[merlin/orion] Interface  

Everything you need to motorize your head
User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Tue Oct 27, 2009 10:35 pm

Hi Bruce,
So far I bought a Skywatcher Model S11320

I don't know this model S11320 !
Where do-you buy ?
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
UrsaMinor
Member
 
Posts: 54
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 4:12 pm
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Info

by UrsaMinor » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:03 pm

blazarus wrote:Hello Tamas (Ursa Minor)
Will your Bluetooth device work with Mac Powerbook? Also will it work with a Nikon D 90 ?
Bruce

Hello,

To tell you the truth, I do not have Mac, so I cannot test if it works. Somebody in this forum has succes with Mac, please search him comment.

Tamas

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:15 pm

"120to120"
"olihar"
"Macbenutzer"
"RichG"

are Mac users with Ursaminor BT !

See our database of known users:
http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/view/Merlin-Orion-Papywizard_users_feedback
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Topic author
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 12:27 am

Bruce, Papywizard is already able to connect to a socket; just give the correct hostname (or IP address), and port.

But you will first have to connect the wifi module. This can be done 2 ways: you either connect all devices to an access point (managed mode), like in a standard network config (the wifi-serial device has to be first configured to use a specific ssid, WEP/WPA key and so), or you connect them together (ad-hoc) mode without access point. The problem with this mode is that you need to configure the wifi chip of your laptop/PC/nokia, and the procedure differs depending on the OS. And it often need to be root/admin. So, I have to dig that point to find a simple procedure.

If you use the wifi-serial device in managed mode, then you can already try it. Just carefully read its documentation.
Frédéric

no avatar
blazarus
Member
 
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:46 am
Info

by blazarus » Wed Oct 28, 2009 5:44 am

Hi Guys,

I'm going to give the WIFI a try. I'll report back. I'm still a little worried about the Skywatcher Model S11320 I bought. So if anybody knows anything about this model I'd appreciate the feedback.

Many Thanks,

Bruce
Last edited by blazarus on Wed Oct 28, 2009 5:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
blazarus
Member
 
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:46 am
Info

by blazarus » Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:58 am

Hi Guys,

I bought this mount with a telescope. Will this mount work? It was $250.00 with telescope. I might use the telescope. It seemed like a good deal. I bought it locally. Didn't want to wait for the mount to come out.


http://www.skywatcherusa.com/multifunction-mount-s21300.html

Bruce
Last edited by blazarus on Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:16 am

blazarus wrote:I bought this mount with a telescope. Will this mount work?

Hi Bruce, it will work, this is the non-goto-version, which most of the merliners have - me too.
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:28 am

Hi Bruce,

As confirmed by Paul..

This is the righ one ! :)

Your experience with the "Wifi" will be key for us !
Could-you inform us on:
- Which type you will buy and where?
- What is the Price?

We will realy be "gratefull" if you can inform us "day by day" ;)

Many thanks in advance. :D
Last edited by claudevh on Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
blazarus
Member
 
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:46 am
Info

by blazarus » Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:56 pm

Hi Guys,

I ordered it Today overnight. This WIFI device will communicate to an ipodtouch. Will Papywizard run on a ipodtouch or a iphone?


Thanks,

Bruce
Last edited by blazarus on Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Topic author
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 9:56 pm

Frédéric

no avatar
blazarus
Member
 
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:46 am
Info

by blazarus » Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:46 pm

Hi Frederic,

Take a look at this link http://www.panoscan.com/iPhone.html It might be possible with Papywizard.

Regards
Bruce

no avatar
blazarus
Member
 
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:46 am
Info

by blazarus » Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:30 pm

Hi Guys,

I think the Mocha VNC or the Jaadu VNC will work fine with Papywizard. It will make Ipodtouch or Iphone work to control Papywizard without any programming.

http://www.panoscan.com/iPhone.html

Regards,
Bruce

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Thu Oct 29, 2009 12:15 am

blazarus wrote:Hi Frederic,

Take a look at this link http://www.panoscan.com/iPhone.html It might be possible with Papywizard.

Regards
Bruce

Eevn if it is possible what would be the point of doing this?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
blazarus
Member
 
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:46 am
Info

by blazarus » Thu Oct 29, 2009 5:46 am

Andrew,

Just depends on your uses for it. Take a look at this link... http://www.panoscan.com/iPhoneVid.html

Bruce
Last edited by blazarus on Thu Oct 29, 2009 5:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Topic author
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Thu Oct 29, 2009 8:50 am

[I can't even see the video!]

If I understand, you need to connect a laptop or so running Papywizard, then control this laptop from your iPhone through VNC?
Frédéric

no avatar
Greg Nuspel
Member
 
Posts: 169
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Info

by Greg Nuspel » Thu Oct 29, 2009 5:10 pm

The problem I see with this if you read the text is you still need a computer to control the camera. The iPhony is using a VNC client that controls your computer remotely. So you could do this right now using a laptop. If any phone systems are to be used I would rather see an Android phone since it isn't tied to one manufacture or network.
--Greg Nuspel

no avatar
blazarus
Member
 
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:46 am
Info

by blazarus » Thu Oct 29, 2009 6:09 pm

Frederic,

The video needs quicktime to run.

Bruce

no avatar
blazarus
Member
 
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:46 am
Info

by blazarus » Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:24 am

Hi Frederic,

I received the WIFI Serial adapter kit. To complete the project I need the pinout for the DB-9 to the RJ-12 and the location and OHM of the resistors needed. I don't want to guess. Everything else looks fine. It should work. Need a little help.

Thanks,

Bruce

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Topic author
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:57 am

Bruce, you can't connect the wisnap to the head without a RS232-TTL adapter (like the one Tronisoft used to sell). What I would like to see on this module is if it is possible to get the TTL signal before they turn it to RS232. If not, we will need to add a few transistors, or another MAX232 converter.
Frédéric

no avatar
blazarus
Member
 
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:46 am
Info

by blazarus » Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:29 pm

Hi Frederic,

Will any of these work? Have you received yours? I'll wait for your instructions on how to hook it up. I'll still need a pinout. Did you mean resistors? "we will need to add a few transistors"

http://www.rs232-converters.com/RS232_to_TTL_Converter/RS232_to_TTL_Converters.htm

Bruce

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Topic author
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Fri Oct 30, 2009 5:55 pm

I'm not sure these devices are OK, because they are powered through RS232... If you don't use such converter, you need transistors, because you have to invert the RS232 signals (+12V -> TTL 0V, -12V -> TTL 5V).
Frédéric

no avatar
blazarus
Member
 
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:46 am
Info

by blazarus » Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:07 pm

Frederic,

I'll just wait for you. Did you receive your unit?

Bruce

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Topic author
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:28 pm

Not yet.
Frédéric

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:17 pm

Hi Bruce,

Could-you please give me the type of WiFi you have ordered ...
So I can have a look on the spec's and help you for the connections to the Merlin head.
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
blazarus
Member
 
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:46 am
Info

by blazarus » Fri Oct 30, 2009 7:40 pm

Hi Claudevh,

Follow this link https://serialio.com//store/product_info.php?cPath=23&products_id=613

I ordered the WiSnap Embedded Kit M1. Hope you can help. The user manual resides here http://serialio.com/products/mobile/wifi/software/WiSnapSetup.php

Many Thanks,

Bruce

PreviousNext

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest