Papywizard on MacOS  

Everything you need to motorize your head
no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:11 pm

10.5.6 MacBook
Runs great ! and FAST !
This is FUN !

no avatar
jriley
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 147
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:51 pm
Location: Spartanburg, SC USA
Info

by jriley » Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:31 pm

klausesser wrote:
fma38 wrote:Good! Could someone running MacOS 10.4 can make a test, to see if it works?

Hi Frédéric!

At least on my system it doen´t run - 10.4 on a G5 DP. Says: fatal error.

best to you, Klaus

Same here on 10.4.11. How difficult would it be to build it so that it is compatible with 10.4? Do you have to use a machine with 10.4?

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:16 pm

Yes, compilation must be done on 10.4 to work on both systems. I have access to such machine, at work, but unfortunally, Qt/PyQt compilation fails, and I don't understand why. This machine might not be correctly installed, but as it is not mine, I can't do anything :(

Jeremy, who packaged Papywizard for MacOS, only has a 10.5 system...
Frédéric

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:29 pm

Hi Frederic,
just playing with the Macversion.
When I enter a FoV 90/90 I get a start at -29,6/-22,5 and an end of 29,6/22,5
When I want to run a gigapan simulation this goes wrong because it starts left under (of course).
Why isn't start just at -29,6/22,5 ?
Is there a reason for it ?
When I define start and stop with the arrow keys there is no problem.
grtz
Frank


Last edited by bigwade on Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
jeremyp
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:28 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Info

by jeremyp » Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:04 pm

Tim.Lewis wrote:(Needs an (pretty)application icon)

Sorry I forgot to add the icon, will add it for the next build.

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:08 pm

Jeremy, wait for the final 2.0.0, which should come soon...

Frank, this is an arbitrary choice. But I plan, in a future release, to allow the user choose the corner from where to start, whatever start/end values are...
Frédéric

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:55 pm

fma38 wrote:Frank, this is an arbitrary choice. But I plan, in a future release, to allow the user choose the corner from where to start, whatever start/end values are...

Oké, fine to me but it was a question from a good friend of mine using the gigapanstitcher some times..

Is a BT connection Mac>>Merlin via PW confirmed allready ?
Last edited by bigwade on Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Thu Mar 05, 2009 12:08 am

jriley wrote:
klausesser wrote:
fma38 wrote:Good! Could someone running MacOS 10.4 can make a test, to see if it works?

Hi Frédéric!

At least on my system it doen´t run - 10.4 on a G5 DP. Says: fatal error.

best to you, Klaus

Same here on 10.4.11. How difficult would it be to build it so that it is compatible with 10.4? Do you have to use a machine with 10.4?

Same here on 10.4.11
console log:
"2009-03-05 00:05:00.482 Papywizard[405] A Python runtime could be located. You may need to install a framework build of Python, or edit the PyRuntimeLocations array in this application's Info.plist file."

No idea what it means.

no avatar
numz
Member
 
Posts: 116
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 2:20 pm
Info

by numz » Thu Mar 05, 2009 1:00 am

Hi !
a great news for mac user !
i'have try the papywizard.app on an imac 24'' with moa osx 10.5.6

but i can't choose a bluetooth peripheric in the config menu :

Impossible de scruter le bluetooth

and the traceback :
"Traceback (most recent call last):
File "papywizard/scripts/main.pyc", line 140, in main
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/Users/emury/.config/papywizard2/papywizard.css'"

and the bluetooth is activated :)

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:38 am

Strange error... Can you send the complete log?

About BT, It does not work as Jeremy didn't installed any python compatible bluetooth stack, as the usual one is not available on MacOS... We have to investigate.
Frédéric

no avatar
numz
Member
 
Posts: 116
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 2:20 pm
Info

by numz » Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:14 pm

Ok it's normal.

Here is the log :
Code: Select all
2009-03-06 12:12:07,099::MainThread::INFO::Starting Papywizard...
2009-03-06 12:12:07,414::MainThread::INFO::Importing modules...
2009-03-06 12:12:08,395::MainThread::INFO::Loading i18n files...
2009-03-06 12:12:08,413::MainThread::DEBUG::Papywizard.i18n(): locale=fr_FR
2009-03-06 12:12:08,417::MainThread::WARNING::Can't find qt translation file
2009-03-06 12:12:08,419::MainThread::INFO::Loading Style Sheets...
2009-03-06 12:12:08,427::MainThread::WARNING::No user Style Sheet found
2009-03-06 12:12:08,427::MainThread::INFO::Loading configuration...
2009-03-06 12:12:08,440::MainThread::DEBUG::ConfigManager.__init__(): versions: dist=['1', '9', '6'], user=['1', '9', '6']
2009-03-06 12:12:08,440::MainThread::DEBUG::ConfigManager.__init__(): user config. is up-to-date
2009-03-06 12:12:08,440::MainThread::INFO::Creating model...
2009-03-06 12:12:08,449::MainThread::INFO::Loading default presets
2009-03-06 12:12:08,480::MainThread::DEBUG::Preset.__init__(): loading name='4@0 + Z + N'
2009-03-06 12:12:08,481::MainThread::DEBUG::Preset.__init__(): loading name='3@-15 + Z'
2009-03-06 12:12:08,481::MainThread::DEBUG::Preset.__init__(): loading name='6@30 + 6@-15 + N'
2009-03-06 12:12:08,481::MainThread::DEBUG::Preset.__init__(): loading name='4@30 + 4@-30'
2009-03-06 12:12:08,481::MainThread::DEBUG::Preset.__init__(): loading name='3 + 6 + 12 + 6 + 3 (28mm)'
2009-03-06 12:12:08,482::MainThread::DEBUG::Preset.__init__(): loading name='4 + 12 + 12 + 12 + 8 (32mm)'
2009-03-06 12:12:08,482::MainThread::INFO::Loading user presets
2009-03-06 12:12:08,483::MainThread::WARNING::No user presets found
2009-03-06 12:12:08,483::MainThread::INFO::Starting Spy...
2009-03-06 12:12:08,483::MainThread::DEBUG::Spy.__init__(): yaw=0.0, pitch=0.0
2009-03-06 12:12:08,483::MainThread::INFO::Creating GUI...
2009-03-06 12:12:08,483::Spy::INFO::Starting Spy...
2009-03-06 12:12:23,349::MainThread::INFO::Scanning available bluetooth devices...
2009-03-06 12:12:23,368::Dummy-4::EXCEPTION::refreshBluetoothList() Traceback (most recent call last): File "papywizard/controller/bluetoothChooserController.pyc", line 109, in refreshBluetoothList File "bluetooth/__init__.pyc", line 36, in <module> File "bluetooth/osx.pyc", line 3, in <module> NotImplementedError
2009-03-06 12:12:23,416::MainThread::ERROR::Can't scan bluetooth
2009-03-06 12:12:29,857::MainThread::INFO::Configuration saved
2009-03-06 12:12:47,552::MainThread::INFO::Scanning available bluetooth devices...
2009-03-06 12:12:47,553::Dummy-4::EXCEPTION::refreshBluetoothList() Traceback (most recent call last): File "papywizard/controller/bluetoothChooserController.pyc", line 109, in refreshBluetoothList File "bluetooth/__init__.pyc", line 36, in <module> File "bluetooth/osx.pyc", line 3, in <module> NotImplementedError
2009-03-06 12:12:47,620::MainThread::ERROR::Can't scan bluetooth
2009-03-06 12:13:06,753::MainThread::INFO::Configuration saved

no avatar
loddie
Member
 
Posts: 18
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 6:12 pm
Info

by loddie » Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:08 am

So several users have reported the software running under OS 10.5. However, has anyone been able to communicate with the hardware via the tethered connection? If so, what were you're "Hardware" settings in the "Configuration" window?

no avatar
jeremyp
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:28 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Info

by jeremyp » Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:41 am

loddie wrote:So several users have reported the software running under OS 10.5. However, has anyone been able to communicate with the hardware via the tethered connection? If so, what were you're "Hardware" settings in the "Configuration" window?

Yes I set to "serial" and point to the installed device (FTDI TTL 232),

/dev/tty.usbserial-FTE0WXEI

it may be different on your machine have a look in /dev

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:59 pm

Now I am confused...
How do you connect the Mac to the Merlin , tethered ?
Cable/drivers/set-up/screenshots ?

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:15 pm

I think Jeremy uses a USB-TTL cable, through the Papywizard serial driver... The BT does not work (yet) on MacOS, but it is always possible to create a pseudo-serial driver to connect to the BT device, and use teh serial driver in Papywizard.
Frédéric

no avatar
loddie
Member
 
Posts: 18
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 6:12 pm
Info

by loddie » Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:09 pm

bigwade wrote:Now I am confused...
How do you connect the Mac to the Merlin , tethered ?
Cable/drivers/set-up/screenshots ?

Wade, that is what I am trying to figure out. I am not sure if I have a driver issue, a Papywizard configuration issue, of if I simply did not solder the connections correctly.

BTW, how does one post a picture? Does it have to be hosted on a website? I selected "img" but when I preview the post, it simply shows the location on my hard drive, not the image itself.

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:16 pm

loddie wrote:BTW, how does one post a picture? Does it have to be hosted on a website? I selected "img" but when I preview the post, it simply shows the location on my hard drive, not the image itself.

Use post reply


Last edited by bigwade on Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
GURL
Member
 
Posts: 2943
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: Grenoble
Info

by GURL » Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:21 pm

To use IMG the image must be on a web site and refered to using "http://etc" but if you don't use the Quick Post button but instead Post Reply or Quote then an Image Upload option is displayed and you can upload one ore more images from you hard disk...
Georges

no avatar
jeremyp
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:28 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Info

by jeremyp » Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:35 pm

bigwade wrote:Now I am confused...
How do you connect the Mac to the Merlin , tethered ?
Cable/drivers/set-up/screenshots ?

I use tethered setup USB->TTL cable as described earlier. You need to install a driver just like on windoze. The only difference is the device is a /dev like Linux. Once I installed the driver I took a look in /dev and saw /dev/tty.usbserial-FTE0WXEI. I entered this in the serial port field (just like Linux).

If you are using the FTDI type converter the virtual comm port drivers can be found here,
http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:42 pm

Can you make a step by step tutorial for dummies ?
and please with (Mac) screenshots.....

Can't find the cable in this thread
Last edited by bigwade on Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
120to120
Member
 
Posts: 144
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:32 pm
Info

by 120to120 » Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:54 am

Guten Tag, bin NEU hier.
Ihr Forum finde ich sehr interessant.

suche Pin-Belegung von USB-Kabel/Canon S5is zu Merlin-Orion

Danke für die Hilfe!
(*Merlin/Orion_BT - teleskop-austria.*); FTDI USB-TTL cable; Macbook (Intel) OS X10.5.6 / ext. Bluetooth Dongle_VIVANCO_B1002270209 / PW 2.1.20; Go-To / TA *Nokia N810 / PW 2.1.20 * Sony F717 / Sony R1 ; JJC SR-828; 15m Mast;

no avatar
120to120
Member
 
Posts: 144
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:32 pm
Info

by 120to120 » Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:15 pm

Merlin/Orion,Papywizard an Mac 10.3.9 mà¶glich??????

Welche SW-Version von PW 1.6 _____ PW 2.0???
(*Merlin/Orion_BT - teleskop-austria.*); FTDI USB-TTL cable; Macbook (Intel) OS X10.5.6 / ext. Bluetooth Dongle_VIVANCO_B1002270209 / PW 2.1.20; Go-To / TA *Nokia N810 / PW 2.1.20 * Sony F717 / Sony R1 ; JJC SR-828; 15m Mast;

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:17 pm

Do you speak english? I would like to help you, but I don't understand your questions...
Frédéric

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:25 pm

He likes to know if Papywizard would run on a Mac with OSX 10.3.9.

And he is asking for an cable to connect a Canon S5is to the Merlin.
Last edited by SpeedyPan on Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

no avatar
120to120
Member
 
Posts: 144
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:32 pm
Info

by 120to120 » Fri Mar 13, 2009 12:54 pm

Good day!
Is there Papywizard for Mac 10.3.9?
What version number. will be needed?
Is there a link, where step to step?

Gordon used to S5is Canon Merlin / Head, which cable has he?
Thanks for your help.
(*Merlin/Orion_BT - teleskop-austria.*); FTDI USB-TTL cable; Macbook (Intel) OS X10.5.6 / ext. Bluetooth Dongle_VIVANCO_B1002270209 / PW 2.1.20; Go-To / TA *Nokia N810 / PW 2.1.20 * Sony F717 / Sony R1 ; JJC SR-828; 15m Mast;

PreviousNext

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest