Page 16 of 18

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:56 pm
by fma38
Strange, as I fixed the unicode issue preventing the dialog to work in previous versions! I'm pretty sure to have tested it under Windows...

You can open the View Log, and have a look at the begining of the logs; you will see the version used.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 1:39 pm
by mediavets
Tipjip wrote:In 2.1.18 under Windows 7 32bits I can't open the "about"-dialogue. When I try nothing happens. So, technically, I'm not sure it really is the 2.1.18 I'm trying it with because I installed it over an older version. :o

Anyone else who can verify this?

Christian

Works for me with XP 32-bit with SP3:

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 6:37 pm
by fma38
Sorry, folks, I found a bug in the Panoduino plugin, preventing it to work :(

I will wait the end of the week before releasing a new version, to see if there are other bugs...

(For those using the subversion repository, the bug is fixed).

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 8:58 am
by Tipjip
fma38 wrote:Strange, as I fixed the unicode issue preventing the dialog to work in previous versions! I'm pretty sure to have tested it under Windows...

Ahem, you did. It really was 2.1.16 where it didn't work. Apparently something went wrong with the install of 2.1.18 the first time.
fma38 wrote:You can open the View Log, and have a look at the begining of the logs; you will see the version used.

That showed me the error of my ways. After another install of 2.1.18 the about shows just fine (Win 7 32bit and 64bit).

Sorry!

Christian

PostPosted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 9:40 am
by fma38
Good!

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 6:30 pm
by Gordon
mediavets wrote:
Tipjip wrote:In 2.1.18 under Windows 7 32bits I can't open the "about"-dialogue. When I try nothing happens. So, technically, I'm not sure it really is the 2.1.18 I'm trying it with because I installed it over an older version. :o

Anyone else who can verify this?

Christian

Works for me with XP 32-bit with SP3:

"about"-dialogue works fine here on Windows 7 starter Eee PC 32-bit

Best
Gordon

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:56 am
by fma38
The 2.1.19 release in online, with the bug corrections of Panoduino plugin.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:16 pm
by Photosbykev
fma38 wrote:The 2.1.19 release in online, with the bug corrections of Panoduino plugin.

Windows version installs fine. First run fails because it can't find the papywizard.conf file but runs fine after that. Could you include a dummy file for the system to find to avoid the fail?

I haven't checked the n800 version yet because it's 200 miles away lol

best regards
Kev

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:53 pm
by fma38
The conf file exists, but some env. var don't point on the right location when launched from the installer. Don't know why.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 10:23 pm
by Photosbykev
fma38 wrote:The conf file exists, but some env. var don't point on the right location when launched from the installer. Don't know why.

Thanks for the reply fma, if that's the only problem I can live with it :)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:58 am
by jeongyun
Here I have one small thing to report regarding Merlin-Orion "Shutter" plugin and my old Canon DSLR.

I have a Canon D30 (introduced in 2000).

I noticed that this camera's over/underexposure indicator goes off 3-4 seconds after touching shutter button.

When over/under exposure indicator is off, there's much longer shutter lag.
For example, for shutter speed 0.5 sec or longer, shutter lag becomes longer than 1 second.
Thus I needed Pulse width high that's greater than 1000 ms.

However, I fixed it by making the shutter plugin send a short 'wake-up' pulse before shutter release.
This allowed me to use Pulse width high 800 ms for any shutter speed up to 30 sec.

I also had to short shutter and auto-focus pins for this camera.

I wonder if these are aslo true with D60, or 10D?

On the other hand, with my 5D, I didn't need all these tweaks at all.
Didn't need Pulse width high longer than 400 ms. Didn't need to short shutter and auto-focus pins.. etc.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:01 pm
by mediavets
I've had PW 2.1.19-1 lock up a few times on the N800 but I have not be able to repeat the problem consistently.

It just locks up on pressing Start in the Shoot window.

I had to power down the N800 to recover.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:21 pm
by Paul
mediavets wrote:I've had PW 2.1.19-1 lock up a few times on the N800 but I have not be able to repeat the problem consistently.

It just locks up on pressing Start in the Shoot window.

I had to power down the N800 to recover.

I have had the same effect with 2.1.18 and 2.1.9 on N810, more often when I cancelled a shooting sequence before and tried to start it again.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 1:32 pm
by fma38
FYI, I updated the documentation regarding the timing in the triggering shutter sequence:

http://www.papywizard.org/wiki/TipsAndTricks#Shootingsequence

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:39 pm
by mediavets
Papywizard 2.1.19-1 on Nokia N800.

Frederic,

I trying to help out another user (baba) who has run into a problem I'm not sure how to solve.

If seems that if you choose Serial in the Hardware/Plugins dialogue, then the drop down becomes greyed out and you cannot change it any more.

How can I resolve this?

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 5:46 pm
by fma38
I found the problem: the serial module does not exists on meamo, and there is a unhandled exception in Papywizard.

To solve the problem, either delete the config file:

$ rm .config/papywizard2/papywizard.conf

or edit it, and change the driver (serial -> bluetooth).

I will fix that bug.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 6:09 pm
by mediavets
fma38 wrote:I found the problem: the serial module does not exist on maemo, and there is a unhandled exception in Papywizard.

To solve the problem, either delete the config file:

$ rm .config/papywizard2/papywizard.conf

or edit it, and change the driver (serial -> bluetooth).

I will fix that bug.

Thank you Frederic.

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 6:38 pm
by mediavets
PW 2.1.19-1 on N800 and APG 2.0.7 on Windows XP 32-bit

It appears that APG 2.0.7 may not be fully compatible with PW 2.1.19-1 XML version 'c' format data files.

When using this combination I find that the Papywizard Import filter does not display the thumbnail preview.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 7:10 am
by fma38
I uploaded a new release, 2.1.20. Main changes are:

+ new 'nearest-corner' entry from 'Start from' param
+ 'Ursa Minor Bt2' plugin improved
- 'Panoduino' default channels changed
- 'Panoduino' 'Angle for 1ms' param extended to 9999.9°
x 'Panoduino' channels init revisited
x remove unavailable drivers from list
x 'Merlin-Orion' plugin alternate drive with offset (set reference)

+ new feature
- change
x bug fix

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 7:25 pm
by bradtem
I should have brought that one with me on my lastest trip. Anyway here's a question which I think I saw answered before, but I did not find the answer in a search. One of the reasons I got the merlin was to deal with the issue of APP being unable to find control points on regions of sea and sky in gigapanos. However, in assembling some I find two fairly odd behaviours.

Everything looks right in the import window, but after the initial pass, there are two big problems with the result which I include shots of below. On both this pano, and one without the sea/sky issue, APP initially delivers the pano with the center in void space. It is not a 360 pano, but as you can see it has made it appear like two halves left and right.

Using the center button can correct the problem (as well as curving and slope -- I wonder if the level on my Merlin is not quite right as I make sure to level before shooting but the image in the viewfinder is clearly not level) But as you can see it has not linked the lake images in the bottom row except the two at the right, and none are connected to the main pano. I recall suggestions for setting the detection or optimization. Or is this related to setting or not setting the reference position when starting up the mount? Is that something that must be done each time?

(Editing to add I now see this is likely the problem based on the report that it thinks the pitch goes from -15 to -45. Does the yaw range cause the strange centering?)

In this case, because people will forget, it might be nice if there were an option on the import to correct the pitch and yaw values by making a rough guess as to where zero/zero was. In many cases this might be done by pointing to a specific picture and saying the 0,0 value should really be in that picture or to get fancy a specific point in that picture. GUI not really needed, I would be happy to calculate percentage coordinates, as in "real center is x=40% y=60% in picture Z"

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 7:30 pm
by Photosbykev
Brad: I can't help with the APP issue but on my merlin the bubble is at least 2 degrees off level. I use a stand alone spirit level to set the head level.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 8:22 pm
by mediavets
bradtem wrote:Or is this related to setting or not setting the reference position when starting up the mount? Is that something that must be done each time?

In mosaic mode PW calculates shooting positions relative to a 0/0 point. And the default set of presets assumes 0/0 is level with the horizon looking forwards.

By default the Initial Reference 0/0 is the position of the head when it is powered up (each time).

You can change this by positioning the head to your desired 0/0 position and Set(ing) a reference point. This will the overide the default for that session until the head is powered down.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 8:27 pm
by mediavets
bradtem wrote:(Editing to add I now see this is likely the problem based on the report that it thinks the pitch goes from -15 to -45. Does the yaw range cause the strange centering?)

Yes, the yaw range recorded in your XML data file (112.5 to 219) will cause this effect.

But I don't understand why the lower rows of images are not placed correctly.

Can you provide a reduced size set of images along with the XML file for download?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 7:08 am
by bradtem
I think the low row of images is due to the bad pitch range. I just turned on the unit wherever it was, and in most cases hand positioned to the one corner then arrow positioned to the other corner, so the pitch and yaw ranges are all wrong.

The pitch range being all wrong makes it think the bottom row is way down low at -45 and so it is curving it. It would, I would guess, curve all the rows if it was not finding the control points in the first 3 rows.

I have a harder time understanding why the yaw error would matter though. So the image goes from 112 to 219. It's not a 360 degree image so there is no real center in the horizontal range -- it should just be an image. I don't understand why under any circumstances an image would want to be rendered as two halves with a blank zone in the middle as it is with the initial centering.

I can provide the thumbs but I think I understand the situation now. For those who do not set the reference (though I will try to remember to do that now) it would be nice to have an option to tell the import wizard where the real horizon was (again for non-360 I don't see a need to have to say what the center in yaw was, there is no other center for a non-360 pano) so it can adjust the pitch, that would be handy. I guess I could write a little script to read in the XML and modify the yaw and pitch numbers to provide the real values though.

BTW I ran into another problem with using the merlin which is not its fault but meant I had to stop using it. My camera developed an odd defect, where every 15 shots or so it would fail and display "Err 20" forcing me to reset the camera. Of course when this happened when shooting on the Merlin I had to notice it, pause the pano, reposition the pano back a few pictures (to be sure I re-took the bad image) and restart it. This was enough of a pain that I just switched to using a manual pano head for the rest of the shooting day. The problem went away but I sent my camera for service anyway. There's no really practical way that papywizard could help here. I suppose if there were a key that said "That shot failed" that you had to press twice (you need to be able to get to it fast) it would have helped. In manual mode it was easy, since I would just take it, hear the sound of the failure (the shutter sounds different) and then just press the shutter again to reset, and then press it again to retake, and I was on my way.

Papywizard did help me get some very nice panos but the amount of extra time it took remains disturbing. In addition, since I don't yet have a Nokia 800, hauling the camera gear, the tripod, the merlin and my netgear up to the top of the moraine was quite a bit of inconvenience. I may end up using the merlin only for shots of 500mpix and up from locations where you can park the car next to the shooting location.

I will say that the Merlin did attract a lot of attention from people walking by though, since I would be sitting down with the netbook and it was doing its thing via bluetooth.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 7:18 am
by bradtem
BTW, I did make smaller files and they can be found with the xml at http://pic.templetons.com/misc/louise-105.zip

However, oddly, it doesn't do quite the same thing with the shrunk files. It doesn't do it right, but it's not quite as clear as it was with the larger files.