM.
Last edited by bigwade on Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Sun Mar 22, 2009 11:58 am

bigwade wrote:Strange, he is (so) close..
when I read this: http://www.autopano.net/forum/p41477-yesterday-11-04-06#p41477 (german)
the connection mac>>Merlin is oké but the camera is fiering only once.
This can be a bug in the MAC PW version.
IF he is using a cable, because BT is not working, yet......
120x120 should install the stuff on his N800 and try again.
Maybe a German forummember can tell him that in a PM.

Yes indeed... very strange.

I think he used the windows version of papywizard as he mentioned Parallels and the mac papywizard doesn't support bluetooth so far.

I allready offered him direct support by phone or email in a pm several days ago. I didn't get any answer.
Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

no avatar
120to120
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 144
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:32 pm
Info

by 120to120 » Sun Mar 22, 2009 12:32 pm

Hallo SpeedyPan,
Danke für die Anteilnahme, hab erst jetzt gelesen bzgl. PN. Wie funktioniert hier PN?
(*Merlin/Orion_BT - teleskop-austria.*); FTDI USB-TTL cable; Macbook (Intel) OS X10.5.6 / ext. Bluetooth Dongle_VIVANCO_B1002270209 / PW 2.1.20; Go-To / TA *Nokia N810 / PW 2.1.20 * Sony F717 / Sony R1 ; JJC SR-828; 15m Mast;

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Sun Mar 22, 2009 12:43 pm

Hallo

Eine pm sollte dir eigentlich per mail zugestellt werden. Bei jedem Benutzer gibt es den Link "E-Mail" mit dem man eine pm schicken kann.

Schick mir mal eine.. mal sehen ob die ankommt. Zur N800 Installation antworte ich in dem anderen Beitrag

GrüàŸe
Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

Previous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest