Papywizard on MacOS  

Everything you need to motorize your head
User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:15 pm

In fact, you didn't *have* to install it; running it from the console is enough, using the command (from the top level dir):

$ ./papywizard.sh

Anyway, if you installed it, just run, in a console, from any location:

$ papywizard.sh

(as long as /usr/local/bin is in your path; type 'echo $PATH' to check).

But I think it won't work, as the PyQt install failed... Can you provide some additionnal informations, so Jeremy can help you? What version of MacOS are you running? Did you installed XCode from your CD, or from the web site?

PS: you are right about the svg file; in fact, there are other bugs in this setup file; I'll correct it. Just launch papywizard from the install dir, using the first command I gave.
Frédéric

no avatar
loddie
Member
 
Posts: 18
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 6:12 pm
Info

by loddie » Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:23 pm

jriley,

If you are able to figure this out, perhaps you could capture an onscreen video of the set-up process using freeware such as Jing http://www.jingproject.com/ so us intimidated users can set it up:)

Cheers!

no avatar
jriley
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 147
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:51 pm
Location: Spartanburg, SC USA
Info

by jriley » Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:50 pm

fma38 wrote:In fact, you didn't *have* to install it; running it from the console is enough, using the command (from the top level dir):

$ ./papywizard.sh

Anyway, if you installed it, just run, in a console, from any location:

$ papywizard.sh

(as long as /usr/local/bin is in your path; type 'echo $PATH' to check).

But I think it won't work, as the PyQt install failed... Can you provide some additionnal informations, so Jeremy can help you? What version of MacOS are you running? Did you installed XCode from your CD, or from the web site?

PS: you are right about the svg file; in fact, there are other bugs in this setup file; I'll correct it. Just launch papywizard from the install dir, using the first command I gave.

The first command results in:
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$ ./papywizard.sh
-bash: ./papywizard.sh: Permission denied
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$ sudo ./papywizard.sh
Password:
sudo: ./papywizard.sh: command not found
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$

I don't think I have /usr/local/bin is in my path. When I check, I get:
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$ echo $PATH
/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/Current/bin:/sw/bin:/sw/sbin:/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin:/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/X11R6/bin
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$

I installed XCode from my CD. Wanted to avoid the download.

no avatar
jeremyp
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:28 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Info

by jeremyp » Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:38 am

fma38 wrote:Did you follow the explanations above? If not, can you tell us what you did, so we can create a wiki page?

Basically, yes. Although for the install of each package I just looked at the documentation that came with it.

fma38 wrote:Would you like to help to create a Papywizard MacOS package?

Sure. I don't use OSX for dev that often but I don't see a problem.

fma38 wrote:Another question: do you have bluetooth on you Mac? Did you try to use the Bluetooth Chooser in the Configuration dialog to see if scanning works (and so, the BT stuff)?

I test on Macbook Pro 10.5.6 with bluetooth. Unfortunately the bluetooth module could not be found. I assume you used PyBluez? I tried installing it but there isn't any support for OSX yet, there are placeholders in there though maybe they are planning it soon? Or http://lightblue.sourceforge.net/ ? ;)

J

no avatar
jeremyp
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:28 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Info

by jeremyp » Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:45 am

jriley wrote:imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$ ./papywizard.sh
-bash: ./papywizard.sh: Permission denied
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$ sudo ./papywizard.sh
Password:
sudo: ./papywizard.sh: command not found
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$

No need to install, I just ran papywizard in place. Note that papywizard.sh is a script and needs to be "executable" for it to run. You can set it as executable using,

chmod +x papywizard.sh


J

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:14 am

jeremyp wrote:
fma38 wrote:Did you follow the explanations above? If not, can you tell us what you did, so we can create a wiki page?

Basically, yes. Although for the install of each package I just looked at the documentation that came with it.

So, what did you do? Did you use /usr/local as target dir? It seems that on MacOS, it is better to use /opt/local, as it is in the PATH... This is maybe why it failed for jriley...

fma38 wrote:Would you like to help to create a Papywizard MacOS package?

Sure. I don't use OSX for dev that often but I don't see a problem.

Thanks :)

fma38 wrote:Another question: do you have bluetooth on you Mac? Did you try to use the Bluetooth Chooser in the Configuration dialog to see if scanning works (and so, the BT stuff)?

I test on Macbook Pro 10.5.6 with bluetooth. Unfortunately the bluetooth module could not be found. I assume you used PyBluez? I tried installing it but there isn't any support for OSX yet, there are placeholders in there though maybe they are planning it soon? Or http://lightblue.sourceforge.net/ ? ;)

Mmm, we will have to make some tests, to see how it works. Could you install it on your Mac?
Frédéric

no avatar
jriley
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 147
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:51 pm
Location: Spartanburg, SC USA
Info

by jriley » Sun Feb 22, 2009 6:25 pm

jeremyp wrote:
jriley wrote:imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$ ./papywizard.sh
-bash: ./papywizard.sh: Permission denied
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$ sudo ./papywizard.sh
Password:
sudo: ./papywizard.sh: command not found
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$

No need to install, I just ran papywizard in place. Note that papywizard.sh is a script and needs to be "executable" for it to run. You can set it as executable using,

chmod +x papywizard.sh


J

Somewhere in all the installation materials, I saw that it was setting permissions to 755 using chmod for the files in /bin. I guess part of the problem for me was that my path isn't set up properly.

I tried running that one like so:
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$ /usr/local/bin/papywizard.sh
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
File "papywizard/scripts/main.py", line 53, in <module>
from PyQt4 import QtGui
ImportError: No module named PyQt4
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$

And similarly for the one in /trunk after making it executable:
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$ chmod +x papywizard.sh
imac:~/Desktop/trunk john$ ./papywizard.sh
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
File "papywizard/scripts/main.py", line 53, in <module>
from PyQt4 import QtGui
ImportError: No module named PyQt4

Seems like I must really have an error in my PyQt installation, eh? Ideas? Or better, binaries :D

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:17 pm

Jeremy, could you post the exact procedure you followed to complete the build process?

John, you should first try to install the latests XCode available, from Apple web site (see above), and start over the entire process...
Frédéric

no avatar
jeremyp
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:28 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Info

by jeremyp » Mon Feb 23, 2009 4:10 am

fma38 wrote:Jeremy, could you post the exact procedure you followed to complete the build process?

How about creating a standalone app for OSX users? That would avoid the need to install XCode and build libraries etc.

http://pypi.python.org/pypi/py2app/

Are you using py2exe for Papywizard on Windows? Apparently setup.py can be cross platform,

http://svn.pythonmac.org/py2app/py2app/trunk/doc/index.html#cross-platform

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Mon Feb 23, 2009 7:42 am

Yes, I'm using py2exe for Windows. I didn't see that it requires the same setup.exe file. This is good news. Can you have a look at the documentation, and try to build something? I'll also read the doc and help you as much as I can...
Frédéric

no avatar
jeremyp
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:28 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Info

by jeremyp » Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:40 am

Hi fellow Mac users,

I've built a self contained Mac application version of Papywizard for testing.

http://happiestdays.com/downloads/papywizard.app.zip

Build machine is OSX 10.5.6 Intel. Note there is currently no bluetooth support.

Please leave feedback on this thread.

Cheers,

Jeremy

no avatar
loddie
Member
 
Posts: 18
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 6:12 pm
Info

by loddie » Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:16 am

Thanks Jeremy! Will post feedback when all the parts arrive and I can communicate with the Merlin. I will be using the a cable connection.

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:58 am

You can test the software without any head...
Frédéric

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:03 am

Don't have my Merlin yet, but the app runs fine on my MacMini with OSX 10.5.

Helmut
Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:43 am

Good! Could someone running MacOS 10.4 can make a test, to see if it works?
Frédéric

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 63 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:40 pm

fma38 wrote:Good! Could someone running MacOS 10.4 can make a test, to see if it works?

Hi Frédéric!

At least on my system it doen´t run - 10.4 on a G5 DP. Says: fatal error.

best to you, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
SpeedyPan
Member
 
Posts: 67
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Info

by SpeedyPan » Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:47 pm

Same "fatal error" on my second mac mini Intel with OSX 10.4.11 installed.
Clauss Rodeon VR
Canon 7D

User avatar
Tim.Lewis
Member
 
Posts: 208
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 7:44 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Info

by Tim.Lewis » Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:54 pm

You may need to find someone with a jailbroken iPhone who likes a challenge, as you should be able to install just about anything on it, I believe. FYI modern MacBooks come with BT.

Looks like it could be another reason to get an iPhone, like I need another reason!


Ooops!

I didn't get to the second page before posting the above.

I have downloaded the test package and will test it on my iMac 24 running 10.5.6 (can't see that going on location) and my MacBook Pro 15 also running 10.5.6 and report back.

Cheers

Tim
Last edited by Tim.Lewis on Tue Mar 03, 2009 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose.

no avatar
Gordon
Member
 
Posts: 357
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:18 pm
Location: Deep in the woods, UK
Info

by Gordon » Tue Mar 03, 2009 2:21 pm

Hmm I have an old ibook running running OSX 10.2.8 bit old maybe and also a iPod touch so it has wifi, but no BT.

Gordon
2000th Member :D

GigaPixel Experimenter
Gigapan Beta Unit, Canon Powershot S5IS, Canon 350D, Nikon D40, Manfrotto Tripod, BT-Serial + Papywizard on Nokia 770, Fully-Operational Merlin the Wizard Unit!!!

no avatar
loddie
Member
 
Posts: 18
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 6:12 pm
Info

by loddie » Tue Mar 03, 2009 4:34 pm

Running fine on MacBook Pro with OS 10.5.6:)
Thank-you for providing this!

no avatar
jeremyp
Member
 
Posts: 33
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:28 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Info

by jeremyp » Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:25 pm

fma38 wrote:Good! Could someone running MacOS 10.4 can make a test, to see if it works?

Unfortunately I don't think it will work on OSX versions earlier than 10.5. Some quick searching on the 'net indicates the application would need to be built on the lowest common system that you wish to support and also without the system (Apple version) of python.

http://mail.python.org/pipermail/pythonmac-sig/2005-June/014383.html

As I don't have access to 10.4 or less :) I can't do this myself.
Last edited by jeremyp on Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
london-will
New member
 
Posts: 9
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:16 am
Location: London
Info

by london-will » Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:19 am

This is great! Is it possible to get Papywizard running on an iPhone?
Will


Merlin/Orion head, tronisoft BT kit, N810

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:41 am

Unfortunally, not out-of-the-box. iphone developement seems to be complex, and requires a cross-plateform developer kit. Then, you will have to compile Python, Qt and PyQt... If you know a iphone developer, then it could be interesting to know how complex the process is.
Frédéric

User avatar
Tim.Lewis
Member
 
Posts: 208
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 7:44 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Info

by Tim.Lewis » Wed Mar 04, 2009 1:32 pm

Hi All

I ran it on both my Macs, MacBook Pro 15 and iMac 24 OSX 10.5.6, and it worked fine. Just unzipped and dropped it in the Apps folder. Did a simulation, no worries. Only glitch is splash screen is not on the top application layer of the screen, so I missed it starting up the first time. (Needs an (pretty)application icon)

Cheers

Tim
Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose.

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Wed Mar 04, 2009 3:54 pm

Thanks for the feedback. There is a flag to ensure the splash screen is on top, but it requires to import a big Qt module, which will delay the splashscreen (I import this module *after* showing the splashscreen). This can be annoying on small devices, like Nokia, which are not very powerfull...
Frédéric

PreviousNext

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest