Install papywizard on Linux problems  

Everything you need to motorize your head
no avatar
geraldcor
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 17
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:20 am
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Info

Install papywizard on Linux problems

by geraldcor » Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:02 pm

Hello all,

I am back with more silly questions.

I am trying to install papywizard on an OLPC http://laptop.org/en/ which runs a variation of fedora. I can't use a .deb package so I downloaded the source, ran python setup.py install --prefix=/usr/local and all seems to have gone well up to this point. I can't seem to figure out how to launch the program now. I tried ./papywizard.sh (from /usr/local/bin) but that gave me an error. I basically have to do everything from the command line and I'm not sure how to get the program running.

This is the error I get when running papywizard.sh
Code: Select all
bash-3.2# ./papywizard.sh
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
ImportError: No module named papywizard.scripts.main

Any ideas out there? Thank you for all of your help so far. (Orion should arrive tomorrow :D

Greg
Last edited by geraldcor on Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Canon Rebel XT XTi
EF-S 18-55 IS, EF-S 17-85 IS, EF 50 1.8
Asus EEEpc, OLPC, Arduino (In the works)
Papywizard of course

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:58 pm

Hey Greg,
can you add some info in your profile ?
Location etc.
grtz!

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:01 am

What version are you trying to run?

Did you try to run:

$ papywizard.sh

instead of:

$ ./papywizard.sh

from a dir other than /usr/local/bin?

What python version are you running? Can you check you have papywizard tree installed in /usr/local/lib/python<version>/site-packages? Does it works if you run papywizard from the source dir (using ./papywizard.sh, this time)?

You should also fin a entry in the desktop menu, under 'Graphics' sub-menu. Does it work if you launch it from there?
Frédéric

no avatar
geraldcor
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 17
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:20 am
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Info

by geraldcor » Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:32 am

bigwade, I will update my profile. I forget those things :)

I installed 1.6.1

papywizard.sh from a dir other than /usr/local/bin? Nope

Python 2.5 papywizard tree is installed.

Run Papywizard from the source directory? YES! That seems to work (at least it starts)

Hm. Very interesting. I suppose I could just continue to run it from this source directory that I downloaded and call it good unless there are any problems that could arise from running it this way? Thanks for your help.

p.s. I am used to things being very difficult to get running on the olpc. It's worth it when things do work because it only draws 7 watts!
Canon Rebel XT XTi
EF-S 18-55 IS, EF-S 17-85 IS, EF 50 1.8
Asus EEEpc, OLPC, Arduino (In the works)
Papywizard of course

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 8:10 am

From your home dir, can you try:

$ PYTHONPATH=/usr/local/lib/python2.5/site-packages papywizard.sh

(check if /usr/local/lib/python2.5/site-packages is the correct path).
Frédéric

no avatar
geraldcor
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 17
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:20 am
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Info

by geraldcor » Mon Mar 02, 2009 6:45 pm

Ah that might work. I will try that when I get home tonight. Thanks.

Greg
Canon Rebel XT XTi
EF-S 18-55 IS, EF-S 17-85 IS, EF 50 1.8
Asus EEEpc, OLPC, Arduino (In the works)
Papywizard of course

no avatar
tarnis
Member
 
Posts: 179
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Orlando, FL, US
Info

by tarnis » Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:32 am

Thought this wasn't working then found I had python 2.6 so I put in


$ PYTHONPATH=/usr/local/lib/python2.6/site-packages papywizard.sh

which works... sorry not a major unix guy. I know I'm supposed to put the path into a .rc(or something...) file somewhere. Mind telling me where? :) I'm running ubuntu.

thanks,
Matt

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:00 am

I don't understand why the /usr/local/lib/python2.6/site-packages dir is not automaticall in the path...

What is the result of:

$ python
>>> import sys
>>> print sys.path

(without exporting the PYTHONPATH var as you did above).
Frédéric


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron