Motorized Mount for Smartphones & Tablets  

Everything you need to motorize your head
no avatar
gsf

Motorized Mount for Smartphones & Tablets

by gsf » Sat Mar 16, 2013 4:41 pm

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to the topic but have been using AutoPano for a couple of years so I'm "somewhat" familiar with it.

Background

I created a robotic mount for my iPhone from a couple of RC Servos and an Arduino board. I actuate the camera shutter of the iPhone with a hacked headset - the iPhone allows you to actuate the shutter with the "volume up" control which is really useful. This also works with my iPad Mini. I also have a Nexus 4 and I found a guy to create a simple App that simulates the "volume up" on the Nexus so I can do the same thing there and will connect to the Android using bluetooth.

I get pretty good results and until now have used three rows of 10 images with 2 at 90 degrees to each other for the zenith.

Problem

Now to get the images to stitch. When shooting with blue sky outside or white ceilings inside there isn't enough detail to create the control points and ugliness ensues. I added full rows at the nadir and zenith and tried to use the import function but this didn't work. It struck me that my problems weren't much different than what happens with DSLRs on robotic mounts so here I am. My guess is that I need to create an XML file but before doing that I thought I'd ask.

I did look into PW but my problem isn't controlling the camera it's stitching the output.

Can someone point me in the right direction to save me time? It would be appreciated.

Gordon

ps... I can post some images if it will help. Also, I'm looking at turning the mount into an open source project with 3D printable components if anyone's interested..... but first things first.

gkaefer

by gkaefer » Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:08 pm

gsf wrote:Hi All,

I'm a newbie to the topic but have been using AutoPano for a couple of years so I'm "somewhat" familiar with it.

Background