Page 1 of 2

Interface and camera connection

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:54 am
by loddie
Bigwade, thanks for the instructions to upload the image file.

Here is a shot of how I soldered for a tethered connection. I followed SJHenry's instructions:
Telephone wire Pin# USB TTL
(From Merlin) (From PC)
1 (NW)
2 (GND)---------------->1 (Black - GND)
3 (NU) 2 (NU)
4 (NU) 3 (NU)
5 (TTL)------220------>4 (Orange - TXD)
|--------220------->5 (Yellow - RXD)
6 (NW) 6 (NU)

Where NW = No Write, NU = Not Used

What is unusually is that only three wires are connected instead of four as with the Bluetooth versions.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 10:15 am
by mediavets
120to120 wrote:Guten Tag, bin NEU hier.
Ihr Forum finde ich sehr interessant.

suche Pin-Belegung von USB-Kabel/Canon S5is zu Merlin-Orion

Danke für die Hilfe!

I think you might be able to use this with modifications? Costs about 50 Euros:
http://www.blip.com.au/item.aspx?itemid=12

Could be powered with this?:
http://www.blip.com.au/item.aspx?itemid=22

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 10:38 am
by 120to120
Danke für den Link.

Frage an Gordon;
sie verwenden eine Canon S5is mit Merlin/Orion/Head?
Mit welchen Kabel haben sie diese Verbindung gemacht?

Kann leider keine Verbindung zw. Merlin und S5is herstellen.

120to120
canon S5is; Merlin/Orion panohead+PW

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:20 pm
by 120to120
Mac10.5.6_Parallels_WinXP_Bluetooth-Dongel + Papywizard_1.6.1 ===== OK!

Merlin / Orion___Canon S5is______ no Kontakt __ Kabel ?????
Merlin / Orion / Camera AnschluàŸ___Funktion?
PW_S5is____ what connection (hardware or software )????

Thanks for the help!

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 6:51 pm
by 120to120
Dry Lab / without cable:

7 Aufnahmen__2 would like to pan-tilt __ FOV (180 ° x60 °) make. What are the settings?

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 8:41 pm
by Paul
if you try to spend some more lines which explain your requests, be sure you will get more infos back ...

keyboards are patient :-)

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:05 pm
by mediavets
120to120 wrote:Mac10.5.6_Parallels_WinXP_Bluetooth-Dongel + Papywizard_1.6.1 ===== OK!

Merlin / Orion___Canon S5is______ no Kontakt __ Kabel ?????
Merlin / Orion / Camera AnschluàŸ___Funktion?
PW_S5is____ what connection (hardware or software )????

Thanks for the help!

Currently AFAIK there is no way to tried and tested way to trigger the shutter of the Canon S5IS from Merlin/Papywizard.

I have suggested that it may be possible to modify the URBI hardware device to do this, but that's for you to research.

Failing that perhaps get rid of the Canon S5IS and get a camera that Merlin/Papywizard can trigger? Which means most cameras which allow the shutter to be triggered via wired or IR remote control.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 10:30 pm
by jriley
mediavets wrote:
120to120 wrote:Mac10.5.6_Parallels_WinXP_Bluetooth-Dongel + Papywizard_1.6.1 ===== OK!

Merlin / Orion___Canon S5is______ no Kontakt __ Kabel ?????
Merlin / Orion / Camera AnschluàŸ___Funktion?
PW_S5is____ what connection (hardware or software )????

Thanks for the help!

Currently AFAIK there is no way to tried and tested way to trigger the shutter of the Canon S5IS from Merlin/Papywizard.

I have suggested that it may be possible to modify the URBI hardware device to do this, but that's for you to research.

Failing that perhaps get rid of the Canon S5IS and get a camera that Merlin/Papywizard can trigger? Which means most cameras which allow the shutter to be triggered via wired or IR remote control.

My camera, a Fuji S2 Pro, has no electronic shutter control. I am using a new product from http://www.gentles.ltd.uk called the gentled auto finger. It is an intervalometer that sends a signal to make a servo "nod" from 0 to 90 to -90 to zero. You can also trigger it via closing a circuit across two input pins. You just set the interval timing to the max (~30 s) and wire the cable from the Merlin to the pins and, voila, you can use the servo (bought separately) to push the shutter release. I gave it its first trial run this week and it worked great! This might be a solution that would work for others who can't just "plug and play" to fire the camera.

BTW- it is difficult to find on his site or may not even be on the public portion yet. Contact him via email and he is very, very helpful!

John

PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:04 pm
by mediavets
John,

Thanks - I should have remembered that option.

Can you please post some photos of your rig so others can see how you mounted the camera and servo, and how you provide power to the kit.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 1:00 am
by jriley
mediavets wrote:John,

Thanks - I should have remembered that option.

Can you please post some photos of your rig so others can see how you mounted the camera and servo, and how you provide power to the kit.

Mine is so messy, I don't want to post a pic :P However, here is a pic showing a neat way to mount the setup: http://www.gentles.ltd.uk/gentled/Finger-intervalometer-Lumix.jpg The gentled device in the pic looks a little different because it is actually a gentLED-SERVO, which does a similar job. The setup idea is the same.

The page to find the autofinger: http://www.gentles.ltd.uk/gentled/options.htm#IRauto

Manual for the autofinger: http://www.gentles.ltd.uk/gentled/Manual-autofinger.pdf

I am powering it with a battery tray containing 3 x AAA. Right now, I just have the servo stuck on with a spot of double-sided velcro tape and a "bongo tie" elastic band strapping it down. This gives it a little flex to keep the servo from getting jammed before it moves the full 90° (that just seems like a good idea to me.)

John

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 1:14 am
by mediavets
120to120 wrote:Mac10.5.6_Parallels_WinXP_Bluetooth-Dongel + Papywizard_1.6.1 ===== OK!

Merlin / Orion___Canon S5is______ no Kontakt __ Kabel ?????
Merlin / Orion / Camera AnschluàŸ___Funktion?
PW_S5is____ what connection (hardware or software )????

Thanks for the help!

OK - I've found something that will work I think:
http://steel.ced.berkeley.edu/kap/discuss/comments.php?DiscussionID=1244

http://www.gentles.ltd.uk/gentled/options.htm#CHDK

Check it out with James Gentles to make sure it will work. From previous correspondence with Frederic he knows enough about the camera port switch on the Merlin head to be able to tell you.

You will have to configure something to provide power to it.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:43 pm
by 120to120
Good day,
What is the function of Merlin / Orion panohead the AnschluàŸ_Kontakt Auto Imaging "????
What can I turn?

Canon S5is works with Mac via USB, but not with Merlin / Orion.

What is the connection with a Nikon to Merlin / Orion?

Thanks for info.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:56 pm
by mediavets
120to120 wrote:Good day,
What is the function of Merlin / Orion panohead the AnschluàŸ_Kontakt Auto Imaging "????
What can I turn?

Canon S5is works with Mac via USB, but not with Merlin / Orion.

What is the connection with a Nikon to Merlin / Orion?

Thanks for info.

Canon S5is - I already suggested a way of connecting camera port on Merlin/Orion head to the USB port on the camera to trigger the shutter:
http://www.autopano.net/forum/p40738-today-00-14-33#p40738

Nikon - which model?

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:24 pm
by 120to120
nikon coolpix 995
sony f717

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:49 pm
by 120to120
Asking for the pin assignment of Merlin / Orion Imiging car jack (Digital Camera)
Thanks for the help

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 8:07 pm
by mediavets
120to120 wrote:nikon coolpix 995
sony f717

Nikon 995: requires a special serial connection, but wouldn't be easy to mount effectively on a Merlin/Orion IMO:
http://www.gentles.ltd.uk/gentled/options.htm#NIKONshutter

Sony 717: you could hack one of these:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330310715998&cguid=fd61593711f0a0aad402cce2fee8f918
http://www.virtualvillage.co.uk/items/item.aspx?itemid=4445302&utm_source=baseuk&utm_medium=shopping&CAWELAID=190621425

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 8:12 pm
by mediavets
120to120 wrote:Asking for the pin assignment of Merlin / Orion Imiging car jack (Digital Camera)
Thanks for the help

It's just a two contact switch AFAIK.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 9:17 pm
by 120to120
For Sony F717 is JJC Remote SR-828 available and also funkrioniert.
Have now a cable 2x 2.5 mm 3-pole head on and F717 is connected, but PW can not trigger the camera.
Where can the fault lie?
Thanks for info.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 9:29 pm
by 120to120
Alternative:
Olympus C-8080 (RM-1 and RM-2) in Merlin / Orion head.
Hardware available.
Thanks for info.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 9:50 pm
by mediavets
120to120 wrote:Alternative:
Olympus C-8080 (RM-1 and RM-2) in Merlin / Orion head.
Hardware available.
Thanks for info.

Hack the remote if you have one and you wish to cannibalise it; or use this - I use one with my Nikon D40 connected using the standard cable supplied with the Merlin/Orion:
http://www.gentles.ltd.uk/gentled/options.htm#IRjump

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 9:53 pm
by mediavets
120to120 wrote:For Sony F717 is JJC Remote SR-828 available and also funkrioniert.
Have now a cable 2x 2.5 mm 3-pole head on and F717 is connected, but PW can not trigger the camera.
Where can the fault lie?
Thanks for info.

You'll have to experiment shorting combinations of wires on the head end of the cable - until you find the combo that triggrs the shutter - but be careful I believe camera may put power out on one?

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:07 pm
by 120to120
Sorry,
with my Merlin was not a standard cable is, how does this affect me?
How should I use the RM-1 hack?
Please take a photo of the D40 cable.
Thank you for that.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:30 pm
by mediavets
120to120 wrote:Sorry,
with my Merlin was not a standard cable is, how does this affect me?
How should I use the RM-1 hack?
Please take a photo of the D40 cable.
Thank you for that.

See this post for photo of the Gentled-JUMP. and the cable that was supplied with my Merlin:
http://www.autopano.net/forum/p32377-2008-11-11-12-49-47#p32377

To hack your existing remote you'd need to connect wires to either side of the push button switch - and then connect them to a 2.5mm jack - if you see what I mean?

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:24 pm
by 120to120
Sorry,
I think the cable is not. Please a picture!
2.5 mm jack to Merlin ------- usb cable to camera?
Thank you for that.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:26 pm
by claudevh
Hi 120to120,

What type of Merlin do-you have ? "Standard model" or "GoTo model" ?

The Merlin Pin-out for camera remote (Canon) is herafter:



:cool: