[merlin/orion] Crown Modification  

Everything you need to motorize your head
User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Wed Dec 17, 2008 9:17 pm

Todays crown ...

this evening we made a new crown
Tom took POM and so we need no adhesive plate

next step will be a rail with an adjustable quick release






Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Dec 17, 2008 9:20 pm

Looks grea!

What is POM - some sort of plastic? Is this the material?:
http://www.autopano.net/forum/p33918-2008-12-03-19-06-11#p33918

You don't need to add friction material to the back of it?

Did you have keyed hole or have you made some other way to key the crown to shaft?

Will it take a tapped hole? How easy might it be to strip the threads - can you use metal bolts to attach a rail?

Can I have one?
Last edited by mediavets on Wed Dec 17, 2008 9:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Wed Dec 17, 2008 9:41 pm

mediavets wrote:What is POM - some sort of plastic?

yes, it is Polyoxymethylene

mediavets wrote:You don't need to add friction material to the back of it?

no, as we made it a lil bit rough on the back

mediavets wrote:Did you have keyed hole or have you made some other way to key the crown to shaft?

yes, a keyed hole

mediavets wrote:Will it take a tapped hole? How easy might it be to strip the threads - can you use metal bolts to attach a rail?

I am not sure how we will attach the rail, tapped hole is not durable - but screw/nut will do it

mediavets wrote:Can I have one?

I have to bargain with my son and it needs patience as we out of POM
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Dec 17, 2008 9:58 pm

Paul wrote:
mediavets wrote:Will it take a tapped hole? How easy might it be to strip the threads - can you use metal bolts to attach a rail?

I am not sure how we will attach the rail, tapped hole is not durable - but screw/nut will do it

Perhaps drill a hole then glue a recessed bolt in from the back and use a nut of some sort on the front?

If/when you take the new crown off again I would be interested in seeing some pictures of the head without a crown soil can better understand this friction drive issue.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:05 pm

This is UK price for 100mm diameter rod in small lengths :
http://www.goodfellow.com/A/Polyoxymethylene_-_Copolymer.HTML

Is this similar to price in Germany?

It seems to be a rather expensive material.
Last edited by mediavets on Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Wed Dec 17, 2008 10:32 pm

mediavets wrote:It seems to be a rather expensive material.

I don't know as we use cheap rest pieces ...

mediavets wrote:I would be interested in seeing some pictures of the head without a crown soil can better
understand this friction drive issue.

backside view of the original clamp, the frictiondisc counterpart is the spur gear (alloy)


Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:52 pm

Any news in the crown-modification front ?

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Jan 20, 2009 10:25 pm

bigwade wrote:Any news in the crown-modification front ?

good question!

I wore off the friction disc a bit . . so i´d be interested in some modifications!

best, Klaus
Last edited by klausesser on Tue Jan 20, 2009 10:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Sat Jan 24, 2009 11:56 pm

I have found some hardwood (2,10 M) at the DIY shop, ± the same size as the Merlin rail :-)
A cabinetmaker around the corner did the edges and made one part 3mm less thick.
15 EU ! total costs

Today I made 2 arms,
one for the 5D and one for the 450D.
The original Merlin arm is 13 mm thick, the original wood is 12,5mm.
With some little elastic parts (from the mailman.:-)), added against friction, the wooden rail is perfect.
BTW use the mountingscrew on top !

The 5D rail is 3mm less thick and left/right is oké with the original crown.
The only problem now is that with shorter lenses this solution does not work.
If you need to shift the 5D frontwards to get in the NP, the camera hits the crown.
The 17-40, 85 and 100mm will work perfect without crownmodification.
The longer lenses like 70-200 and 300mm wil work on the "fat, 3mm+" arm.
Left/right is 3mm off but who cares.
Look at the images to get the idea and there's a QT at:
http://tinyurl.com/dll47m
The 17-40 is almost in NP at the 5D, I just have to shift it backwards slightly, The 450 is ±oké.
Have Fun !

BTW the cap is sprayed black (satin) and will be resprayed Matte










Last edited by bigwade on Sun Jan 25, 2009 2:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
BeeZed
Member
 
Posts: 43
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:38 pm
Location: New Zealand
Info

by BeeZed » Wed Jan 28, 2009 8:16 pm

It is great to see someone else trying wood as a possible solution. I had some MDF (like for cheap furniture or shelves) left over from another project, and so I made some arms too. I am trying to make a system that would adapt for different height cameras by having the body mount to an plate attached to the back of the arm. It would only work for lenses that are long enough for the NPP to align. Same issue as with your 5D. I'll post a picture when I get it working.

In the past I have seen many DIY pano heads from plywood and hardwood, so this I idea came into my head. I wonder if we could make a wooden crown?

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:08 pm

BeeZed wrote:I wonder if we could make a wooden crown?

