Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 12:11 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:57 am 

Hi to all. I'm a novice at all this motorised head stuff , but can see the advantage of a programable head to take (Matrix) pano's. Being electronically illiterate, is there a simple buy and use solution that doesent require getting electronics made up. From what I have seen the orion head with papywizzard is a solution. Can I buy one , and from where, that is set and ready to program.
Thanks in advance

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:43 am 

Have a look at this thread:

http://www.autopano.net/forum/t4794-low-cost-motorised-pano-head-for-compacts-and-dslrs-merlin-papywizard

Andrew summurize things. Right now, it is not possible to buy all pieces ready-to-use (especially the interface).

Canon 20D + 17-40/f4 L USM + 70-200/f4 L USM + 50/f1.4 USM
Merlin/Orion panohead + Papywizard on Nokia N800 and HP TC-1100

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:50 am 

irpano wrote:
Hi to all. I'm a novice at all this motorised head stuff , but can see the advantage of a programable head to take (Matrix) pano's. Being electronically illiterate, is there a simple buy and use solution that doesent require getting electronics made up. From what I have seen the orion head with papywizzard is a solution. Can I buy one , and from where, that is set and ready to program.
Thanks in advance

I don't know where you are located nor what camera/lens you plan to use.

But...

If you wish to use a compact digital camera then the Gigapan Imager, made in the USA, is a 'ready-to-go' motorised head for compact digital cameras:
http://www.gigapansystems.com/

If you plan to use a DSLR then there are a couple of expensive two-axis motorised pano heads availabe that are 'ready-to-go'.

The Rodeon VR head, made in Germany, costs upwards of Euros 3,800:
http://www.dr-clauss.de/RODEONVRHead_e.htm