Yes, why not? Just use a wood strong enough to avoid flexion...
Frédéric

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:17 pm

That's another idea, but you need to have the equipment to make it.
I can ask the cabinetmaker if he can do this but I doubt he will be cheaper than what telekop-austria offered us.

no avatar
BeeZed
Member
 
Posts: 43
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:38 pm
Location: New Zealand
Info

by BeeZed » Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:21 pm

If the circle was small enough to fit, it wouldn't need to be perfectly round, and could be cut by hand using a jigsaw. I think it would need to be centred though. There is still the issue of the friction piece though. I sold my smaller camera, so I have more interested in this problem than before. The real goal for me would be to but a smaller arca swiss compatible clamp, so I can use my rails more easily.

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:40 pm

Hi BeeZed,
at http://tinyurl.com/dxqpw4
you can find the "A" values.
According to the list, with the crown modification, there is 63mm space with this crown:
http://www.autopano.net/forum/postgallery.php?pid=31556&filename=rotator_merlin_drawing.jpg
You can mesure the ARCA clamp and find out how much space is left for your camera.
I don't think the friction thing is a problem, just add some small rubber parts.
Last edited by bigwade on Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Thu Jan 29, 2009 9:20 am

It could be nice to design some sort of universal crown, so it can be used by anyone, with a large number of accessories. Based on the existing design (jpeg link in the previous post), feel free to propose modifications you think usefull.

Then, once we have something good, we could ask a company to make it for us (I have some ideas).
Frédéric

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Thu Jan 29, 2009 5:51 pm

Oké, if we forget the Arca and Manfrotto systems, the new crown
needs a simular clambsystem the Merlin has now but much smaller.
With the height of the rail we can vary the A value.
And these rails can simply made from wood. (light and strong)
Is that your idea ?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:13 pm

bigwade wrote:Oké, if we forget the Arca and Manfrotto systems, the new crown
needs a simular clambsystem the Merlin has now but much smaller.
With the height of the rail we can vary the A value.
And these rails can simply made from wood. (light and strong)
Is that your idea ?

Frank,

I think perhaps Frederic is thinking more along the lines of bolting the rail to the crown, rather than having some sort of dovetail clamp. You could of course still use an Arca or other type of QR plate on the rail to mount the camera.

Nodal Ninja offers a slim QR plate now for their pano heads.
http://www.red-door.co.uk/pages/productpages/nodal-ninja-accessories-and-parts.html
Last edited by mediavets on Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Topic author
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:51 pm

Andre, with this system, you loose 17.8mm on the NPP ... = thikness of the QRS2 Quick Release System

:/
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Thu Jan 29, 2009 9:56 pm

mediavets wrote:I think perhaps Frederic is thinking more along the lines of bolting the rail to the crown, rather than having some sort of dovetail clamp. You could of course still use an Arca or other type of QR plate on the rail to mount the camera.
Nodal Ninja offers a slim QR plate now for their pano heads.
http://www.red-door.co.uk/pages/productpages/nodal-ninja-accessories-and-parts.html

A sort of dovetail clamp, but much, much smaller is IMHO the only way to serve different needs, like camerabrands and types.
I have a test/demo NN QR here and it's rather heavy.. and it's 25mm thick. (base+rail)
Base only is 20,5mm, with the exra part/block to fit in the NN5 Rail, without it is 17mm.
This can be mounted on the crown, we can ask Nick Fan to make a smaller version, without the block.
EDIT: the block can be removed..
The idea is the same.....the NN QM is a ± dovetail clamp.
But it's a ±80 euro solution without rails.
crown (austria) + mount/dovetail clamp (NN)
grtz!
Last edited by bigwade on Thu Jan 29, 2009 11:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:37 pm

my rail is a combo of 20x10 aluprofile and a quenox qr

i will mount the qr slideable in the t-section of the rail to adjust to different npp's

flat side of the rail towards the crown

quenox qr is avail. in two sizes 7.99 and 9.99 €

it adds in total 28mm




Last edited by Paul on Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:50 pm

Paul wrote:quenox qr is avail. in two sizes 7.99 and 9.99 €

link ?

found it:
http://tinyurl.com/chjazo
Last edited by bigwade on Thu Jan 29, 2009 11:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Thu Jan 29, 2009 11:01 pm

bigwade wrote:
Paul wrote:quenox qr is avail. in two sizes 7.99 and 9.99 €

link ?

http://tinyurl.com/quenox-qr01
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Thu Jan 29, 2009 11:27 pm

I guess you will have some flex with the cork on the QR part.
btw how are you going to mount the base ?
BTW I like your crown, well done :)

no avatar
bigwade
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:34 am
Location: NL
Info

by bigwade » Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:32 am

BTW this is a nice part:
http://tinyurl.com/d5c27t
Last edited by bigwade on Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Sat Jan 31, 2009 11:30 am

bigwade wrote:BTW this is a nice part:

search for "spirit level 3 axis" on ebay and you can get a 3 for same ...
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

PreviousNext

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest